Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Valerie R. (valeriemarie83) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 6/6/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was a really fun read! Abe Lincoln was already awesome to begin with, why not make him a vampire hunter too?


Bite Me: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 3)
Bite Me: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 3)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 9/22/2011


The 3rd book of the Bloodsucking Fiends series. I really enjoyed reading this one ALOT, my only issue was having to read in "Abby lingo" ('Kayso!) Once I got over that, it was the laugh out loud, funny story line that reels me into Moore's writing! So glad I came across this author and his books!


Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 342
Review Date: 2/9/2011


Pretty good book, overall. Parts of it were really funny, which helped get through the parts that seemed boring or that dragged on. But I'm still interested enough to read the follow up book to this one!


Christmas Jars
Christmas Jars
Author: Jason F. Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book gave me the warm fuzzies. :) What a sweet Christmas story, and tradition.


The Complete Soapmaker: Tips, Techniques,  Recipes for Luxurious Handmade Soaps
Review Date: 10/18/2010
Helpful Score: 2


One of the best soapmaking books I've seen yet! The instructions are clear,thorough, and easy to follow. Love this book, my nephew and I have been pouring through the different soap recipes and trying them out! This book is staying with me for a while!!


Dealing With Dragons  (Enchanted Forest, Bk 1)
Dealing With Dragons (Enchanted Forest, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia C. Wrede
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 7/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was really a fun and easy book to get into. I enjoyed the way the story is written, and I have already ordered the rest of the books in the series. If you are into magic, dragons and wizards, then how could you not like this? I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series!


A Dirty Job (Grim Reaper, Bk 1)
A Dirty Job (Grim Reaper, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 9/14/2010


I had to read this after reading all the reviews on how funny this author is. The book completely lived up to those reviews! I literally laughed out loud at some parts....I love little Sophie and her puppies. "Delightfully warped and funny", as Carl Hiaasen commented. Looking forward to reading other books from this author!


Domiknitrix: Whip Your Knitting into Shape
Domiknitrix: Whip Your Knitting into Shape
Author: Jennifer Stafford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/13/2010


THIS book taught me how to knit. The pictures, the way she explains the techniques, it clicked with me big time. I use my book anytime I need a reference or need to refresh on a paticular technique. I got this book as a Christmas gift and it has been such a great tool to help me grow in my knitting skills, and "whipped my knitting into shape!!" Love it!


Ella Minnow Pea : A Novel in Letters
Ella Minnow Pea : A Novel in Letters
Author: Mark Dunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 12/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it! Couldn't wait to see what letter was going to drop next! It also gave me a good brain exercise!


The End Of Alice
The End Of Alice
Author: A. M. Homes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 2/9/2010


WOW. This has probably been one of the most disturbing books I've ever read. Wasn't exactly as I thought it would be when I read the description but true to previous reviews. But the plot is like a car crash...you can't not look...it's like every page dares you to keep reading,with the 'what else is going to happen' mentality. I really wonder why the author chose to write this in the first place; there's alot of gross, graphic events. It was well written, disgusting details and all. Glad to have read it, but I think I'm more glad to pass it on...after this book I need a happier book to read!


Firefly Cloak
Firefly Cloak
Author: Sheri Reynolds
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 7/12/2010
Helpful Score: 5


I've always liked Reynold's writing style, her books deliver everytime. You meet some pretty interesting characters in the story, who are all dealing with their own conflicts, but they are all connected. Your heart will go out to Tessa Lee!


A Gracious Plenty
A Gracious Plenty
Author: Sheri Reynolds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/23/2010


I LOVED this book!! Maybe as much,or more than The Rapture of Canaan..?? This author does such a wonderful job painting out the characters, you can't help but fall in love with them and the story. I love Reynold's writing style!


Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery, Bk 1)
Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Sefton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 12/2/2009


Loved it! I fell in love with the characters and the shop in this book. I already love to knit so it was easy to relate to the girls in the book. A murder mystery and knitting characters. So glad I ordered this book, got the 2nd book on the way.


The Lucky One
The Lucky One
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 334
Review Date: 4/23/2011


Good story, it kept my attention and I finished it pretty quickly! The ending realllyyy had me pulled in, I didn't want to put it down!! I've only had a few of Sparks' books, and I'm really glad I got this one!


Monday Morning Leadership for Women
Monday Morning Leadership for Women
Author: Valerie Sokolosky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/2/2010


Excellent book!!! Strongly recommend to any woman who is in a leadership role! The Monday Morning Leadership books are easy to read, and explain things in a very simple, effective manner. A must read for any woman who wears many hats.....and who doesn't?!


Of Mice and Men
Of Mice and Men
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1272
Review Date: 9/29/2011


Powerful story, and it isn't drawn out into a long novel. Loved the writing style. It really made the characters come to life, and it was easy to feel drawn into the story. This one really tugged at my heart...great book.


The Postman Always Rings Twice
The Postman Always Rings Twice
Author: James M. Cain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Short, and to the point!


QBQ! The Question Behind the Question: Practicing Personal Accountability in Work and in Life
Review Date: 11/13/2010


Great book on practicing accountability in work and life by being discplined in the questions we ask ourselves. Questions should involve what you can do to make the positive results, not dwell on things you can't control. I've been reading a lot of key takeaways aloud to my hubby while I read it, and I'm loaning this book to my coworkers! It's a keeper!


The Rapture of Canaan
The Rapture of Canaan
Author: Sheri Reynolds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 2/28/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I first read this about 12 years ago, and it is still one of my favorite books, still telling friends about it. I've read it several times, and each time I learn something new from it, I find new meaning in it as I get older. Ninah and James are two incredible characters living in the means of their family's religious beliefs, their Grandfather the head of it all. The story flows in the past and present beautifully, telling you the story of Nana and Grandpa Herman, and in the present with Ninah, James, and the rest of the family.

I was a little embarassed in my English class at CCU; when I was telling the class this was one of my favorite books on our first day, one of my classmates commented that Sheri Reynolds was her aunt!!! This author lived in this area, and even came to the class a few years later since this turned into a reading assignment.......

Loved this. Just writing this review makes me want to go get it and start reading.


Santa Steps Out
Santa Steps Out
Author: Robert Devereaux
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Wow. Although I'm glad I finally got my hands on a copy, I don't see myself reading anything else this author has anytime soon!! It was nothing but sex and violence and some flat out GROSS stuff!!! The author did a fantastic job on painting the picture with words, which only made the disgusting parts, even more. Whattttt made him dream this up? Thanks but no thanks!


1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Want fewer ads?