Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

CANDACE B. (prisonlady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Adventures in Darkness: Memoirs of an Eleven-Year-Old Blind Boy (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 8/21/2009


This book is very interesting. The reader of the book does an excellent job narrating the book too. If a person has a child handicapped in any way, this book would be very encouraging to hear. It tells a neat story of this boy growing up and how he affects the people around him and how they affect him. It is interesting as to how he "sees" them. His father was quite a character too. I love books to listen to on trips. It makes it go faster, good while doing chores around the house too! Enjoy it!


Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Before We Were Yours: A Novel
Author: Lisa Wingate
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 7/31/2018


The book was engaging from beginning to end. To think that woman got away with it in America and was never punished is unbelievable. It is not a book that is enjoyed as such, but one that keeps the pages turning hoping that things will be resolved. It is extremely hard to put down, but well written.


Beneath a Dakota Cross (Fortunes of the Black Hills, Bk 1)
Beneath a Dakota Cross (Fortunes of the Black Hills, Bk 1)
Author: Stephen Bly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/17/2011


I love Stephen Bly's books. This series "Fortune of the Black Hills" is a really good series. Dakota Cross is the book that takes the man to the Black Hills and why. There is a daughter involved that steals the show and has despicable men watching over her. Bly has a way of turning the lowlife people into good people which I really like. He also has humor in all his books. The book moves right along and you can't wait to get to the second book to see what happens next. Great western writer.


The Big Red Tractor and the Little Village
The Big Red Tractor and the Little Village
Author: Francis Chan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/2/2016


This book is a wonderful Christian book for small children. It is about a town that gets a tractor and keeps pushing it to make it plow their fields until they find the manual about how to turn it on. Then the plowing is so easy once they read the book.


A Day to Pick Your Own Cotton (Shenandoah Sisters, 2)
A Day to Pick Your Own Cotton (Shenandoah Sisters, 2)
Author: Michael Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/17/2009


This story is unusual and well developed. It takes place at the end of the Civil War and really shows how bad it was in the south for a lot of people. The characters and action are vivid in the problems they have. Michael Phillips is a good story teller and this series and the ones that follow are very good and will hold your attention. In the first 2 books, you wonder if the girls on the front of the book will make it, since there is so much danger at that time. The situation in this book is one of desperation. You won't be able to put it down.

I really love this series and the others to follow.


The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump: A Novel
The Designer Bag at the Garbage Dump: A Novel
Author: Jackie Macgirvin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/9/2017


It really opens a person's eyes to how we as Christians see the world until we walk in a person's shoes. It moves along and has one problem after another so is not boring.Very interesting book.


A Distant Melody (Wings of Glory, Bk 1)
A Distant Melody (Wings of Glory, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah Sundin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 5/15/2012


I am not a fan of WWII books, but I read this author since I was unfamiliar with her. She is very good in the way she brings you into the story and her development of the characters.
Sarah Sundin has a beautiful way of bringing the story to life along with the love story that developes. The story has many interesting parts that add to the whole. In fact by the end, the reader feels a part of this family with all of it's problems.
Actually, I got so in to this story that I ordered the second book in the series to find out what happens next with the main characters. I do recommend this book if you enjoy a good story.


The Dog That Talked to God
The Dog That Talked to God
Author: Jim Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a delight for those who love dogs. It is quite a deviation from Jim Kraus's other novels. He has a lot of insight into how a dog would think about what humans do. Mr. Kraus also brought out the fact that as a dog, marriage, dating, etc. mean nothing to a dog. Many times I would laugh out loud at what the dog said. It is definitely a fun read.


Gone South: A Novel
Gone South: A Novel
Author: Margaret Marie Moseley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/19/2015


The book was interesting, moved along. Characters were well defined and kept the reader involved in the story. There were several twists to the story which made it interesting.


The Guardian
The Guardian
Author: Robbie Cheuvront, William Erik Reed
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/30/2013


The book is very good. It is fast paced and it is hard to put down. The people are constantly running for their lives. It is an interesting tale that I would never have thought of. It is fun to read something new for a change!


Heather Song: A Novel
Heather Song: A Novel
Author: Michael Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/22/2016


The story is a sequel to Angel's Harp which is very good also. Both books are set in Scotland and really bring out the culture along with the superstition and legends. The books really get into the life of people living in fear of a woman that possessed demonic powers and seemed to control the women of the town. However, God always has his people among the people of the town also. The books deal with the battle between good and evil. It shows how fear can control you. In this book much happens between the duke of the town and his sister. The book is hard to put down sometimes with the intenseness of the story. Mr. Phillips is a very good writer.


Heiress of Winterwood (Whispers on the Moors, Bk 1)
Heiress of Winterwood (Whispers on the Moors, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah E. Ladd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/15/2014


This was the first book I have read by this author and it was very good. It didn't drag, but kept your interest all the time. I am a librarian and I read lots of books. I usually have no trouble putting them down, but I actually couldn't do that with this book towards the end. It was so exciting. We will be putting this author's books in our church library. This one is already there and I have ordered her other ones. Her characters come alive and you can't wait to see what happens next. Very well done!


The Mountain Midwife
The Mountain Midwife
Author: Laurie Alice Eakes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/24/2016


The Mountain Midwife is well written with characters you can identify with. They are well developed, spiritually sound although they battle with their emotions in their decision making. By the end of the book, they resolve their problems as much as they can be resolved. The book has several twists which keeps it moving. Also the author shows the conflict of desires while trying to follow God. I enjoy this author and will continue to buy her books for our church library.


My Son, John
My Son, John
Author: Kathi Macias
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/5/2011


This book was well written and described the kind of emotions a person goes through when something terrible happens to someone very close to us.The book moves along and isn't boring. I felt the author dealt with a very difficult situation in a very honest way. It opens the door to all that a family goes through with a family member on drugs. I think this book is one that anyone would find interesting.


Philippa (Signet Eclipse)
Philippa (Signet Eclipse)
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 8/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The author is a very good story teller. This story takes place in England/Scotland in 1519. It tells of court life in King Henry VIII's time. The author seems to know her material and gives a very rich story with details of personalities, dress, and how they lived during those times. This girl Philippa is the daughter of Rosamund which is a very good book too. If you like historical fiction, you should like this books too.


Sea to Shining Sea (Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister, No 5)
Sea to Shining Sea (Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister, No 5)
Author: Michael Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/29/2010


This is 2 books in one. The other book is Into The Long Dark Night. They are part of a series called Journals of Corrie Belle Hollister and I have them all but cannot list 2 of them since it does not give the correct ISBN number and I can't find it. These two books deal with a woman going as a nurse to help the north in the Civil War. Series starts when a mother and children head west to find the husband/father in California and what happens.


The Sword of Truth (The Wakefield Dynasty, 1)
The Sword of Truth (The Wakefield Dynasty, 1)
Author: Gilbert Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/27/2010


This is a good book about noblemen, King Henry VIII and William Tyndale in mid 1500's in England. The book contains 2 books and the second is The Winds of God. It is hardback and I cannot find the correct ISBN number. This is a very good story and it has 2 other books in the series.


Troublesome Creek (Troublesome Creek, Bk 1)
Troublesome Creek (Troublesome Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Watson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/26/2014


Troublesome Creek is a delightful book. The characters are well developed. You truly feel you know them with all their flaws. This book really shows the way Christians should view the world with all the people in it that are different and unusual. Each person has something to give as they do in this story. The main character will steal your heart with her love of life and giving spirit to constantly help anyone and everyone. I understand her love of the mountains with all it's beauty and hard living. The author shows the tragic side of people's lives as well as the joy they share.


Until You
Until You
Author: Bertrice Small
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 8/21/2009


This book tells a very good story. I had a hard time putting the book down. It moves right along and you can't wait to find out what happens next. It takes place in 1511 in Scotland/England border area. The history is well done and tells a lot of how the people lived. I enjoyed the relationships in the book and how that played out. (no I won't tell you what happened.... you have to read it!)The story is exciting as the time it was lived was exciting. Rosamund lives on the edge and takes chances. She is a powerful woman that knows how to run a large estate, dealing with very tough men and loves with a passion.


Whispers On The Prairie (Pioneer Promises Series, Volume 1)
Whispers On The Prairie (Pioneer Promises Series, Volume 1)
Author: Vickie McDonough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/12/2018


I really enjoyed this book. It is pure entertainment. It moves right along and has lots of action/problems to keep the reader's interest.It has interesting characters and makes you want to read the rest of the series to see what happens to this family.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Want fewer ads?