Facebook

Cathy W. (Firefly) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 58 - Page:
The French Gardener
The French Gardener
Author: Santa Montefiore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 7/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A well written novel. I enjoyed the author's use of language. I enjoyed the way the story was interwoven between two different times, and how the characters overlapped. I struggled with the overall theme of adultery and the acceptance of it. Personal preference, of course. I will be checking out other books by this author!


Gallows Thief
Gallows Thief
Author: Bernard Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/2/2007


An enjoyable read - an interesting story about 1800s in London. This was the first by this author that I've read. I think I will try some of his others.


Halfway to Heaven: My White-knuckled--and Knuckleheaded--Quest for the Rocky Mountain High
Review Date: 7/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I had mixed feelings about this book. Not too long ago, I lived in CO and had for over a decade - including the time this book covers. I've climbed 20 or so of the 14ers the author describes in the book. Having had that knowledge and experience, I enjoyed reminiscing about the mountains as he described various parts of the hikes and climbs. On the flip side, if I hadn't had any experience climbing 14ers, I probably wouldn't have known what he was talking about in many cases. Many chapters have history or local lore about the individual mountains or the surrounding towns or locals. I knew of most of this already, so it led to a bit more reminiscing. If you're familiar with 14ers and Colorado during this time period, there probably isn't much in the book for you. If you're absolutely unfamiliar with 14ers and Colorado during this time period, you may learn some history and a bit of the physical details about the mountains. If you're somewhere in the middle, you might get the most out of this book. :-)


The Hemingway Book Club of Kosovo
The Hemingway Book Club of Kosovo
Author: Paula Huntley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/19/2006


Great book! Provides an interesting view of an area plagued by war. Great for those of us that are not very politically-minded!


Her Father's House
Her Father's House
Author: Belva Plain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 9/4/2006


I enjoyed this book much more than I expected. It wasn't just fluff! A good story that is well written. An interesting situation!


How Nancy Drew Saved My Life (Red Dress Ink)
How Nancy Drew Saved My Life (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 10/2/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Not a book with a lot of substance. The "mystery" really doesn't come into play until the end, although in retrospect there is a lot of set up to get to it. I found my self wanting to bop the main character over the head a few times. I liked the writing style - it was light and easy going - but the story left a whole lot to be desired.


An Instance of the Fingerpost
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Author: Iain Pears
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/21/2009
Helpful Score: 8


This book has become one of my all-time favorites. Very well written. I don't have any knowledge of (or specific interest in) 1600s England, but the plot and the writing make it fascinating. I loved how each witness gives you a different look at an event that you thought you knew from the previous witness. The story just builds and builds. Even if you don't "like" the characters, you can learn from each one. It is a thick novel, but worth the time spent to read it!


Island of the Sequined Love Nun
Island of the Sequined Love Nun
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 4/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I loved "Lamb" and thought "The Stupidest Angel" was, well, stupid. This one started out a little bit too 'out there' for me, but quickly became so upsurd that it was hilarious. I just kept wondering: How is he going to get the characters out of this one? And just what part of left field is he going to come from next? LOL!


Lean Mommy: Bond with Your Baby and Get Fit with the Stroller Strides(R) Program
Review Date: 7/11/2010


I was disappointed in this book. I was hoping for some new ideas for staying fit and involving my DD, but there really wasn't anything that I hadn't seen before. The stretches and exercises are the same as most other programs, but you use the stroller for balance (if you need balance). Other exercises have you doing the exercise while baby is nearby..."involving" the baby by singing to them. (She does include words for lots of songs, but if you don't know the tune, words aren't always helpful!)

The author also makes a point about how the months after your baby is born are not a time for over exercising or doing any sort of 'diet'. And she mentions that in the actual Stroller Striders program, participants are not allowed to discuss diets during the programs. Yet, half the book is on food and what to eat and what not to eat! Add in another good portion of the book discussing why you must exercise a lot, and a chapter or two on how to change your attitude (or your husband's attitude) and there isn't much left for the actual exercises and stretches.

If you have never done any sort of exercise before, you may get some ideas from the book. For me, I did not learn anything from it, and am happy to pass it along to someone who might be able to get more from it than me!


Leaving Normal
Leaving Normal
Author: Stef Ann Holm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 1/7/2007
Helpful Score: 10


Not a book I'd recommend...the author had a lot of cliche ideas and tried to use them all. I think if she had only picked a couple and fleshed them out, it could have been a great story. There are even a few blatant problems - like on one page it refers to her daughter being a freshman in college during the main character's divorce..but on the next page (and throughout the book) she is a college freshman now...not then. I think this writer has potential, but I probably won't pick up another of hers for a while.


Message in a Bottle
Message in a Bottle
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 961
Review Date: 3/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A good story, nothing spectacular, until the end. At the end, Sparks pulls together all kinds of seemingly insignificant details from the beginning of the book and whallops you with emotion. Wow.


Nauti Boy (Nauti Boys, Bk 1)
Nauti Boy (Nauti Boys, Bk 1)
Author: Lora Leigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 316
Review Date: 9/14/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I was rather disappointed in this book. The language seemed very simplistic. I enjoy erotica, especially with a good story. To me, this seemed to be a weak story with lots of basic sex scenes thrown in. Not all basic missionary sex. Basically, he was always aroused and her 'womb wept' most of the way through. I may try another by this author, but most likely not the next in the "Nauti Boys" series.


Nights in White Satin (Laura Principal, Bk 4)
Nights in White Satin (Laura Principal, Bk 4)
Author: Michelle Spring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fun mystery. Bizarrely related events, but sometimes that happens in real life, too, doesn't it? My first Laura Principal mystery. I probably won't seek out another, but if I ran across one, I would definitely read it.


Nightswimmer
Nightswimmer
Author: Joseph Olshan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/6/2007


What a great tale. Joseph Olshan has written a novel that tells of life's joys and heartaches and he does it with a unique literary style. I wasn't really sure what to expect with this book, but I greatly enjoyed the writing and the story. I look forward to reading another of Joseph Olshan's books.


Open Season
Open Season
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 10/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Entertaining writer. It was a quick read for me, but definitely enjoyable. I'll probably check out other books by this author when I want something fun and easy!


A Painted House
A Painted House
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 1/19/2006
Helpful Score: 2


To quote a friend: "A couple hundred pages about picking cotton - and I couldn't put it down!" Yep, that exactly. This book shows Grisham can write more than just his courtroom dramas (which are generally excellent, as well)!


Pasta and Rice
Pasta and Rice
Author: Coleen Simmons
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 6/2/2006


This book is half pasta recipes and half rice recipes.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1171
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 42


This book looks long, but it draws you in and makes you want to know what happens next, so you'll find yourself finding a spare minute to read every chance you get. Great character development, and the author follows characters for many years. A story that gets you involved, along with some historical aspects of cathedral building. I enjoyed it immensely!


Pomegranate Soup
Pomegranate Soup
Author: Marsha Mehran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a cute story that is almost a little too light for the subject matter. The descriptions of food (including recipes) made me hungry, and I was constantly wanting a cup of tea as I read. Great work of the author to make those sensations so real!


Postcards
Postcards
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/3/2008


I admit, this book did start out a bit slow. But it picked up and read pretty quickly after the first couple chapters. I enjoy the author's unique prose. Her books are a great change of pace from the other things I come across! This book is an interesting look at the various members of a settled New England family in a changing world.


21 to 40 of 58 - Page: