Gayle R. (GRinEncino) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The art  adventure of beekeeping
The art adventure of beekeeping
Author: Ormond Aebi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2006


From the back cover:
"Explaining not only the how but the when of beekeeping, guaranteeing the greatest honey yield, the Aebis from a lifetime of experience offer amazing insights into the inner life of the hive, the language of bees, gathering and gentling wild swarms as well as methods for preparing and maintaining healthy hives.

"Two personable bee-masters, whose name means "honeybee", describe how they earn a living from beekeeping and how they broke the world's record for wild flower honey from a single hive."

Essential reading for the novice or experienced beekeeper.


The Candidate's Wife
The Candidate's Wife
Author: Patricia O'Brien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/17/2005
Helpful Score: 1


from the back cover:
"Sacrifice..........Kate Goodspeed was the perfect wife and mother, paving the way for her husband Luke's political career, burying secrets before they could erupt into scndal. At the first sign of trouble, she and Luke and their team of advisors would pull together to protect his carefully controlled image.
Secrets..............Now Luke's running for the highest office in the nation, and Kate has a secret more devastating than anyone could ever know. For the first time, she cannot turn to her husband or his aides for help.
Scandal................With growing anxiety, she realizes if the explosive truth ever gets out, it will destroy not just Luke's candidacy, but everything she's ever loved, including her marriage and the family she cherishes. Alone and scared in the heat of crisis, Kate must find the courage to make the toughest decision of her life."


The City of Joy
The City of Joy
Author: Dominique Lapierre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/14/2006


A moving, heartbreaking, compassionate portrait of Calcutta, the slumdwellers, and a Catholic priest who joins them.


The Codex (Codex, Bk 01)
The Codex (Codex, Bk 01)
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 2/4/2006


Douglas Preston does it again with this thrilling adventure reminiscent of Raiders of the Lost Ark. We got family rivalries, a love interest, buried treasure, murder plots, corporate intrigue, and loin-clothed Central American natives, and a pet monkey all rolled into one fabulous read!

This guy is now on my list of "Authors I Have To Read Everything They Have Written", and I hope he keeps writing!


Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Disappointment with God: Three Questions No One Asks Aloud
Author: Philip Yancey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/17/2005


From the back cover:
"Is God unfair? Is God silent? Is God hidden? These questions are asked with piercing honesty and biblical certainty.

Step by step, Philip Yancey retraces the long journey toward understanding the answeres to these and other questions. If God desires our love, why does he sometimes put obstacles in the way? Why does he seem so distant? What can we expect from him after all? No part of the bible goes unstudied in the author's search for God's hidden nature in this compelling and profound book.

A Gold Medallion Award winner, Disappointment With God has had an overwhelming impact on many lives - it can change yours."


Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 12/15/2005


An excellent, entertaining read!


Earth Odyssey : Around the World in Search of Our Environmental Future
Review Date: 12/17/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Required reading for conscientious environmentalists everywhere.


Eating With the Seasons: How to Achieve Health and Vitality by Eating in Harmony With Nature
Review Date: 12/29/2005


From the back cover:
"More and more people are becoming aware of the link between nutrition and well-being. However, such is the abundance of ideas on nutrition and health that people are often uncertain as to what dietary principles to follow. In this practical and informative book Paula Bartimeus pulls together all the strand of nutritional thought into one exciting system - eating with the seasons.

"The origins of seasonal eating lie in ancient Chinese beliefs that the secrets of good health are to be had from living in harmony with nature. These age-old principles are rediscovered in this wonderful book, which shows that by eating according to what is seasonally available we can keep our connection with the earth and acquire the necessary nourishment to support our health and keep ourselves in balance.

"With a practical year-long guide to healthy eating plus delicious seasonal vegetarian recipes, essential information on healthy foods and an analysis of food groups and nutrients, this is a remarkable and authoritative fact-filled guide to eating our way towards optimum health."


Ecotopia Emerging
Ecotopia Emerging
Author: Ernest Callenbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/17/2005


First published in 1981, this book is as important today as it was then, perhaps more so, as we see the environmental mess our nation and planet have become.


The Icemen: A Novel of Antarctica
The Icemen: A Novel of Antarctica
Author: M. E. Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/17/2005


From the back cover:
"US Navy pilot Marc Bradford is flying a modified Hercules C-130 into the jaws of an Antarctic windstorm, carrying a CIA report that will plunge him into a battle for his life. The CIA has uncovered a shocking plan to resurrect Hitler's Third Reich on an Argentinian research base. An Israeli Nazi hunter, an Arab terrorist, and a Russian KGB man have their own deadly interest in the scheme. Cut off from all support, Bradford and the men and women of Navy Squadron VXE-6 are the only ones who can stop it - in a war of guts and skill on the most forbidding battleground in the world."


The King Arthur Flour 200th Anniversary Cookbook/Dedicated to the Pure Joy of Baking
Review Date: 12/30/2005
Helpful Score: 2


This is my baking BIBLE. I have a copy, but I ain't NEVER giving it up!


The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, Bk 1)
The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, Bk 1)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 618
Review Date: 12/31/2005


One of my favorite escapist fantasies of all time, right up there with Lord of the Rings.


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (No 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Review Date: 1/7/2006


A delightful little story!


Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper -- Case Closed
Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper -- Case Closed
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 349
Review Date: 12/15/2005


Patricia Cornwell does it again, this time in nonfiction! A great read.........it's hard for me to find an author I like when writing about the victorian era, but she does a great job.


Primitive Wilderness Living and Survival Skills
Primitive Wilderness Living and Survival Skills
Author: John McPherson, Geri McPherson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/12/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Volume one of a two-volume set.


Primitive Wilderness Skills, Applied  Advanced (Naked Into the Wilderness)
Review Date: 12/12/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Volume two of a two-volume set.


Rescuing the Bible from Fundamentalism : A Bishop Rethinks the Meaning of Scripture
Review Date: 12/11/2005
Helpful Score: 4


Excellent book! Bishop Spong reveals how literal interpretations of the Bible have been wrongly used to justify slavery, ban textbooks, deny human rights, subordinate women, and justify war and revenge. "Spong liberates the Bible's message of hope for ALL people". A great read for people who are tired of what has happened to modern Christianity and how the real message has been lost.


Skeleton Crew
Skeleton Crew
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 12/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderful collection of Stephen King's short stories from the early 80s. Favorites are The Mist, The Raft, and Survivor Type.............he never fails to keep me awake at night, long after the lights are out!


Slatewiper
Slatewiper
Author: Lewis Perdue
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/30/2005


A spine-tingling edge of your seat medical/corporate corruption thriller!


Sleep Toward Heaven
Sleep Toward Heaven
Author: Amanda Eyre Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 12/30/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I LOVED this book. The lives of three women come together at Death Row in Texas in the most moving way...........


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: