Mary K. (3rdshifter) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 1/3/2012


This is the 2nd Mickey Haller book. It picks up a couple of years after the first book ended. Mickey is back in court and hasn't changed. Lots of action, plot twists and turns and good characters. These are very good,tense mysteries but much lighter than Mr. Connelly's other series- Harry Bosch police detective.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 4/22/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. It's two people's life stories told in alternate chapters. One is a women who came to the US as an immigrant before WWII and the other is her son (the author) who grew up in the 60's and 70's. Ruth (the mother) had a very hard life growing up in the south. She eventually leaves home to go to NYC and falls in love with a black man. They got married at a time when inter racial marriage wasn't accepted. Her son James tells his own story about growing up during the social upheaval of the 60's and 70's It really brings home how much things have changed.


The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 6/4/2016


I really enjoy all the Reacher books and this is no exception. Pretty fast moving, multiple killings and suspects. It has the added interest of giving some personal information about Jack Reacher and his past. It takes place near the end of Reacher's military career before his drifter days.


Finding Moon
Finding Moon
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/2/2016
Helpful Score: 1


Very enjoyable. Started a little slow but it was worth sticking with it. The main character, Moon, is a kind of reluctant hero who's dragged into a rescue mission in Vietnam during the last days of the Vietnam War. Everyone participating in the rescue are amateurs so there's no super spy stuff or violence. If you like mysteries but need a break from some of the violence this is just the thing. I think it would be a great movie.


The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 1/2/2012


Very good. This book is by the same author as the Harry Bosch police detective series. It tells the story from the opposite angle,that of the lawyer rather than the police.
The main character, Mickey Haller, is a down and out lawyer who has made a mess of his life. He's a very likeable guy, not half as bad as he would like people to think. Mickey takes a high profile case that he hopes will get him back on top and in the money. Of course nothing and no one is what it seems at first glance. Lots of twists and turns,hard to put it down. It's much less grim than the Bosch series and just as enjoyable.


The Man from Beijing
The Man from Beijing
Author: Henning Mankell, Laurie Thompson (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 1/2/2012


This is the first Henning Mankel book I've read. I've rated it just OK. It started out very fast paced and had me hooked. However after that things got really bogged down. The story skipped around,first to China and the American west of 100yrs ago then to modern day China. It was more historical fiction than mystery and very slow going. The ending picked up the pace again but it wasn't really satisfying.


Misery
Misery
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 1/2/2012


I was only able to read parts of this book. I have read what I thought were some pretty violent mystery/crime novels but this one was too much for me. I read parts of the beginning,middle and end, enough to get the gist of the story but that was about all I could handle.


Point of Impact (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 1)
Point of Impact (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 1)
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 6/2/2016


Way too long, too much unnecessary description. The characters were like caricatures of villains and cops. The basic story is good and I finished the book to find out the ending but I skipped over large sections.


Relentless
Relentless
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 1/2/2012


This is the first Dean Koontz book I've read and I really enjoyed it. It's a fast paced thriller with some humor and quriky twists. The basic story is about Cubby, a man who makes an enemy of the wrong guy- Sherman Waxx. It turns out that Waxx will use extreme means to get revenge on Cubby and his family. This leads to a cross country chase with all sorts of escapes and near misses. Fast paced, couldn't put it down, fun read.


The Snare of the Hunter.
The Snare of the Hunter.
Author: Helen MacInnes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/2/2012


Good story of a young woman escaping from Czechoslovakia and the KGB. Pretty fast paced and tense because you can never tell who is a friend and who is an enemy. Also a little bit of romance between Irina and one of her rescuers. I don't know what year this was written but it was before everyone had cell phones. I'd forgotten what it was like to have to find a pay phone to call someone and hope you could reach them. Very fast,easy,enjoyable reading.


The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival (Vintage Departures)
Review Date: 7/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A really interesting book on many subjects. I originally bought this book to learn about the behavior of the Siberian Tiger, an endangered species. Along with the natural history of the tiger I learned how native people of this area had co-existed with the tiger. How more modern people tried to live with the tiger (not always succesfully) and about how the fall of the Soviet Union affected everything.


Water Like a Stone (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 11)
Water Like a Stone (Duncan Kincaid / Gemma James, Bk 11)
Author: Deborah Crombie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 1/2/2013


This is the first book I've read in this series and by this author. It definitely left me wanting to go back and read the whole series. I thought the mystery part of the book was very good, lots of cliff hanger moments that kept me reading past my bed time. I also enjoyed the personal relationship between the 2 main characters and this is why I'd like to read more in the series. Also at the front of the book there is a map showing the location of the story, that's something I love.


1 to 12 of 12