Tina T. (overpricedshirt) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
All the Pretty Horses
All the Pretty Horses
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 9/29/2009


Brad Pitt does the narration for this audio book.


Bachelorette #1
Bachelorette #1
Author: Jennifer O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/15/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I actually enjoyed reading this. I might not tout it as some Great American Novel, but as an entertaining escape, Ms. O'Connell gets the job done. Especially relatable if you've got a husband and kids at home...


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 578
Review Date: 6/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. Interesting characters and situations... Funny, tearjerking at times... Great summer read. Enjoy.


Blubber
Blubber
Author: Judy Blume
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 1/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Do I really need to write a review for this book? It's BLUBBER, for godsakes! Judy Blume rocks. It's awesome to be able to revisit the classics as I introduce my nieces to her work. If you haven't read this one in a few (too many) years, do. Then pass on to the ten-year-old girl in your life.


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 6/11/2011


I couldn't put this book down! Cracked it open and read it straight through, exhausted and bleary-eyed. Makes me want to open a bakery. Looking forward to exploring more from this author.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3520
Review Date: 9/12/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I've seen some mixed emotions regarding how this series came to a close. I happen to think that book 4 was a perfect ending to an entertaining story. For all the buildup in the first three books, this was the only way the story could go. All loose ends have been tied up nicely and a reader who liked the first three will certainly enjoy the fourth and final book in Ms. Meyer's imaginative series.


The Crossing (The Border Trilogy, Book 2)
The Crossing (The Border Trilogy, Book 2)
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/29/2009


Brad Pitt does the narration for this audio book.


Dereliction of Duty: The Eyewitness Account of How Bill Clinton Endangered America's Long-Term National Security
Review Date: 1/15/2010


Kind of reminded me of when that ridiculous underground scandal video came out... this book may as well have offered a subtitle: "Republican Presidents are Better". An interesting, inside look at the Secret Service... if you can take the politically biased perspective with a grain of salt.


The Double Bind
The Double Bind
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 1/18/2011


I really enjoyed the characters of The Great Gatsby being turned into real, live people in this book. I actually found myself questioning whether Fitzgerald's classic novel was based on a true story! Of course, I had to re-read Gatsby after so many years the second I was through with Double Bind. You'll probably want to do the same, so make sure you've got a copy on hand while in possession of this book.

On the negative side... I hate when I'm told ahead of time that a book or movie "has a twist at the end". My mind automatically goes into sleuth-mode and any "surprise" is figured out midway through. Which stinks, because I think the book would have been awesome otherwise. So, I'm sorry for throwing that out there along with a few other reviewers on this page, but the point is to let others know to STOP DOING THAT FROM NOW ON! Yes, M. Night Shaymalan, I'm talking to you.


Every Breath You Take (Second Opportunities, Bk 4)
Every Breath You Take (Second Opportunities, Bk 4)
Author: Judith McNaught
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I am not really into romance novels, but I am a Judith McNaught fan. Until You and Perfect were my favorites until I read Every Breath You Take. This is her best contemporary novel yet, and Mitchell Wyatt is her best male character ever. If you're new to McNaught, save this one for last. Enjoy.


Everyone Worth Knowing
Everyone Worth Knowing
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 1/15/2010


Remember "Airplane 2: The Sequel" ? That's kind of what it felt like to read this follow-up carbon-copy to The Devil Wears Prada. On its own, a fun read... I like the backdrop of the entertainment industry and the love story is kinda cute... you'll enjoy it for what it is. A great beach/plane/chick lit read.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2860
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I am not Jewish nor am I overweight... Yet I found this novel fairly relateable and pretty interesting/entertaining. Extremely well-written, with fully fleshed-out characters. I did find ALL of the Hollywood storyline completely unrealistic, however. But overall, a good escape and a great insight from a talented writer.


I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
Author: Tucker Max
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 1/15/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Tucker Max is like a guy you'd want to hang out with while simultaneously thanking God you don't have to. His stories are degrading to women (and humans in general), self-inflating, downright disgusting... and absolutely hilarious. Most can be found on his website, negating the need for an actual book, but I did enjoy reading away from my computer. Bottom line, I hope Tucker Max writes a few more books before spending eternity in a pit of fire. We could all use the laugh.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2262
Review Date: 1/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A beautiful, awful, heartbreaking, moving, tragic, powerful, awe-inspiring story. Just like life.


OCCASIONAL SINS (Formerly Titled : Aphrodite at Med-Century)
OCCASIONAL SINS (Formerly Titled : Aphrodite at Med-Century)
Author: Caryl Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/28/2009


I happen to be a HUGE Caryl Rivers fan, so my review may be a little biased. "Virgins" is one of my all-time, favorite books, so reading "Occasional Sins" was like sneaking a peek into Ms. Rivers' research notes. I loved finding out how much of "Virgins" was autobiographical, based on the true stories told here in "Occasional Sins". As usual, Ms. Rivers uses her intelligence and her humor to tell a great story. She offers a glimpse of what life was like in the 40s, 50s and 60s, a time I did not live through personally, but have always found interesting. I'm sure anyone that was alive in those days will be inundated by a flood of shared memories of world events as well as being reminded of their day-to-day life during that era.


Playing for Pizza
Playing for Pizza
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/19/2009


Guy gets job playing football in Italy. There. That sentence is all you need to know and is as exciting as actually reading this book.


The Shack
The Shack
Author: William P. Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 3058
Review Date: 2/7/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked The Lovely Bones, so I'm not immune to the power of a spiritually moving story. But The Shack... was just SO UNINSPIRING.

The story actually starts off pretty interesting, but then drags through the second half (with too much boring dialogue) until the whole shebang fizzles into a lame ending. I was left with too many questions for the author: So, we don't need to bother mourning the loss of our loved ones? There's no punishment for bad people? You're telling me God loves Hitler as much as Mother Theresa? Did you never watch 70s sitcoms (the main character is named Mackenzie Allen Philips)? What's so unique about Mack's loss that warrants God schlepping the entire Trinity down to Earth just for him? And what was with this: Every! joyful proclamation! of God's love! ended! in an exclamation point! More power to you for finding a source of strength and joy and all, but please just leave the recruitment pamphlets on the table and I'll take a look at them when I get the chance, thank you.

To sum up the longest review of my career here at P-Swap (I'm trying to give this place some street cred) this book did not offer the warm fuzzy I was expecting. It makes no great argument/case for faith (which is a shame, because there are many) and actually comes across as rather juvenile. I kept laughing, picturing some middle-aged dude trying to be cool at the Teenagers For Christ retreat, handing out copies of The Shack while telling them, "Check it out! Jesus is the shizzle!"


Stoned, Naked, and Looking in My Neighbor's Window : The Best Confessions from GroupHug.us
Review Date: 8/27/2012


Meh. Interesting enough. At times disturbing, other times funny or scary or sad. Kind of pointless, considering the entire book is just excerpts from the website that you can scope out on your own. Found myself skimming over some of the longer passages, so it made for a very quick read. No need to add it to the permanent collection... I had barely closed the cover before posting it to pass along.


The View from Mount Joy
The View from Mount Joy
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 6/11/2011


Just finished this book. Love, love, LOVED it! One of those that I couldn't put down... I just kept turning the pages because I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next to the loveable main character, Joe. Every character is well fleshed-out and has an interesting story. It's funny, sweet, sad and unpredictable- just like life. I both laughed and cried my way through this story. Seeing life through Joe's eyes makes you appreciate the true wonder of it all... The astounding ordinariness of little day-to-day things, the capability of the human heart to be generous, grateful and loving. Upon finishing this book, you'll want to call your mom and hug your kids... and realize that life truly is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans.


1 to 19 of 19