Maggy S. (Maggy) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 62 - Page:
Dune Life
Dune Life
Author: National Audobon Society
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/3/2006


It has many of the plates (pictures) missing so I think it must have been a work in progress that they decided to publish in 1969 as a finished book. However, the information is interesting, the pictures are in black and white.


An Echo in the Bone (Outlander, Bk 7)
An Echo in the Bone (Outlander, Bk 7)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 2/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I actually got this book for my daughter. I read it when it came out and loved it and so does my daughter.

This is the latest in a wonderful series of books that will keep you enraptured by it's ability to transport you to a time and place where the adventure is so real you will find yourself unable to put the book down.

Of course, being that it is well over 500 pages, you will have to choose the spot where you can close the book and still be able to get to sleep.

The characters become a part of your life and I suggest that you find someone who has also read it to help you through the trauma and bliss of this most enjoyable epic.

I won't give away the ending. But suffice it to say, there will be another book, but the wait is agonizing.


Endangered Ocean Animals (Endangered Animals (Crabtree Hardcover))
Review Date: 2/22/2006


Wonderful photos


First Thousand Words
First Thousand Words
Author: Heather Amery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/25/2006


Great book filled w/ colorful pictures of a thousand words and w/ large center action pictures spanning 2 pages.


Forever Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Forever Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 728
Review Date: 1/12/2007


Love this character and can't wait to read the next in this series!


Found
Found
Author: June Oldham
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/1/2009


This is supposed to be a book for young people, which I am far from. However, it is so well written that I enjoyed it thoroughly. It is an unusual story about children and the process by which they survive many very difficult situations. I highly recommend this for those who are not faint of heart.


Fox in Socks
Fox in Socks
Author: Dr. Seuss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 1/25/2006


Great book, as you probably already know.


The Good-By Day (Little Golden Readers)
The Good-By Day (Little Golden Readers)
Author: Leona Castell Anderson
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/25/2006


This is a hardback even tho'


Great and groovy things to make
Great and groovy things to make
Author: Francesca Morris
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/9/2005


This is a book from my hippy days. Very nostalgic with good instructions on making a variety of things from tie dye to knotting and beading.


Haley's Hints: A Compilation
Haley's Hints: A Compilation
Author: Graham Haley, Rosemary Haley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/26/2008


I've already read through the whole thing and I just received it a little while ago!

Many great hints for just about everything. However, some are out-dated i.e. keeping coffee in the freezer, which is NOT actually the best way to keep it fresh.

There are even some recipes for leftovers and interesting ways to use different foods.

Well worth the read, but I'd like to see a newer version.


Hello, Cat You Need a Hat (A Read-It-Yourself Book)
Hello, Cat You Need a Hat (A Read-It-Yourself Book)
Author: Rita Golden Gelman, Eric Gurney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/21/2009


Very cute, in the style of Dr. Suess, with an amusing ending. It has very nice detailed illustrations which are good for teaching young ones.


Inspector Smart Gets the Message
Inspector Smart Gets the Message
Author: Richard Fowler
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 12/26/2005


You will need a piece of red cellophane to see some clues.


The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 11)
The Last Precinct (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 11)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 630
Review Date: 1/30/2007


Another good one in the Kay Scarpetta series!


Life Expectancy
Life Expectancy
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 578
Review Date: 5/6/2006


Very enjoyable. Some unusual twists.


Lightning
Lightning
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 12/20/2006


I really liked this one. It's different than some of his darker stories.


Listening Woman (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, Bk 3)
Listening Woman (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, Bk 3)
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 2/6/2007


Very descriptive and enjoyable. I was right there with detective Leaphorn and had a hard time putting it down.


Little Miss Muffet
Little Miss Muffet
Author: Classic Rhymekins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/21/2006


THis book is for very small children. Each page is cardboard.


Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John, Bk 1)
Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 1/29/2007


Ms. Gabaldon referred to this as a short story and I did read it in one day. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. Good mystery with action nice character development.


The Lost World
The Lost World
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 9/27/2005


This copy is actually an oversized softcover.


The Mask
The Mask
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 12/15/2006


Interesting


21 to 40 of 62 - Page: