Sharon F. (bookworm01) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 139 - Page:
All I Have to Give
All I Have to Give
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/1/2012


I love Melody Carlson's Christmas books. They are so great and unique in their way. This one, however, is my absolute favorite! The title fits perfectly! Such a beautiful sweet Christmas book! I can't say enough about it! It's just simply...lovely.


Angels in the Snow: A Novella
Angels in the Snow: A Novella
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/9/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I love reading Melody Carlson's Christmas books! What would Christmas be without her deeply moving and utterly beautiful stories? Angels in the Snow is about profound loss in a young woman's life. She goes to a very secluded mountain cabin in the winter to try to return to the creative artist that she was before the accident that changed her whole being. God sends help in many different forms to help Claire start to live again. Beautiful, beautiful story!


Anna Finch and the Hired Gun (Women of the West, Bk 2)
Anna Finch and the Hired Gun (Women of the West, Bk 2)
Author: Kathleen Y'Barbo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/9/2012


This is such a fabulous book! Holey buckets!! Doc Holliday aannnddd Wyatt Earp! How exciting! I loved, loved, loved the historical aspect of this book. Ms. Y'Barbo even included a list of historical facts at the end of the book and a book worth reading, if you become fascinated by Doc Holliday. Excellent!


The Anonymous Bride (Texas Boardinghouse Brides, Bk 1)
The Anonymous Bride (Texas Boardinghouse Brides, Bk 1)
Author: Vickie McDonough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 8/23/2013


This is such a great book! It has an awesome rivalry between a trio of mail order brides who are after one handsome marshal...a marshal who has his eye on someone he has known and loved for years. The "bride" contest that the town hosts is hilarious..especially when an "anonymous" bride enters. I loved all of the characters and can't wait to read the other two in the series to see who marries who in the town of Lookout, Texas!


Between Sundays
Between Sundays
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/27/2010


This is a really good book. I enjoyed the football theme and I learned a lot about the foster care system.


Beyond This Moment (Timber Ridge Reflections, Bk 2)
Beyond This Moment (Timber Ridge Reflections, Bk 2)
Author: Tamera Alexander
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 7/22/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is an amazing book! It is about an extremely sensitive subject for that day and time. We all make mistakes....no one this side of heaven came say that we don't. This book is about second chances, even when you think you don't deserve one.
I love strong heroines and Molly is just that. Tamera Alexander paints her scenes so vividly and her characters so realistic! She is easily becoming my favorite author.
I can't wait to start Within My Heart, the next book. I've loved Rachel and Dr. Brookston since the first book so I'm really loving forward to their story!


Birthright
Birthright
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/13/2009


Nice Read! There were a few ugly words that I didn't really care for but I did enjoy
the archaeology theme. That and the "can of worms" that Callie inadvertently opens
makes for a good, suspenseful story.


Bittersweet (California Historical, Bk 2)
Bittersweet (California Historical, Bk 2)
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 9/29/2009


This book is the sequel to Letter Perfect. It's Galen and Laney's story. It certainly is not smooth sailing for this two. If ever a title fit a book, this one does! I just loved the characters! They were all in Letter Perfect so I already knew them. Galen's name should have been Job. God tried him almost as much as Job but things do work
out in God's time....not ours. This book is an excellent example of that. Cathy Marie
Hake is a true gem! 5 stars!


Review Date: 6/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the premise of this book...a mix-up of bridles and brides! Too funny! I loved all of the stories about the Craig sisters. My favorite was From Halter to Altar by Cathy Marie Hake.


A Bride's Dilemma in Friendship, Tennessee
A Bride's Dilemma in Friendship, Tennessee
Author: Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book very much! Heaven and Angel were two very lovable characters. I read the whole book on a lazy rainy Saturday. I look forward to reading more books by Ms. Brandmeyer.


A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas
A Bride's Portrait of Dodge City, Kansas
Author: Erica Vetsch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/20/2013


Great book! I loved all of the history and reading about the techniques involved in photography during the late 1800's. Very interesting! Also, I love when an author includes actual people from history like having Bat Masterson as the newly elected sheriff of Ford County, Kansas. I loved the mystery of the murdered shopkeeper! I got so caught up in trying to solve the mystery myself that I didn't want to put this book down. 1st novel that I've read by Erica Vetsch and I loved it!


Bridge To Terabithia
Bridge To Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 12/30/2010


A truly extraordinary book! A little sad as well but still truly inspiring!


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 796
Review Date: 9/23/2010


One of the most incredible love stories I've read or will ever read!


The Cabin (Texas Rangers, Bk 2)
The Cabin (Texas Rangers, Bk 2)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great suspenseful story but it still held the love of a man for his estanged wife and his two daughters. I love books about Texas Rangers. They seem bigger-than-life to me. Huge, broad-shouldered, incredibly handsome......you get the picture. I enjoyed how the author pulled the history that she had introduced into the ever-thickening plot. It all came together very nicely at the end. This is my first book by this author and I would highly recommend her.


Calico Canyon (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 2)
Calico Canyon (Lassoed in Texas, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Connealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 11/11/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great story! It has humor, suspense, love, and devotion. I grew up one of five so I loved the five boys in the story(only I had 4 sisters). Some parts about the boys pushing and shoving and tripping and screaming made me remember my own childhood. I truly loved this story! Mary Connealy brings something special to each of her books. I can't wait to read more of them.


Can This Be Christmas?
Can This Be Christmas?
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/2/2009


This is truely a completely magical Christmas story! I got goosebumps and that's not something most books do to me. Debbie Macomber is a true gem! This is the kind of book that shows us that despite the hustle and bustle of Christmas, there is a real meaning of Christmas. It's an attitude....it's in our hearts...and shows through our actions. That's what this book shows! It's a beautiful Christmas story and it's short. I read it in a couple of hours...mainly because I didn't want to put it down. I absolutely loved it!


Carolina's Courage
Carolina's Courage
Author: Elizabeth Yates, Nora S. Unwin (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/18/2012


This is a beautifully written story about a young girl who travels with her family from New Hampshire to Nebraska Territory. She can only take one of her personal possessions with her on the trip. Pioneers traveling often had to leave lots of possessions behind. Carolina chose to take her doll, Lydia-Lou. She has to make the hardest decision of her young life on the trip west. Excellent story!


The Carriage House (Texas Rangers, Bk 1)
The Carriage House (Texas Rangers, Bk 1)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 5/18/2009


This is a great suspense-filled romance novel. I love when authors tie books together. Ones that have their own plot but tie into other books. That's what Carla Neggers has done with The Carriage House and The Cabin. Then The Cabin ties to Stonebrook Cottage....very clever. Excellent author! I am enjoying her books thoroughly.


Christmas at Harrington's
Christmas at Harrington's
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/31/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Such a wonderful Christmas story! I will admit....it's not your usual Christmas story but oh so goooodddd......
Melody Carlson's books are just so awesome! I haven't read one yet that I didn't love!!


The Christmas Bus
The Christmas Bus
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A completely beautiful story about the possibility of "angels among us". What if the next person you decide to help is an angel? I love this book! Melody Carlson writes an extraordinary story!


1 to 20 of 139 - Page: