Valerie P. (vprosser) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 162 - Page:
The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 11/26/2007


I found this book to be quite thought-provoking and insightful. I encourage people to read it!


Breach of Confidence
Breach of Confidence
Author: Eben Paul Perison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


"Corporate associate attorney Michael Elliot was summoned to the Davis & White office in New York City to oversee the cases left behind by a junior partner who committed suicide by throwing himself off the Brooklyn Bridge. The death is somehow connected to a deal with the elusive Trinity Corporation. But the only paperwork Michael can find relating to the company implicates him in a conspiracy involving offshore company embezzlement and inside trading. Now Michael is wanted by the authorities. And he has to figure out who set him up and why--or the next unexplained death may be his own..."


A Cab Called Reliable: A Novel
A Cab Called Reliable: A Novel
Author: Patti Kim
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Patti Kim's fiction spins to life from the stories handed down by her parents about their native Korea.
Ahn Joo Cho had emigrated with her family to Virginia when she was seven. Two years later, a cab called Reliable takes away her mother and her infant brother forever.
Grade by grade in school, Ahn Joo matures within an alien society, excelling at creative writing as her home life with her old-fashioned father deteriorates. Language heals her, saves her.
As Ahn Joo enters womanhood, a heart-breaking secret finally sets her free to create her own heritage.


Carnival Culture
Carnival Culture
Author: James B. Twitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


"Readers will have a lively time with Twitchell's provocative, original, controversial stance." --Publisher's Weekly

"[Twitchell cites] numerous examples of crassness, inanity and sheer disregard for the idea of quality in publishing, television and the movies...A veritable catalogue of vulgarity." --New York Times Book Review

"More horrifying than anything Stephen King could concoct." --San Francisco Chronicle

"Vividly dissects American entertainment." --Newsweek

"The best combination of profundity and pizazz this year." --Philadelphia Inquirer


Caverns of the Snow Witch
Caverns of the Snow Witch
Author: Ian Livingstone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Part story, part game, this is a book with a difference--one in which YOU become the hero!
Deep within the Crystal Caves of the Icefinger Mountains, the dreaded Snow Witch is plotting to bring on a new ice age. A brave trapper dies in your arms and lays the burden of his mission on your shoulders. But time is running out. Will YOU take up the challenge?
Two dice, a pencil and an eraser are all you need to make your journey. YOU decide which way to go, which dangers to risk, and which monsters to fight.


The Center of Everything
The Center of Everything
Author: Laura Moriarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 4/27/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I flew through this book. I really enjoyed it and it was engrossing. The main character is 10 in 1982, just as I was, and the author hit the nail on the head about growing up in that time period. I was amazed at the little things I forgot about that were oh-so-true back then! I related to the character, even though my circumstances were different. I didn't find this book depressing at all -- it is a bit predictable -- but the symbolism in it really stands out. I would recommend this one to a friend. :)


The Cheerios Play Book
The Cheerios Play Book
Author: Lee Wade
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/10/2006


This is a board book where you insert cheerios to make pictures. Made for toddlers.


The Christmas Train  (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
The Christmas Train (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: David Baldacci, Tim Matheson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/6/2006


Unabridged, approx 7 hours. Read by Tim Matheson.


Ciara's Song (Witch World: Estcharp Cycle, Bk 9)
Ciara's Song (Witch World: Estcharp Cycle, Bk 9)
Author: Lyn McConchie, Andre Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/18/2006


"The wonders and adventures of Andre Norton's Witch World saga have thrilled millions. Now comes a new chronicle about the hidden realms of the Witch World...

The Darkness over Karsten: Ciara of Elmsgarth is only a small girl when the edict is issued by the Duke of Kars: KILL ALL WITH WITCH BLOOD, AND TAKE ALL THEY OWN. A greedy mob murders her family, but Ciara is protected by the powerful Lord Tarnoor and his son, Trovagh. Safe in the isolated, siege-proof citadel o f Aiskeep, Ciara and Trovagh grow, marry, raise children. Then the folly that grips Karsten worsens. Bigotry and corruption lead to crime, civil strife, ware, and poverty--and the rise of an evil sorcerer, a black mage on a vendetta to destroy all Ciara has, and everyone she holds dear..."


The Classic Fairy Tales
The Classic Fairy Tales
Author: Peter Opie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book was one used in a college-level Children's Lit. class. It has all of the classic fairy tales as originally written, which are dark, but also has the history behind each tale. I wouldn't give this to a 9 year old as the pbs description notes this is for ages 9-12. It is more of an adult look at the history of the fairy tale. The actual tales in here would be ok for an older child, but the rest is written for adults. Very interesting!


The Clone Wars : Heroes & Villains (Star Wars)
The Clone Wars : Heroes & Villains (Star Wars)
Author: Jason Fry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/29/2013


This is a flip book. One half is heroes, flip it over and the other half is villains.


Colony
Colony
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 7/14/2005


Good book. Enticed me to buy more of the author's books. Mine has a different scene on the cover.


A Complicated Kindness
A Complicated Kindness
Author: Miriam Toews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


First off, this is nothing like I thought it would be! It's about a teenage girl living in a Mennonite society in Canada, so I presumed the community would be like the Mennonites I'm familiar with here in Michigan. NO WAY! The main character smokes, drinks, swears, does crazy things like typical teenagers do. I don't know what I was expecting, but it certainly wasn't anything like this. Basically the story revolves around her teenage angst and her relationships (or lack thereof) with her dad and boyfriend and a couple of other people. A very strange book, I don't know if I'd necessarily recommend it but I wouldn't say it was bad either.


Conservative Victory: Defeating Obama's Radical Agenda
Conservative Victory: Defeating Obama's Radical Agenda
Author: Sean Hannity
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/12/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is broken up into 3 parts: Why Victory is So Important, Learning from History, and Moving Forward: Reclaiming the Future.

I already knew about a lot of Obama's past and also his current appointments, but to set it all down in one place really blew me away.

Also, I was young when Reagan was President, and seeing some excerpts of his speeches and learning about what his ideals really were all about -- and how they need to be brought back into today's society, really impressed me.

I don't watch Hannity's shows, and I only listen to him once in awhile, but this book was a very interesting read. Give it a chance!


Corduroy's Christmas Surprise
Corduroy's Christmas Surprise
Author: Don Freeman, Lisa McCue (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/5/2006


Mine is hardcover


A Cure for Dreams (Large Print)
A Cure for Dreams (Large Print)
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 10/8/2006


This is described as a Large Print edition, but I can't find anything on the book claiming it to be large print. The print though, is larger than normal books, so I suppose it is...it's just not labeled on the book as such. This is a quick read and my first by Gibbons...I intend to read more by her.


A Dance with Dragons (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 5)
A Dance with Dragons (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 5)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 8/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I read the series back-to-back, and now have to face the fact that I'll have to wait for the next one. I think this book is one of the best in the series -- it definitely held my interest and threw in a few twists. Great writing!


Darkfall
Darkfall
Author: Stephen Laws
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/16/2006


"A storm is raging. A massive storm, filled with lightning, power...and terror. But inside one high-rise office building, all is silent. Moments before, the building was filled with Christmas parties and celebrating employees. Now it is empty. Everyone has vanished, disappeared into thin air. The only thing left behind--a severed human hand.

Detective Jack Cardiff and his squad are about to discover the living hell that is Darkfall, where the impossible and the insane become all too real, and where things that were once human become living nightmares. As the investigation proceeds, the full extent of the horror emerges, a horror beyond imagining, more fearsome than the howling storm that spawned it."


The Deception of the Emerald Ring (Pink Carnation, Bk 3)
The Deception of the Emerald Ring (Pink Carnation, Bk 3)
Author: Lauren Willig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 2/28/2009
Helpful Score: 5


After reading the first two books in the series (Pink Carnation and Black Tulip), this one was a bit disappointing. Maybe I just wasn't in the mood but it didn't captivate me like the others. I did laugh out loud on more than a few occasions though, with my husband just shaking his head at me. :) I love the writing style and the author's transition from the spies in the 1800s to Eloise in the present. I definitely plan on continuing with the series, but my expectations aren't as high.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Very interesting -- a lot more detailed than I had thought it would be. I have a deeper appreciation and understanding of Chicago and the World Fair now.


21 to 40 of 162 - Page: