Frank F. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 146 - Page:
11/22/63: A Novel
11/22/63: A Novel
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/8/2019


Story of a guy that tries to time travel back to 1963 to prevent Kennedy's assassination. Book is a fast read with not too many slow parts, but still too long at 1000 pages. OK story with some interesting ideas about time travel.


97 Orchard: An Edible History of Seven Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement
Review Date: 8/11/2019


Great book. Adds fact about our family's early days in America. Puts faces on those early relatives that went thru Ellis Island.
Sent the book to Hannah for her birthday


About a Boy
About a Boy
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 3/25/2018


Enjoyed much. Slow start but becomes a good story of maturity, finding meaning and helping those that need it.


The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 12/21/2019


A good one. Reacher takes on a Senator and a Army Ranger base for murders of civilians.


Aftershock: The Next Economy and America's Future
Aftershock: The Next Economy and America's Future
Author: Robert B. Reich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/22/2020
Helpful Score: 1


Clear and easy to understand reading. A progressive solution to our current political situation of wealth being at the top and killing of the middle class.


Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 11/9/2017


Couldn't get thru it. Not my style of writing.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 9/29/2018


Good book. Well written. Young blind girl in war torn France.


The Angel of Darkness (Laszlo Kreizler and John Schuyler Moore, Bk 2)
The Angel of Darkness (Laszlo Kreizler and John Schuyler Moore, Bk 2)
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 4/7/2019


Too long. Hard to keep track of the characters. Not that interesting. Murder mystery taking place in turn of century NY>

Got half way thru, better books to read.


Ark (Flood, Bk 2)
Ark (Flood, Bk 2)
Author: Stephen Baxter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/12/2020


Not the best. Was hard to read and follow the story. No flow to the writing. An intersting concept of how mankind might survive by getting to another planet and starting over. Wishful thinking.


Astrophysics for People in a Hurry
Astrophysics for People in a Hurry
Author: Neil deGrasse Tyson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/7/2020
Helpful Score: 1


An entertaining read, but the subject matter is still hard to understand. Much easier to read that a scientific book, but the concepts are beyond me.


At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 6/27/2020


Terrible. Only read 80 pages and still don't know what its about. A Patrica Cornwell book. Reading for the "read anything" crowd.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 894
Review Date: 8/7/2019


Could not finish. Not my style of story. A real chick book. Can't even describe the story line.


Back Story (Spenser, Bk 30)
Back Story (Spenser, Bk 30)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 8/16/2020


Another NYT Best seller piece of crap. PI trys to solve a 28 yr old murder. A waste of time


Battle Creek
Battle Creek
Author: Scott Lasser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/9/2017


A good read, especially if your a fan of baseball, but more that just a baseball book. Interesting development of characters.


Becoming
Becoming
Author: Michelle Obama
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 5/6/2019
Helpful Score: 1


Great read. An amazing story of how they came from no were and became first black President and First Lady. She comes across like a real person. No life of privilege.


Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 1/24/2020


Couldn't finish it. Was a waste of time. It is written as a novel, not history of the time when kids were stolen and then sold for adoption. The writing style left me cold. The way the story keeps jumping back an forth between the past and the present is hard to follow. Written like a chick book


Being George Washington: The Indispensable Man, as You've Never Seen Him
Review Date: 11/18/2019


Good book. Some is made up to fill in where we dont know, but the book give a good idea of who the man, George Washington was. We would not be the country we are if he had not been there. Brings clear explanation of who we need to remember who we are.


The Benedict Option: A Strategy for Conservative Christians in a Post-Christian Nation
Review Date: 8/8/2019


I wanted to see what the other side says and believes. This well written book lays out the problems Christians have and will have in the modern world. I agree with much of what they see as issues with modern life, but do not agree on their solution of keeping their faith, and they unwillingness to in-cooperate new ideas and beliefs in their thinking. They want to live in the dark ages, not possible any more.


The Blue Zones Solution: Eating and Living Like the World's Healthiest People
Review Date: 11/26/2018


Rehash of the basics of Blue Zones but with recipes.


Boone: A Biography
Boone: A Biography
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/4/2017


Well written. Reads like a novel of an important time in our American History.


1 to 20 of 146 - Page: