Betty O. (wvflatlander) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 75 - Page:
All This Talk of Love: A Novel
All This Talk of Love: A Novel
Author: Christopher Castellani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/10/2013


seriously depressing!


Apollo 8: The Thrilling Story of the First Mission to the Moon
Apollo 8: The Thrilling Story of the First Mission to the Moon
Author: Jeffrey Kluger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/13/2017


What an amazingly well written book. I loved it from beginning to end. It should not have come as a surprise as it was written by the same author as "Apollo 13" which everybody in our family loved (the book literally was read to pieces and we had to buy a new one!) This book was well researched and written in a matter-of-fact manner, but also filled in the lesser known facts of the astronauts and their families.


The Art Forger
The Art Forger
Author: B. A. Shapiro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/22/2015


For fans of "White Collar" this is a great read. It explains how art forgers can get away with their forged master pieces!!


Bloom: Finding Beauty in the Unexpected--A Memoir
Bloom: Finding Beauty in the Unexpected--A Memoir
Author: Kelle Hampton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/11/2015


I was looking forward to reading this highly praised book. However, I was very disappointed. I loved the pictures of the 2 cute girls, but I didn't realize that it was a poor self-pitying story about "woe is me".
I can understand that the author had the shock of a life-time when she found out at her daughter's birth that the baby had DS, but except for a short part about the baby's jaundice and then the need for glasses it was only about the mom's feelings.


Born with Teeth: A Memoir
Born with Teeth: A Memoir
Author: Kate Mulgrew
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/27/2017


Loved this book. It was a good and fascinating read about one of my favorite actresses. The only reason I "downgraded" it one star, was the ending.... It really seemed like she was paid for a certain amount of pages/ words and so she simply quit in the middle of her last chapter.
Can't wait to see if she will write another book!


The Buccaneers: BBC Tie-In Edition
The Buccaneers: BBC Tie-In Edition
Author: Edith Wharton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/2/2019


The rare case where a movie is better than the book. This book just drags on and on!


The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Author: Jennifer Ryan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/8/2017


Loved this book. The story is told through journal entries of very different, but connected, women in a small town in England at the beginning of WW II. If you liked "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" give this book a try!


Cleopatra: A Biography
Cleopatra: A Biography
Author: Stacy Schiff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 6/11/2012
Helpful Score: 4


This book was so dry I was afraid all the sands of the Sahara would fall out of it every time I opened it!


The Constant Princess
The Constant Princess
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 4/3/2010


The book started well and then towards the end it jumped over many years and just ended! That was not very good!


A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man
A Courtesan's Guide to Getting Your Man
Author: Susan Donovan, Celeste Bradley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 3/27/2012


if you like x-rated romance novels - this book is for you!


A Crack in the Edge of the World : America and the Great California Earthquake of 1906
Review Date: 4/27/2010


For non-geologist readers this is a very interesting and entertaining way to learn more about the 1906 S.F. earthquake and also about the major possible earthquakes on the North American Plate.


The Cranford Chronicles (Vintage Classics)
The Cranford Chronicles (Vintage Classics)
Author: Elizabeth Gaskell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/27/2013


I was slightly disappointed that the "Chronicles" actually contained only the one book set in Cranford. The other 2 books are simply books by the same author. The last of these 2 books was quite slow reading.


Cranford (Dover Thrift Editions)
Cranford (Dover Thrift Editions)
Author: Elizabeth Gaskell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/5/2010


Great book - obviously quite different from the PBS TV series.


Cronkite
Cronkite
Author: Douglas Brinkley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/6/2015


Very fascinating look at the long life of "the most trusted man in America". Having grown up in another country I only knew that he was the man who announced the moon landing and the Kennedy assassination. This look at his life was quite the read, but the author had access to many of Cronkite's private files and papers and it showed in the thoroughness of the writing.


Cruising Attitude: Tales of Crashpads, Crew Drama, and Crazy Passengers at 35,000 Feet
Review Date: 7/26/2012


Absolutely loved this book. Having been a passenger on many a flight I always wondered whether the flight attendants lives were as glamorous as a lot of people often think.

I hope Heather Poole writes another book soon!


Daughters for a Time
Daughters for a Time
Author: Jennifer Handford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/5/2012


I cried many tears while reading this book. It was one of those that you just can't put down.... I hope Ms. Handford will write more - I am surely looking forward to reading any new books.


Down And Out in Manhattan
Down And Out in Manhattan
Author: Irene Magers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/30/2012


Having previously read Irene Magers' trilogy I was looking forward to read a "modern" book by her.
I was NOT disappointed. Her writing was an absolute page turner. Just towards the end she seemed to leave out a lot to finish the book - I would have liked more details. Otherwise - I highly recommend the book!


The Duchess of Jermyn Street: The Life and Good Times of Rosa Lewis of the Cavendish Hotel
Review Date: 12/26/2015


If you like the books that (older) Masterpiece Theater series are based on.... this one is for you. It was turned into the PBS Series the Duchess of Duke Street. This book really showed the real life of the main character that the series was based on.


Empress of the Night
Empress of the Night
Author: Eva Stachniak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/21/2017


After having read and enjoyed the Winter Palace I was looking forward to reading this sequel. I was highly disappointed by the book. It was a complete retelling of the first book... some parts were more in detail, while others were shortened, but still, it was the same book.


The Engagements
The Engagements
Author: J. Courtney Sullivan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/28/2017


This book was quite enjoyable. If you like books in the tradition of the late, great Maeve Binchy, you might enjoy it. The author weaves truth and fiction quite elaborately. I can surely see this made into a movie!


1 to 20 of 75 - Page: