Facebook

Ronda - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 215 - Page:
British Bad Boys
British Bad Boys
Author: Nancy Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 12/10/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Bad boys, umm, not that I could tell. Three stories of American women going to England on business and meeting the locals: a lord of the manor, the local pub owner, and a friend of a friend of the lord. All three sexy, eligble and willing. None of the stories were exceptionally good, but none were bad. My favorite was the story of the pub owner and the mystery author, very believable people I would love to meet on my next trip over the pond.


The Cactus Eaters: How I Lost My Mind-and Almost Found Myself-on the Pacific Crest Trail (P.S.)
Review Date: 9/10/2011
Helpful Score: 4


Wow, this man is a bully. Really. I spent half this book shaking my head at the rants, freak outs and downright tantrums he described. At first I felt bad for his girlfriend, who seems like a very strong woman and could easily have kicked his butt. But she put up with it, why I don't know. I stopped feeling sorry for her. I do admire her for hiking even half the distance she did with her physical problems that eventually forced her off the trail. I'm surprised Mr. White wants to reveal to the world what piece of work he is.


Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Caine's Reckoning (Hell's Eight, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah McCarty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 7/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a very LONG book. It's also very good, much better than McCarty's "Promises" books. It has a LOT of sex scenes, which could have been cut to tighten up the storyline and make it flow better. This is an 1800's western but the dialog is contemporary, which McCarty does much better with than trying to use dialog of the period. I think this is the first of "Hell's Eight" books. Can't wait to read more!


Candyfreak: A Journey through the Chocolate Underbelly of America
Candyfreak: A Journey through the Chocolate Underbelly of America
Author: Steve Almond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 7/3/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I laughed through this entire book. The author really is a candyfreak and and unabashedly so. Almond makes some poignant statements about how we comfort ourselves with candy. Highly recommended.


Chance Of A Lifetime (Harlequin Temptation, No 168)
Chance Of A Lifetime (Harlequin Temptation, No 168)
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/12/2006


an early krentz (amanda quick/stephanie james), better than some of her earlier books. The male lead is just like all her others, the female lead is a bit more likeable.


City at the Edge of Time
City at the Edge of Time
Author: Janet Morris, Chris Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/5/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Join Tempus and Niko on the triple shores of land, sea and eternity...In the catacombs beneath a warlock's citadel, swords and courage face the jaws of demons-with a girl's life and a god's vengance resting on the outcome.


Claiming The Courstesan
Claiming The Courstesan
Author: Anna Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/5/2007


authors first book. author takes everything to the extreme however, and i began to find that annoying. 3 1/2


Close Call (Lambert and Hook, Bk 19)
Close Call (Lambert and Hook, Bk 19)
Author: J. M. Gregson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2009


I had never heard of this author or this series (Gregson has several series) but read a very nice review of the latest Lambert & Hook outing, in Publisher's Weekly and thought I should give it a go. This was the only title my library had (not sure which in the series it is).

I found this story very odd. It's only 217 pages, but it seems MUCH longer. One night after a block party in a small culdesac, one of residents is murdered. Each of the other 7 occupants of the community have means, motive and oppurtunity and the author tells the story in excruciating detail from each viewpoint, making it a very long, plodding book indeed.

Also, I was thrown by the pacing. I'd be reading one paragraph, and in the next, find out days had past, so the author's concept of flow is not similar to mine. And, despite the fact this is an ongoing series with recurring characters, I did not get any feel for either Lambert or Hook. They were just bland props.

I don't plan on reading any more from this author.


Closer... (Forbidden Fantasies) (In Too Deep... Bk 1) (Harlequin Blaze, No 265)
Review Date: 1/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Not a good effort. The story jumped around and the details just did not add up. not worth ordering.


Complete Idiot's Guide to Spirituality for Teens
Complete Idiot's Guide to Spirituality for Teens
Author: William R. Grimbol
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/5/2007


I did not read this book but my husband did. He thought it was full of good information for anyone who is searching for life's meaning.


Confessions at Midnight (Mayhem in Mayfair, Bk 2)
Confessions at Midnight (Mayhem in Mayfair, Bk 2)
Author: Jacquie D'Alessandro
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 2/20/2008
Helpful Score: 6


This is a better than average historical romance with plenty of hot sex and likeable characters, but somehow the story seemed trite. The plot was nothing new by any means, and lacked depth, and yet I do recommend this book. I'm not much on historicals, other than Lisa Kleypas, however this one, although not nearly as engaging as a Kleypas novel, was quite entertaining.


The Copenhagen Connection
The Copenhagen Connection
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 7/26/2006


her stand alone stories are just as good as her "Emelia Peabody" stories.


The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
Author: Cornelia Read
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/12/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I find it hard to like books when there is not even one likeable character involved. This author is getting better with dialog, and she can be funny, but so far both her books have been depressing. Both are set in mid 1980's upstate New York. Written in the first person.


Crossing Over: One Woman's Escape from Amish Life
Crossing Over: One Woman's Escape from Amish Life
Author: Ruth Irene Garrett, Rick Farrant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 12/26/2007
Helpful Score: 13


If you want to learn something about Amish culture, this book will not work for you. I deal with the Amish at markets, in their saddle and quilt shops, and have gone to their farms to purchase hay and canned goods, and as someone who has lived near Amish communities in three states, I found this book to be very sad. I hesitate to say "one-sided" as of course, she can only tell about the life she led, and as she says, her Old Order Amish family was extremely strict even by their own standards. I'm sure these people are like the rest of us, some good, some bad. You won't learn about Amish ways in this book, as she even admits she has no idea why some things are done. I took a course at Penn State on the history of Germanic peoples in America, including Mennonites, Hutterties and Amish, and the book "The Riddle of Amish Culture" by Donald Kraybill explores in depth the why of their way of life. This author would do well to read it too. It might clear up a few things for her.


Cry for Passion
Cry for Passion
Author: Robin Schone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


If you've read this author before, you may be familiar with her writing style. I had not read her before and don't plan to again. This book consists of about 60-70% one and two sentence (sometimes very short) paragraphs, giving it a disjointed and choppy structure. I found it very hard to concentrate on the plot, which was convuluted to begin with and never became clear to me. I gave up about halfway through. The sex scenes weren't sexy at all, especially the first few, as they were anger based situations with no other feelings involved. I cared not one whit for whiny Lucy. Jack at least had some character but still not enough to compel me to finish this thing. And if you like humor in your books, don't look here. None, not a whisper. I can't understand why I was so long on the waitlist for this one, as I can't get rid of it fast enough.


The Cutting Edge (Silhouette Special Edition, No 260)
The Cutting Edge (Silhouette Special Edition, No 260)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/28/2006


ealy Linda Howard. I usually prefer her early books to her later ones, but this one I didn't care for. I thought the female lead was a whiner.


The Dance of the Dissident Daughter: A Woman's Journey from Christian Tradition to the Sacred Feminine (Plus)
Review Date: 11/16/2007


I was really looking forward to this book, but I am disappointed. Maybe I was expecting too much because it has such good reviews. Very little of what the author had to say resonated with me.Not what I was looking for.


Dangerous Lies
Dangerous Lies
Author: Anna Louise Lucia
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/8/2011


This book is apparently the second book for this author, following Run Among Thorns, which I have not yet read. Taking place in Morocco, Algeria and Cornwall, the settings are nicely done. The leads, however, were a problem at times. Yes, Marianne had a sheltered childhood but even most 12 year olds are more socially developed than she is at 24. Alan is 35 and was way too much for her I thought. Never really understood what they saw in each other. The plot is paper thin. The sex scenes are steamy without being graphic, although I had to read several passages twice to understand the logistics. And a times the dialog left me so confused I had no idea what they were talking about. But I was compelled enough to finish it and order the first book. The way this book ended left openings for others.


The Defiant Hero (Troubleshooters, Bk 2)
The Defiant Hero (Troubleshooters, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 7/23/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I'm getting rid of this one because its the only one in Brockmann's "Team 16" Navy SEALs series that I really dislike. The hero is a liar and the heroine is such an idiot she turned me off right away. Thank goodness that, as usual, Brockmann provides at least two other story lines, one set in WWII that ties into the main story. Its the best one in the book.


The Desert
The Desert
Author: John C. Van Dyke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/28/2006


It sounded like a very interesting story about a amn who sets off with his dog and indian pony into the western wilderness, not very well equipped. The author was so boring I could not get past the introduction.


21 to 40 of 215 - Page: