Cheryl N. (birdiemakers) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 402
Review Date: 2/10/2011


Another great Nicholas Sparks book with an ending I did not see coming! Very good read that I would recommend reading.


The Book Club
The Book Club
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/5/2014


Another great book by Mary Alice Monroe. Her books always flow easily, and make you want to keep reading. This book is more about the woman in the book club, what is happening in their lives and doesn't talk much, if at all really, about the books they are reading. Would recommend reading.


The Christmas Box Collection : The Christmas Box / Timepiece / The Letter
Review Date: 2/24/2011


Great book. The author's way with words makes you feel like you are right there in the story. Want to read more from Richard Paul Evans.


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1032
Review Date: 11/4/2010


I have enjoyed all of Kristin Hannah's books but this one is my favorite by far. Not many books will make me laugh out loud or come to tears but this one did both. It is a great story of two woman and their ever evolving friendship from their early preteen years to adulthood. I love this book!


Full House (Max Holt, Bk 1)
Full House (Max Holt, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich, Charlotte Hughes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 919
Review Date: 2/6/2011


This is the first book I have read by this author and it will probably be my last. Although I liked the new main characters, Nick & Billie, the story was too far fetch for me. Things happened in the book that would not happen in real life; breaking in to a house, the alarm goes off, the police arrive and nothing happens? I don't think so.


Joyride (Red Dress Ink)
Joyride (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Lindsay Faith Rech
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/10/2011


A story about two girls and their life experiences through high school, college and young adulthood. It started out good, got a little slow in the middle and then had some surprises in the end. Overall a good read.


The Last Song
The Last Song
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 8/7/2011


I don't think I have been disappointed in any of Nicholas Sparks' novels and this one is no exception. A story of a parent's love, first loves, teenage friendships and struggles. Several stories in one which I would recommend highly.


Look Again
Look Again
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 421
Review Date: 5/30/2011


The story of a sigle mom who believes her adopted son is a child that was kidnapped from his family. This is the first book I have read from this author and looking forward to reading some of her other work. The story kept me asking myself, "what would I do if I was in this situation". A few surprising twists in the plot; a book I definitely recommend.


NYPD Red 1
NYPD Red 1
Author: Marshall Karp, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 11/12/2013


Another great book from Patterson. I love the short chapters and the story makes you want to keep reading, never a dull moment.


Once in Every Life
Once in Every Life
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 3/25/2011


I have enjoyed all of Kristin Hannah's books and this one did not disappoint. This was different from her other books; interesting story and definitely worth reading.


Orphan Train
Orphan Train
Author: Christina Baker Kline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 430
Review Date: 12/5/2014
Helpful Score: 4


I loved this book! I disliked history in school and, sorry to say, never learned about this part of America's history. The book follows one particular orphan from her boat trip to America as a child to her elderly years.

Quick easy read with a great story and the bonus of learning some history.


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1469
Review Date: 10/1/2011


Incredibily moving story. No matter how many stories you read about this time in hisory, it is still hard to imagine living through such nighmares, whether as a parent or as a child. A must read for everyone.


Something Borrowed
Something Borrowed
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/13/2011


My first book by this author and it started off very slow for me. I thought about not finishing it but hate to do not finish something I start. I am glad I continued as the book got very good and I couldn't wait to finish it to see what happened. I am planning on ordering the "Something Blue" to see where Rachel, Darcy, and Dex's lives take them! Easy read.


A Step of Faith (Walk, Bk 4)
A Step of Faith (Walk, Bk 4)
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 10/15/2014


My favorite in the Walking Series books. Didn't want to put it down and can't wait to read the 5th book to see if he finds love again.


The Summerhouse (Summerhouse, Bk 1)
The Summerhouse (Summerhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 8/29/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Interesting story with a little science fiction thrown in. Three woman who meet at the DMV Office. They get together many years later and share their life's stories. That is when the book really get's interesting and hard to put down. My first book from this author but definitely want to try more of her work!


The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 606
Review Date: 6/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first Tess Gerritsen book I have read and glad I tried this author. It kept my interest and never slowed down. Worth reading and I will definitely read more from Tess Gerritsen.


These Things Hidden
These Things Hidden
Author: Heather Gudenkauf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 11/24/2012


First book from this author and when it started I thought the plot was going to be very predictable. I am glad to say that I was wrong and there were many twists and turns that I didn't expect. Interesting read and will look for more books from this author.


Winter Garden
Winter Garden
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 4/5/2011


Another great Kristin Hannah read. Story about two sisters growing up with their father and Russian mother. The story is about the sisters getting to know their mother and why she was so cold and aloof to them while they were growing up and the sisters getting to know each other. Surprises at the end. GREAT ending. Definitely recommend and can't wait for Kristin Hannah's next novel.


1 to 18 of 18