Facebook

Rachel A. (ra7) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 768 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 547
Review Date: 8/10/2012


Wow, this was really good. Different to put down once I started, this book has just about everything. I like the hint of romance in future books. Look forward to more!


Abduction (Killer Instinct, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1697)
Abduction (Killer Instinct, Bk 1) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 1697)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/1/2020


Jill was abducted when she was 13. Hayden, the town bad boy, was the one who rescued her. It turns out Hayden was colored by his father's action. His father was a horrible person (so the son must be too). After Jill's rescue, the town see him in a new light. They become best friends and then lovers. As teenagers do, they break up so Hayden can prove himself worthy of Jill and Jill can go to college and then the FBI.
Fast forward 10 years and Hayden is retired from the Seals, Jill is an FBI agent specializing in child abduction. After a case goes wrong, she comes back to her hometown. She plans on using the time to look into the cold case of the abduction/murder of a girl her age after her escape/rescue.
Both Hayden and Jill are likable, competent characters. They talk and reconnect. They worked well and I liked them together. There is a decent amount of suspense and mystery.


About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
Author: Julie James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 6/9/2018


Much of Kyle's back story is discussed in the previous book (A Lot Like Love). Rylann was a new character. I missed having the suspense element in this one. Kyle was repentant for what he did, but being rich and having a very supportive family helped too. I admit to being unsure of their relationship: ex-con (yes for a non-violent and non-drug related offense) and an assistant DA. It only worked because Kyle made amends with Twitter (don't worry he got something from it, it wasn't him just being nice) and will not re-offend.
I did like the glimpses at Cameron and Jack; Jordan and Nick and seeing where they are at in their relationships.


Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Absolutely, Positively (Lucy Valentine, Bk 3)
Author: Heather Webber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 5/21/2019


Better than book 2. I liked the mysteries and how they tied into each other. I really liked Lucy's full acceptance of her abilities and how she slowly is learning more it herself. I wish Sean would open more for Lucy- he does in this one, but I think he stills to do more since Lucy is pretty much an open book.


Absolution (The Penton Legacy, Bk 2)
Absolution (The Penton Legacy, Bk 2)
Author: Susannah Sandlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/8/2013


Good twists in this one. Who doesn't love a tortured hero? Mirren and Glory are awesome- I liked them both. Lots of death. (I read the ebook version of this book)


After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 11/16/2013


That's it? Overall disappointing.

Fans of the series might want to read this one (I am one, and to do over, I probably wouldn't have bothered with this one).


After Moonrise: Possessed / Haunted
After Moonrise: Possessed / Haunted
Author: P. C. Cast, Gena Showalter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/21/2014


Possessed 2*
Unsure about this one after reading synopsis. But hey, it's PC Cast! I usually like her stuff. yeah, not this one.
The interesting: a serial killer who feeds and drains souls
The not: the weird/freaky love triangle between Lauren, her dead twin Aubrey, and Kent. Yes, go there. Ick.

Haunted 3*
This one was better. It did take me awhile to warm up to Harper and Levi. Nice twists.


After the Dark (Killer Instinct, Bk 1)
After the Dark (Killer Instinct, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Eden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/15/2018


This was enjoyable. Great psychopath (and a copy cat). I liked that Samantha was smart and knew her strengths. She was also relate-able (I think most people have known someone that they thought they knew- and didn't really). She has a good backstory (I thought it was tragic, but unique & I think many would have done exactly what she did). I liked Blake, but there were moments where he was too protective; however, I thought Samantha was able override those moments. That being said, while I knew Samantha, didn't really learn about Blake and what makes him tick.


Afterburn / Aftershock (Aftershock, Bks 1-2)
Afterburn / Aftershock (Aftershock, Bks 1-2)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 12/30/2017


Jackson (Jax) and Gianna (Gia) dated each other a few years ago. Gia fell in love and Jax left. Without a word. Fast forward 2 years. Gia is well on her way to becoming a successful business woman. Jax is still Jax. Jax happens to be a Rutledge; a family famous for their business and political clout. This is why he broke it off with her; he had Reasons.
I was surprised I liked this as much as I did. While I didn't like Jax (surprise there) at the beginning, he grew on me and I liked him by the end of the book. Gia was awesome and I liked her. She didn't make it easy for Jax and I liked that. Gia's mentor, Lei was also likable and I could relate to her.
The Rossi's, Gianna's family, were fucking awesome! Her brothers love her and are supportive of her without being overprotective. The Rutledges are the complete opposite of the Rossi family.
I did think Jax's "Reasons" were lame; that is what COMMUNICATION is for.


Aftermath (Sirantha Jax, Bk 5)
Aftermath (Sirantha Jax, Bk 5)
Author: Ann Aguirre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/2/2016


Spoilers through book 4 (Killbox). You've been warned.
This was a tough read. I waited for a long time to start this one because of the cliffhanger ending in Killbox. I really didn't like that she didn't fully trust March to tell him what she was going to do. I want them together. I want Jax and March to have their HEA or HFN. Now, I'm not sure that's going to happen (WTF?!)
This book made me FEEL. Holy crap what a roller coaster of emotions. There's a lot going on. Jax's trial, making amends. One thing I liked was Vel and Jax's unique, different relationship with him. I learned more about Vel, he is an intriguing character. Then, one thing that irritated me was Jax's ability to blame herself for, it seemed, everything.
I didn't like that ending, but I understood it. I am looking forward to the final book, but I'd lying if I said I didn't have mixed feelings about it. I can honestly say I don't know what is going to happen.


An Alaskan Christmas (A Wild River Novel)
An Alaskan Christmas (A Wild River Novel)
Author: Jennifer Snow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/21/2019


Erika is a career obsessed surgeon who lives and breaths work. That's all she does, having no social life or close friends. After turning down a one way street (in the wrong direction) she is forced into a mandatory 2 week leave. She goes to Wild River the small town where she grew up and where her (former? since it's been years since she's talked to her) best friend Cassie lives and owns her own business.
My first impression of Erika was not very favorable. She comes across as judgmental and stuck-up. But, the more I read about her, the more I understood her. She's very socially awkward and her upbringing very much influenced the person she is now. Erika lost her mom when she was younger and her dad withdrew from her in his grief. In this she connects with Reed (and Cassie); their dad went to work and never came home.
I would have liked more between Cassie and Erika rebuilding their friendship. I liked the shared history that Reed, Cassie, and Erika had. As a result the romance does happen relatively quickly. I also enjoyed the search and rescue aspect.


Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, Bk 1)
Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/10/2020


Alice lost her parents and younger sister in a car accident when she was 16 (on her birthday). Her dad saw things that no one else could see. After the accident, she moves in with her grandparents and changes schools.
While Ali went through a horrible time, she was a hard person to really like. I was more annoyed with her and her reaction to Cole. I thought Cole was awful. (But, hey, it's okay 'cause he's a hunter). Just more angst, angst, and more angst. Disappointed.


Alien Tango (Katherine 'Kitty' Katt, Bk 2)
Alien Tango (Katherine 'Kitty' Katt, Bk 2)
Author: Gini Koch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/15/2020


I liked this just as much (maybe a little more?) than book 1. This didn't have Kitty's mom/dad/pets in this as much and they were missed. But, there is so much going on in the one. And it worked. The snark is still there and I really like Kitty's "voice."
This picks up a few months after book 1. Kitty is the leader of Alpha team, the human part of Centaurion Division. Her romance with Jeff is still on, hot and heavy, but she still has to meet his parents. It was nice to know that even aliens have parental issues.
There's the plot to turn Centaurion into something else by a senator (who just might have nefarious plans), take down the team, and Kitty's a target from someone who has a crush on an ex high school BF. More characters are introduced (but I don't know how much they will be a part of the series): Brian (the old BF and now astronaut), Kevin (part of the PTCU), Charles/Chuck/Chuckie (Kitty's best friend from high school), Serene (half human/half A-C), Lucinda & Alfred (Jeff's parents), Jeff's siblings (5 sisters and I don't remember their names- Maureen (I think) was one), and ACE. Might need to start a character guide. Kitty and Jeff's relationship is taken to the next level. There is a push to allow for interracial (interspecies?) relationships (between humans and A-Cs).
Not many "issues:" the A-C culture still seems to be a bit patriarchal (women do the meals/housework), men are the ones in position of power (Jeff, Christopher, Richard), women must marry and bear kids. However, they are enlightened with same-sex relationships. Kitty has a lot of people in love with her (and the "old" her): Brian and Chuckie. (And don't forget the Christopher issue from the first book).
Looking forward to the next!


All He Ever Needed (Kowalski Family, Bk 4)
All He Ever Needed (Kowalski Family, Bk 4)
Author: Shannon Stacey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/10/2014


Didn't like this one much at all. Plot=BORING. Boy likes girl. Girl likes boy. Girl resists. Girl gives in. The first 120ish pages are Mitch pursing Paige (despite her repeatedly saying no).

Mitch is a Man-Whore. It's brought up (over and over and over) that Mitch had a wild youth and slept with many of the (very small) town's women. Of course, no one was hurt/angry/annoyed with him for his love them and leave them attitude. Not one person. After the 100th time Mitch's wild past was brought up I was ready to throw this book across the room. Okay he has a vast number of notches on his bedpost. I. Get. It.

Mitch is also a Man-Child:

Mitch: "Nobody makes sandwiches like this anymore Rosie."

Rosie: "Just one of the reasons you need a wife. When you do find the right woman, bring her by and I'll teach her how to make fried bologna sandwiches the way you like them." Yep. Mitch is 37 years old and can't make his own damn sandwich. Nice.

"Rosie saw the dishes in the sink the second she stepped into her kitchen and shook her head....but it wasn't good that the corn flakes he'd left in the bowl had hardened into splotches of whole-grain concrete she'd had to chisel off the side of the bowl."

Mitch gets annoyed when Paige stops by the house (oh the nerve of that bitch!). "...a low buzz of annoyance hummed through him."

I didn't really get into their romance. At all. I didn't like Mitch and I wasn't cheering for them as a couple by the end of the book. Fail.

Maybe I'm sick of the Kowalski family? Ryan and Josh's stories are the next 2 books and I'm not sure I want to read them. Both are cardboard in this one (for me). We will see.


All I Want for Christmas is a Cowboy: The Christmas Cabin / Can't Wait / Baby It's Cold Outside
Review Date: 12/22/2014


The Christmas Cabin- 2*
Unremarkable for me.

Can't Wait- 2*
Gah! I really don't like this trope. Adult man and woman like each other, but resist the attraction. Why? Oh, 'cause it goes against the "bro code" to fall for your best friends sister. Whatever. It did get a little better once that obstacle was jumped over.

Baby It's Cold Outside-3*
Best one in this anthology. It was sweet and I really shouldn't say any more to not give anything away.


All I Want for Halloween
All I Want for Halloween
Author: Marie Harte
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/24/2019


I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked this one. Sadie is a baker and perfectly content with her life working in her family's bakery. Gear is the star (now ex-star) of his own reality TC show featuring his work on bikes.
There's snark and banter in this one. Both Sadie and Gear are enjoyable. What makes this memorable is both families; Sadie's dad, brother Eliott, her sister Rose and Gear's mom and dad, brother Thor, sister Iris. Hilarious and I just enjoyed this one.


All is Fair in Love and Revolution (Rebel Mechanics, Bk 1)
All is Fair in Love and Revolution (Rebel Mechanics, Bk 1)
Author: Shanna Swendson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/20/2019


This is an alternative history with paranormal elements. So, the American Revolution never happened and the colonies are still under British rule. Those in power, the rich elite have magic. Those with magic don't mix with the non-magical (it dilutes the blood). The gap between the haves and have-nots is pretty wide.
Verity is the daughter of a college professor. She became a governess to a wealthy magical family after her mother died. The Rebel Mechanics (RM) are a group of magical-hating individuals who strive for independence and are revolutionaries and inventors.
I wanted to like this book more than I did. I did like Verity, she was a little too trusting, but was able to form her own opinions. I wasn't surprised when Verity revealed a hidden talent. I liked Henry and his charges Olive and Rollo (Flora not so much). Fun twist regarding Henry. (It's hinted and guessed at early on).
I didn't like the RM using children in their demonstration when they knew it would and could turn violent. They also came across as too judgmental (as a group). I won't be reading the rest.


All Spell Breaks Loose (Raine Benares, Bk 6)
All Spell Breaks Loose (Raine Benares, Bk 6)
Author: Lisa Shearin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/27/2016


Lots going on in this one. Happy to say the arc with the Saghred comes to a conclusion. I really like the goblins and Tam has an interesting, supportive family.
If this was going to be it, good end. But book 7 (Wedding Bells, Magic Spells) is out today. On Kindle, it's 7.99 for 266 pages. Unless it goes down in price, this is the end of the series for me.


Allegiance of Honor (Psy-Changeling, Bk 15)
Allegiance of Honor (Psy-Changeling, Bk 15)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/21/2020


This was a different book. This is a wrap-up of the first part/arc. I liked reading about the characters and getting updates on them; very much a "where are they now" and how are they dealing with the fall of Silence. While I still liked, this was dry and lacked the adventure/excitement of previous books. It will be curious to see if new/newish characters get theirs in the next (or the children of previous characters)- Silver, Tanique, Pax, Leila, Jon.


Allegiance Sworn (Light Blade, Bk 3)
Allegiance Sworn (Light Blade, Bk 3)
Author: Kylie Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/5/2015


I enjoyed the first book, the second one dragged a bit, but this one? From the get-go it held my attention with multiple things going on. I adored Imhara. She was smart, strong when she needed to be, and gave a little when she needed too. Arek was another strong, enjoyable character. I enjoyed seeing his transformation from angry and bitter to someone loving and trusting. Imhara and Arek's relationship is believable and very well done.
I liked several of the side characters and am curious if they will get their own stories too.



Of note- this is definitely NOT a trilogy even though there are only 3 published books. It looks like these 3 were the only contracted books with a publisher. Book 4 is currently being written and might be self-published; anyway, I signed up for the newsletter so I know when next book will be available. (And I suppose there's a chance it may never be)
Recommended for romantic fantasy fans.


1 to 20 of 768 - Page: