Evelyn F. (bluemoon2421) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
As Hot as It Was You Ought to Thank Me
As Hot as It Was You Ought to Thank Me
Author: Nanci Kincaid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 2/25/2018


Maybe it is because I am not from the south but I did not enjoy this book. I thought it was plodding and rather pointless. It is a coming of age story about a girl from rural Florida. She seems to have little or no parental supervision. I personally did not think that she displayed a lot of common sense. I know that his sounds judgmental but this book went nowhere for me. I doubt that I ever read another by this author. I would never compare this to "To Kill A Mockingbird." "The Book Thief" and "Kite Runner" are way, way better books and coming of age stories.


A Cat in the Manger (Alice Nestleton, Bk 1)
A Cat in the Manger (Alice Nestleton, Bk 1)
Author: Lydia Adamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/23/2013


I liked this book. It was a fun little cozy mystery. A good read for a rainy day.


The Cat Who Said Cheese (Cat Who... Bk 18)
The Cat Who Said Cheese (Cat Who... Bk 18)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 3/17/2013


A little bit of fun escapism, which we all need now and then.


Little Scarlet (Easy Rawlins, Bk 9)
Little Scarlet (Easy Rawlins, Bk 9)
Author: Walter Mosley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/17/2013


I have never read a bad book written by Walter Mosley. This lived up to his usual standard. Easy Rawlins is a character that I really like. The book is set in just after the Watts riots in LA. Mosley's writting gives you an interesting perspective. I was around for the Watts riots but I live in the midwest and the seemed far away. I am glad that I read this book.


A Merry Little Murder (aka A Deadly Little Christmas) (Caroline Rhodes, Bk 1) (Larger Print)
Review Date: 5/4/2013


This is the first book that I have read by this author but it won't be the last. The book was well written. The story line was tight. My test of a good book is "does it hold my interest enough that I don't skip to the end before I am done with it?" Well, I read this book all the way through. Carolyn Rhodes is a strong, smart woman. She works through situations with logic and will. I will read more of this series.


Nancy Cornwells 90 Minute Fleece: 45 Projects for Beginners And Busy Sewers
Review Date: 11/27/2015


I have this book and I have gotten several good ideas from it. However, this person must sew a hundred times faster than I do to make these projects in 90 minutes and I am an experienced seamstress. For instance, her checkerboard throw would take hours to cut out all those little squares. I haven't given up the idea of a checkerboard throw but am still looking for a better method. I made a small dog bed with her method and it took 4 hours. Not a bad book but definitely check it out of the library before spending hard earned cash on it.


The Paperwhite Narcissus (Victoria Trumbull, Bk 5)
The Paperwhite Narcissus (Victoria Trumbull, Bk 5)
Author: Cynthia Riggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 1/13/2015


This is the sixth book this I have read in this series and I think that it is the best. Victoria is her usual self. I really like this series.


Shades of Comfort: Decorative Window Treatments for an Energy Efficient Home
Review Date: 3/17/2013


This is a very helpful book if you are making blinds for your home. I found it useful.


Solar Eclipse
Solar Eclipse
Author: John Farris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/28/2016


I am 150 pages into the book and not hooked. More sex than I like and crude sex at that. The blurb on the back sounded interesting but the book is not. I have already skipped ahead so I know how it ends. I will not finish this book.


Watchers
Watchers
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 3/17/2013


One of my criteria for a book is that a book has to be interesting enough to so engage me in the story that I don't skip ahead and read the ending first. Well, this book failed that test. It was an ok book but rather predictable. I was a little disappointed because it was highly recommended to me by a friend. Oh well, there is room in this world for a lot of different kinds of reading tastes. That's why there are so many books.


1 to 10 of 10