Pamela S. (Cosmina) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 71 - Page:
H10 N1
H10 N1
Author: M.R. Cornelius
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/3/2012


This is exactly my kinda book, but I could only honestly give this one 3 stars. It was a great four hour plane read and I am glad I had it with me. The premise is tired, the characters not very interesting and the story ends a little too neat and tidy. A few shocking and tense monents would have made it a much better read.


The Healthy Slow Cooker: More Than 100 Recipes for Health And Wellness
Review Date: 11/12/2012


I bought this cookbook when I first started using my slow cooker every week. It is an OK cookbook. The recipes are easy to put together but there are not many that I tried before I swapped it. I think we do better not trying to be healthy and slow cooking comfort foods at our house. I now have six other slow cooker cookbooks that I use much more frequently.


The History of the Lesbian Hair
The History of the Lesbian Hair
Author: Mary Dugger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is hysterical. We laughed and laughed. A very funny look at women's styles of the 90's. Written like the stand-up routine of a Lesbian Joan Rivers.


House Calls and Hitching Posts (Large Print)
House Calls and Hitching Posts (Large Print)
Author: Dorcas Sharp Hoover
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/21/2011


I read this book in a day. Great insight into the life this doctor chose and his unusual medical practice.


In the Heart of the Canyon
In the Heart of the Canyon
Author: Elisabeth Hyde
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/27/2013


I stayed up all night to read this book. It was gripping and quiet and absorbing and loud. Fantastic characters, well drawn and human. The setting is so compelling I had to talk myself down from searching for such a trip. Great novel. Five stars.


The Julius House (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 4)
The Julius House (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 5


The series gets better and better with each book. The mystery in this one is pretty exciting and the new characters are very interesting. Not the small town folks as in the last three. I am going to keep reading this series.


Keeper of the Dream
Keeper of the Dream
Author: Penelope Williamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/8/2008


This is a great novel. There is the kind of Historical detail that keeps you facinated with the story. There is romance of the believable kind. And, maybe best of all, there is magic that could only come from mideval Wales. I loved that the main characters' childhoods were explained throughout the story. This lent great depth to understanding the times and the reasons for people's actions. Knights in shining armour, wise and naughty wizards and women to be reckoned with, the best of historical novels.


Lizzie's War : A Novel (Plus)
Lizzie's War : A Novel (Plus)
Author: Tim Farrington
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/28/2008


This is my favorite Vietnam war book. It is a beautiful description of the 'other' side of war- that is, the perspective of the women and children the men leave behind. Great author, great novel.


A Long Way Down
A Long Way Down
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 12/6/2008


I had a lot of trouble convincing myself to finish this book. I loved Hornby's book About a Boy and thought I would like his others, but I was never grabbed by this one. Maybe the British humor failed to get though to me, but really I think the author never really developed likable characters or made what should have been an interesting story universaly interesting.


Mable Hoffman's Complete Crockery Cookery
Mable Hoffman's Complete Crockery Cookery
Author: Mable Hoffman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/15/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I have only started using my new crockpot very recently. What a great invention. And without any doubt, Mable Hoffman is the guru of crockpot cookery! I now have two of her books and this one is full of recipes that are so deceptively easy. The other book by a different author has recipes with many cans of preprepared soups - too much salt and too little of the fresh flavors that Mable's recipes offer. I can recommend this book and any other of Mable's you can find.


Mail Order Husband
Mail Order Husband
Author: Lauri Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/2/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I finally bought this one because I wanted to read it. I was sorry I spent the money, but there is now one in the system. I love romance but this was just plain boring. Not one character was unique or interesting. Spend a credit on some other, better romance.


Mariette in Ecstasy
Mariette in Ecstasy
Author: Ron Hansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/14/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Mariette in Ecstasy is a stunning book about a French young woman's faith. It is hard to believe that a man wrote this poetic story. It is not the volume of words that makes this book so powerful, but the tremendously deep and emotional expression of Mariette's experiences as a cloistered novice. Beautifully written. Deeply moving.


The Martha Stewart Cookbook : Collected Recipes for Every Day
The Martha Stewart Cookbook : Collected Recipes for Every Day
Author: Martha Stewart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/23/2017


This is an excellent cookbook. The print is very small or I would keep it. A huge variation in recipes. Food for every taste, most simple enough to please fussy eaters.


A Match to the Heart: One Woman's Story of Being Struck by Lightning
Review Date: 7/31/2009


I have loved all of Gretel Ehrlich books, but this one in particular I find myself remembering snatches of in odd moments. Her descriptions of the experience of being struck by lightning are vivid, but particularly interesting because she discusses the long term effects to her body, mind and spirit. This is not Ehrlich's most lyrical writing, but still some of her best.


Matterhorn: A Novel of the Vietnam War
Matterhorn: A Novel of the Vietnam War
Author: Karl Marlantes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/29/2012


Having read quite a few books about the Vietnam War, both written by men and women, I liiked Matterhorn least of all. The novel is authentic, at least in regards to how the war was fought. The actions of the soldiers, officers and the enemy were written very well. Where the book failed to engage me was in the writing of the character's personalities and emotionally driven actions. The characters are stilted and would appeal to those wanting war history, but not the high emotions of the tragedy of war.


Mercy
Mercy
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I think this book is so much more than the description from the cover. This is my favorite of Picoult's books. I loved the characters and all their imperfections, ethnic and personal quirks. I loved that the Hero of the love story in the book is so imperfect and, yet, a good man. I loved that the small town was involved in this trial and, yet, not mean and small minded about the situations that brought them all there. There is beautifully written passion, pain, sorrow; and the pain we feel for our parents, children and spouses. I could smell the fall leaves and see the colors. I could feel the pinch of snow falling on my face. I have bought a first edition copy of this book for my keeper shelf.


Mollie Katzen's Vegetable Heaven
Mollie Katzen's Vegetable Heaven
Author: Mollie Katzen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/26/2008


I have now swapped all my vegetarian cookbooks but this one. Most are full of the same ole stuff and quite boring. The recipes in Vegetable Heaven are simple and truly wonderful, never boring. I use the dessert section whenever I have guests for dinner. Try the berry pockets made of Filo Dough and you will see why.


Mr. Impossible (Carsington, Bk 2)
Mr. Impossible (Carsington, Bk 2)
Author: Loretta Chase
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 8/8/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This is a fun and interesting romance book. I am reading the three in this trilogy in reverse order and this is my favorite! Fun and interesting male roles, lots of Egyptian lore and descriptions, lots of exciting scenes. The females are by turns funny, smart and colorful. The males handsome, ruthless, tender and, again, funny. I loved this book.


Mutant Message Down Under
Mutant Message Down Under
Author: Marlo Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/26/2008


Actually, this book is real. I met the author at a NAWBO meeting when she first self-published this book in Kansas City. The story she tells is facinating. Her experiences with a tribe of Aboriginals in Austrailia as they travel on foot in the Outback country is beautiful and shares a tribal lifestyle disappearing from the planet.


The Mutt Book Decoding Your Dog's Heritage
The Mutt Book Decoding Your Dog's Heritage
Author: David Alderton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is exactly what is claims to be - a way of figuring out which breeds of dogs contributed to the unique and wonderful best friend sleeping on your couch. With good clear photos and a simple 6 body part list, this book clearly and simply demonstrates how to decode the blood lines of many different mutts. It also creatively and humorously explains how to create a name for your unique breed. I am looking for another copy to give to our vet for a gift.


21 to 40 of 71 - Page: