Meredith G. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
After the Eclipse: A Mother's Murder, a Daughter's Search
After the Eclipse: A Mother's Murder, a Daughter's Search
Author: Sarah Perry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/21/2019


I can not recommend this book enough. I simply could not put it down and found myself re-reading passages. She is an outstanding writer. I do not understand why this memoir has not received the attention that the glass castle and educated have. It is a must read.


Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
Author: Tom Franklin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 8/20/2013


This book was fantastic. I stayed awake waaaay too late because I had to know the ending. The dialog is difficult to get used to at first (the book is set in rural Mississippi) but stick with it. Am still thinking about the characters. Extremely well written story about friendship, family, race, and an intriguing set of murders.


Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 8)
Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 8)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 8/25/2009


I did not enjoy the last two books in the Tempe Brennan series, but this one was terrific. A very complicated plot, but worthwhile reading. This isn't a book you would want to "start" and then come back to in a few weeks ! Tempe comes across two sets of bones with mysterious origins in the middle east. Discovering their ancestry may unravel biblical truths held sacred. An excellent read.


Darkness, Take My Hand (Kenzie and Gennaro, Bk 2)
Darkness, Take My Hand (Kenzie and Gennaro, Bk 2)
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 9/12/2009


I would recommend reading A Drink Before the War before Darkness, Take My Hand because ADBTW is the first book in the Kenzie/Gennaro series and it is a great book. But DTMH is even better. Do not miss it. Clear your calendar because you won't be able to put it down. Not only is it a thrilling ride about a team of serial killers in Boston with links to private investigator Patrick Kenzie (Warning...not for the faint of heart) it is a well crafted book. Scary, suspensful, and fast paced.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 12/13/2009


A wonderful and inspiring read !! Very funny and touching in equal parts.


From the Appalachians to the Alleghenies
From the Appalachians to the Alleghenies
Author: Phillip Hartsock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/10/2009


A great, quick read ! Nine funny and touching short stories from a man who has clearly survived enormous hardships and emerged with his sense of humor intact.


The Girls
The Girls
Author: Emma Cline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/17/2017


This book was on almost every "best of" list for the year it was written. It is a fictionalized account of the Manson "family" murders. However, it is more a study of the personality type that would enter a "cult". It was not a detailed murder mystery novel. After reading, I did come away with a better understanding of the type of person that would "join" a cult and the background experiences of a person that would lead them to it. The book made me want to take a shower. Overall, it was a depressing read. The "girls" were used and abused.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5712
Review Date: 9/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Reading this book was a raw and powerful experience. I can not believe this is Hosseini's debut novel. His talent is immense. I suddenly have an interest in Afghanistan since finishing this book. Parts of this book gave me nightmares and also made me cry and curse out loud. It is haunting and unforgettable.


Mind of Winter
Mind of Winter
Author: Laura Kasischke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/14/2017


This book blew my mind. I was frustrated by the style of writing and was very much "on the fence " as to whether or not I even liked the book. I am so glad I stuck with it because all the irritations I had with the author's style now make perfect sense. And that ending.....buckle up. I am debating starting the book over and reading it again. I don't understand why this book has not gotten more attention.


Olive Kitteridge
Olive Kitteridge
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 885
Review Date: 3/8/2010
Helpful Score: 14


I was looking forward to reading this book due to the great reviews I had encountered. It was on several "best of the year" lists. I really did not like it, yet couldn't put it down. Does that make any sense at all ? I felt that its central theme was, "life sucks and then you die" and this book really depressed me. But it also made me think. Hard. About relationships I have had and am having. It is superbly written. Short story format, which I haven't read since college, but Olive is at least mentioned in every story and it is an interesting way to reveal a character. You will NOT forget Olive for a long time.


Sacred
Sacred
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A great book ! #3 in the Kenzie/Genarro series. Dennis Lehane is one of my favorite authors. The book starts with a jolt as Patrick and Angie are kidnapped by a billionaire who wants them to find his missing daughter. Religious cults, Florida, and of course, Boston is involved. Lots of twists with a terrific ending.


The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
The Surgeon (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 1)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 8/23/2009


The first book in the Jane Rizzoli/Maura Isles books, but M. Isles is not introduced yet. Rizzoli is a Boston homicide detective with a major chip on her shoulder. As the only female in the department her abrasiveness and also difficulties make for realistic and interesting reading.
"The Surgeon" is terrorizing Boston; killing and dissecting women while still alive. The detectives discover similar crimes took place in Atlanta/Savannah years earlier and the only survivor from this spree was Catherine Cordell a trauma surgeon now living in Boston.
Not much more can be revealed here without the risk of ruining the thrilling roller coaster ride of suspense and plot twists the reader should look forward to experiencing. I figured out one of the bigger "twists" but it did not take away from the experience. I am not rushing out to find the next book in the series, but would definitely read it if it came my way.


A Thousand Naked Strangers: A Paramedic's Wild Ride to the Edge and Back
Review Date: 5/16/2017


Fantastic book !


1 to 13 of 13