Facebook

Cameron-Ashley H. (BigGreenChair) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 376 - Page:
The Big Rock Candy Mountain
The Big Rock Candy Mountain
Author: Wallace Stegner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 1/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


He was a consummate writer--this book has very very well developed characters, plot and descriptions of everything if you slow down long enough to really really read them, are wonderful. Found myself going back pages when I was reading too fast because I realized I was missing the whole, round 'sense' of a scene he set up with incredible descriptions that made you feel like you were right there. The subtlety of how deeply he understood each of the characters was impressive.


The Big Sky
The Big Sky
Author: A. B. Guthrie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/7/2015


If you've never read the A.B. Guthrie books from 1940-1950 era, you are really missing out. He wrote several outstanding westerns that just top anything I've ever read since in Westerns. He was a beautiful writer, with that 'well-written word' I so love. The forward in this book was by Wallace Stegner, and that's saying a lot because Stegner was a phenomenal writer in his own right. Read A.B. Guthrie's westerns slowly and absorb his incredible ability to describe the surroundings, the feel of everything, the beauty of that time. The plots are fun but honestly it's the writing I feel the most in love with. Yes, he's got great characters and it's fun to follow their paths, but oh don't miss the beauty of the writing and prose. Historical fiction big-time.


The Black Angel (Charlie Parker, Bk 5)
The Black Angel (Charlie Parker, Bk 5)
Author: John Connolly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 12/29/2017


Gross and revolting; should be listed as a horror book. I threw it in the trash so that it didn't recirculate.


The Black Country (Murder Squad, Bk 2)
The Black Country (Murder Squad, Bk 2)
Author: Alex Grecian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 7/4/2019


OMG it was sophomoric. Ridiculous book, ridiculous story, a complete waste of time.Go find some good historical mystery!


The Blood-Dimmed Tide (John Madden, Bk 2)
The Blood-Dimmed Tide (John Madden, Bk 2)
Author: Rennie Airth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/5/2016


A historical murder mystery set in 1930's--it was an excellent historical murder mystery if you like slower-paced, one-clue at a time style---had excellent well-developed characters. I did! I wasn't looking for the 'thriller'--but for the feel of the history of the period within the murder mystery. That it did an excellent job of and I enjoyed it for several evenings curled up in a chair.


Blood of Eagles, A Novel of Ancient Rome: Book III of The Bow of Heaven (Volume 3)
Review Date: 6/29/2019


Great trilogy on ancient Rome--hard to find these books. I ended up after waiting way too long and no one ever posting them -- ordered the set online (pretty cheaply actually). Well written, great characters and character development, plot that will keep you reading. Wondered how I'd never heard of it. Be sure to start with Book 1 and read all 3 books!


The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 20)
The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 20)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 3/25/2014
Helpful Score: 8


Oh my. Her first 4-5 books were wonderful; I was a true fan. Anything since then is dreadful. I've reached the point I think I need to say she needs to quit writing and do something else. She is living only on dumb people buying the next book who are HOPING against hope this one will be like her very first. This one was really ridiculous. Page upon page of describing driving from one place to another, meals and refrigerator #1 and #2, mental thoughts no one was interested in and worst of all--I swear I read the whole book---at the end the killer identified in last few pages when she said 'I recognized the voice' and she names him--I could not even REMEMBER as a CHARACTER brought out in the book. I was so stunned I went back and tried to find anywhere the man was even mentioned and gave up. I started laughing at myself for being foolish enough to try once more one of her books. Enough. Boring, boring, skip all the driving, conversation, your menus and your likes/dislikes and give us gut wrenching spellbinding story. It's like she tries to write her own personality into the story: egotist, pompous---picky about food (what a name dropper on the food arena, and refrigerator 1 and 2? Absurd.


The Book Borrower
The Book Borrower
Author: Alice Mattison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/25/2018


It opened like loose spaghetti, just didn't seem to hang together and I was thinking of putting it down..then somewhere along the line early in the book I 'got it' and what it was about. A really tightly-written book about the creation and keeping of lifetime friendship and love. The characters were all great, the plot within a plot terrific and interesting, well paced, and it wrapped up beautifully in the end.


The Bookman's Promise (Cliff Janeway, Bk 3)
The Bookman's Promise (Cliff Janeway, Bk 3)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/20/2019


A good read--fun way to spend the evening.


The Bookman's Tale
The Bookman's Tale
Author: Charlie Lovett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/8/2019


Clever, complicated twisted plot. Good beside the fireplace read.


The Bookwoman's Last Fling (Cliff Janeway)
The Bookwoman's Last Fling (Cliff Janeway)
Author: John Dunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/20/2019


I enjoyed the series, but this one book was weaker than the others. Plot dragged on too much, didn't keep you as interested as the other books in the series did.


BORDER SONGS
BORDER SONGS
Author: Jim Lynch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2015


A laid back book with delightfully well-drawn characters. I loved the intermittent bird counts and now that I've read it, I understand the cover photo very well. Perfect!


The Borderland : A Novel of Texas
The Borderland : A Novel of Texas
Author: Edwin Shrake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/18/2019


Edwin Shrake the author died in 2009 and did a lot of 'sports books'. I read this Western historical fiction one and thought 'great book, good writer and I hope he writes more..but then he died. What a shame-


Boy's Life
Boy's Life
Author: Robert McCammon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 10/19/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Boys Life is a wonderful book--it captures the magic of being a child in a world of possibilities and promises. It will make you laugh and make you cry. About an 11 yr old boy from Zephyr Alabama..where monsters swim in the belly of the river, and friends are forever.


The Breaking of Eggs
The Breaking of Eggs
Author: Jim Powell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/17/2010


Excellent book; well-written; unusual. In the beginning I thought I might not like it, but I was wrong. How did he think up this plot?


Bring Me a Unicorn
Bring Me a Unicorn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/19/2006


16 pgs of photos, Diaries and letters of Anne Morrow Lindbergh 1922-28. Anne Morrow Lindbergh married Charles Lindbergh. This is the period before she marries him up until marriage 1928.


Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell, Bk 2)
Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell, Bk 2)
Author: Hilary Mantel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/18/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I was hoping for a lot more. It was boring, all the way through. Darn. I really liked Wolf Hall. I found the 'reviews' on the back of the cover almost hard to believe after reading it. It was too much inside just one head so to speak--making all the surrounding characters seem blah. Very blah.


Bringing Up Boys
Bringing Up Boys
Author: James C. Dobson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 12/31/2006


What qualities do you want to instill in boys? Dr. James c. Dobson, child psychologist, offers latest research, advice and encouragement about the role of men in our society.


Broken Harbor (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 4)
Broken Harbor (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 4)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 10/18/2012
Helpful Score: 3


One review said her writing was 'atmospheric'--interesting choice of words. A well-written murder mystery quite unlike any I've read before (and that's a real big plus right there)...solidly developed characters, good to the very end. I think what I felt most at the end was 'how in the world did she conceive of a book with a story like this one?' 'How did she know the story would work so well?' Atmospheric does describe it in one way and unique would be another. Good book!


The Broken Shore (Broken Shore, Bk 1)
The Broken Shore (Broken Shore, Bk 1)
Author: Peter Temple
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/5/2015


Having read a scad of Scandinavian murder mysteries lately, all of which I disliked for their inherent 'goriness' etc, lack of good writing in translation--I found this Aussie book to be very good. Good writing, good story, good characters, good (you won't guess it) plot. I liked the pace, the lack of gore to shock, and while it took me a bit to get into the 'Aussie' mindset and way of talking, it was refreshingly different.


21 to 40 of 376 - Page: