Kimberly N. (KimberlyN) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 91 - Page:
ACT! 2000 User's Guide
ACT! 2000 User's Guide
Author: Symantec Corporation
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/11/2011


ACT! (now by Sage) is the best Contact Manager, especially for anyone in sales. Compared to Outlook, it is head and shoulders above, as far as tracking and sorting and accessing data on those people you meet and you know.

I'm with a Direct Sale company and have used ACT! for 12 years. I have over 6,000 contacts for business and personal use and ACT! is my right-hand woman!

Excellent User's Guide. If you have ACT! software, even a newer release, this guide will help you use all of the features of ACT!


Adoption Healing ... A Path to Recovery
Adoption Healing ... A Path to Recovery
Author: Joseph M. Soll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/11/2017


Opened my eyes, as a parent of adopted children, to issues my children have had deal with. Issues I never considered ... and we were required to attend a workshop regarding adoption issues, as part of our process, to discover many issues with two social workers, adoption professionals. These issues were not considered 27 years ago. I wish I had read this book before my kids were pre-teens. I would have been a better support to my kids.


Adoption: The Facts, Feelings, and Issues of a Double Heritage
Adoption: The Facts, Feelings, and Issues of a Double Heritage
Author: Jeanne Duprau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/25/2010


Although this book was written about 20 years ago, I read it in 2010 and felt it was valuable and not "dated." It starts by giving the reader a basic understanding of the evolving social concerns about and solutions for orphaned children throughout the history of the USA. With this info, you will understand why adoption has evolved to what it is, today, and how and why changes may occur in the future.

With this information, the book then discusses the thought processes of adoptees (at various ages), birthparents, and adoptive parents. I have read several books, participated in some education sessions, understand a lot about the adoption triangle and the feelings all parties deal with, and still, I learned more about the various "people" involved in adoption triangles, including what social workers and other adoption professionals think & feel.

I recommend this quick read so you can gain insights you may not have considered.

For me, this book will open discussions with my adopted, young adult children, to learn more about thoughts they had, as kids, about their adoption and birth parents. Perhaps you will find it helps you seek to understand others, as well.


Advent of Dying (Sister Mary Helen, Bk 2)
Advent of Dying (Sister Mary Helen, Bk 2)
Author: Carol Anne O'Marie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/21/2007


My first time reading anything by Sister Carol Anne O'Marie and I enjoyed this book, part of "Sister Mary Helen Mystery" series. Character development was great. Thought the story jumped a little; would have preferred some smoother transitions in some spots. All-in-all, I will read more from this series, as I enjoyed the characters.


After the Falls: Coming of Age in the Sixties
After the Falls: Coming of Age in the Sixties
Author: Catherine Gildiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/31/2011


A quick and easy, fun read and a bit of a walk down Memory Lane for those of us born in the 60s.


Autumn Alley
Autumn Alley
Author: Lena Kennedy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/26/2010


This is an excellent book, esp. if you like to get the feel of old London and life before the Great War. This is the story of Tim an Irish labourer, his slow friend Dandy and their wifes and families living in a gaslit cobbled alley at the beggining of 1900. Read about Maud, Dandies loud American wife her beloved son, who goes off to fight in the first world war and tearaway daughter Colleen. Discover the dark secret the Brown twins accross the alley share, and their strange sister Ellen.


A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Finch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 9/11/2012


Good cozy. Armchair-detective is a takeoff on Sherlock Holmes and enjoyable.


Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 873
Review Date: 5/8/2012


Interesting. Slow, but intriguing enough to keep you wanting to find out what happens.


Book Club Journal
Book Club Journal
Author: Clare Double
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/28/2014


Lots of room to journal, list, track. Sturdy book and sturdy pages.


Buttons and Foes (Mandy Dyer, Bk 6)
Buttons and Foes (Mandy Dyer, Bk 6)
Author: Dolores Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/6/2007


Really enjoyed this cozy mystery. Characters were fun, not developed as much as I'd like, but good enough. The protagonist, Mandy Dyer, talks to herself, a lot, and I enjoyed "hearing" her realistic thoughts.


Calm My Anxious Heart : A Woman's Guide to Contentment
Calm My Anxious Heart : A Woman's Guide to Contentment
Author: Linda Dillow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 11/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I read a few chapters of this book, which I felt pertained to me, and really enjoyed those parts I read. Parts of it are written in a first-hand, story-telling style which is "comfortable." It can be read cover-2-cover or used as a 12-week Bible Study.


Cesar's Way : The Natural, Everyday Guide to Understanding and Correcting Common Dog Problems
Review Date: 7/1/2010


Excellent information and provocative thoughts about animal behavior and psychology. Easy and fun read. I found it interesting to learn about Cesar's career and how he has studied animals through personal observation and reading books written by those who are animal experts and veterinarians. I learned Cesar is truly gifted and very intelligent and committed to 1) learning the most he can and 2) being the best he can be. He is not just a TV star with a gift. And so, I appreciate his thoughts and information and suggestions.


Clara's Heart
Clara's Heart
Author: Joseph Olshan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/8/2013


Unique story line. Fast read for 340+ pages. I recommend it.


The Complete Idiot's Guide to Understanding Catholicism
Review Date: 9/24/2009


This book covers a lot, explains a lot, and can be very valuable to understanding "why we do what we do!"


The Days of Winter
The Days of Winter
Author: Cynthia Freeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/26/2010


This is a poignant love story spanning Europe between two world wards. A family saga about pride and sins, passion and humanity. I enjoyed it!


Delicious (Buchanans, Bk 1)
Delicious (Buchanans, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 2/21/2010


I am not a romance reader, but I really liked this book, enough to finish the series and to read more books written by Susan Mallery. The story line was cute, the characters fairly believable, I enjoyed reading about the setting, the read was quick, and it elicited some emotions as I read it.


Designer Beadwork: Beaded Crochet Designs (Designer Beadwork)
Designer Beadwork: Beaded Crochet Designs (Designer Beadwork)
Author: Ann Benson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/13/2012


Beautiful projects! Can't wait to try one.


Desire
Desire
Author: Phoebe Conn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/26/2010


Great historical romance. I am not a big romance reader and loved this one. Thrills, adventure, passion set in Spain and France.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 4/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


We chose this for a Book Club read. While this was a good book, it didn't do well as a discussion book.

Personally, I enjoyed the historical aspect of Chicago, the labor movement, civil engineering, architecture, and landscape architecture. I also enjoyed reading about the building of the fair and the many famous people who were part of the fair as builders, participants, visitors. I also enjoyed learning more about the "Gilded Age" of the late 1800s. There was a lot of fascinating info throughout the book.

I would have appreciated more information about Serial Killer H. H. Holmes.


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 668
Review Date: 8/4/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Grabbed me from the start, dragged a little in the middle, picked up at the end. Great book!


1 to 20 of 91 - Page: