Sylvia V. (sjvignali) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Blood from a Stone (Guido Brunetti, Bk 14)
Blood from a Stone (Guido Brunetti, Bk 14)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 1/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Donna Leon's books set in Venice give insights to a culture different from American or British, those mystery settings we most often read. She gives her characters a life separate from the investigations which adds depths to the plot developments. Each book develops differently, making the reading a pleasure since the reader is never sure what path it will take. I've read many of Leon's mysteries with C. Brunetti and have enjoyed them all, including Blood from a Stone.


Castle Cloud
Castle Cloud
Author: Elizabeth Norman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/26/2016
Helpful Score: 1


I could not finish this book. The main character was tedious, the plot lines were redundant, the pace dragged. I read the last chapter after suffering through half of the book hoping the main character would finally do something to aid her own cause. Really disappointing book.


Dance Hall of the Dead
Dance Hall of the Dead
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book gave the reader insight into the differing nuances between tribes of American Indians and also how they see the mind of the White Man, especially the FBI. The mystery is compelling, not that the killer is not obvious, but in how Joe Leaphorn goes about exacting justice to the cruel death of a boy and his father. Joe's understanding of the human condition is a lesson to be learned by everyone.


Death and Restoration (Jonathan Argyll, Bk 6)
Death and Restoration (Jonathan Argyll, Bk 6)
Author: Iain Pears
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Have read all of the Jonathan Argyll mysteries. Love the interplay with him and Flavia. Gives a feel of the politics of Rome and the intricacies of the art history world. Love the twists and turns in the plots. Pears keeps you guessing all the way through.


Driving Force
Driving Force
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 11/24/2009


I always enjoy a Dick Francis book. As I no longer have the copy and read it a while ago, I don't remember any details. However, I've never read one I didn't like.


Silk and Steel (Litchfield, Bk 2)
Silk and Steel (Litchfield, Bk 2)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 12/18/2009


Thought that the main character, Kathryn, pushed Lucien's love a little too far with her lies and omissions. Would like to see a little more of the strong man, instead of one who is so easily persuaded by the sexual act.


The Smoke Thief (Drakon, Bk 1)
The Smoke Thief (Drakon, Bk 1)
Author: Shana Abe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 419
Review Date: 2/11/2010


I found this book well written with elements of fantasy, intrigue and romance. It was complete in itself, yet left the reader with a taste of more to come. I have since read several more bo Abe's books in this dragon series and have been entranced with each.


Suspense and Sensibility or, First Impressions Revisited (Mr. & Mrs. Darcy, Bk 2)
Review Date: 9/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Reading this series is like meeting old friends again. There are so few of Jane Austen's books, that we clammer for more. Now we have carrie Bebris to satisfy our hunger.


1 to 8 of 8