Sama - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Cutting: Understanding and Overcoming Self-Mutilation
Cutting: Understanding and Overcoming Self-Mutilation
Author: Steven Levenkron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This book is clearly intended for health care providers. It's a little encyclopaedic. But there are stories in it that can be useful analogies.


Driving Mr. Albert : A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Driving Mr. Albert : A Trip Across America with Einstein's Brain
Author: Michael Paterniti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Lots of entertaining lines, a little dry. There are some historic gems in here, too. I enjoyed it. :)


Exegesis
Exegesis
Author: Astro Teller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent techno-thriller. It can be read by the general public, and is recommended for people interested in tickling their sense for late 20th-century technological hype.


Girl, Interrupted
Girl, Interrupted
Author: Susanna Kaysen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 712
Review Date: 7/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


It had a few good points buried deep inside of it, but doesn't provide much insight into the world of mental illness. In its defense, it doesn't claim to. It only took about 8h to read. Give it a shot. :)


Greyhounds: Everything About Purchase, Care, Nutrition, Behavior, and Training (Complete Pet Owner's Manual)
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Full of excellent information! It helped me make my decision on the matter of adopting a greyhound.


I Could Do Anything If I Only Knew What It Was: How to Discover What You Really Want and How to Get It
Review Date: 7/15/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Sher provides new ways of viewing yourself in order to identify what you want to do with your life, offering examples of other people in similar situations.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3371
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Full of funny anecdotes, surprises, survival skills and warming thoughts. Nice to read to a cup of tea.


The Mayor of Casterbridge (Barnes  Noble Classics Series) (BN Classics)
The Mayor of Casterbridge (Barnes Noble Classics Series) (BN Classics)
Author: Thomas Hardy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


One of my many classics, I loved this book. It takes time to warm up to Hardy, but the end benefit gives lots to think about.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 532
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 4


I didn't love it, but I can see how others could. I read it because of Japan's controversy over its publication. It is food for thought, especially for encouraging young women to protect their chastity. The protagonist stands up for nothing, and her life happenings are...worth the read. ;)


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4034
Review Date: 8/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed the book. It is an excellent example of outstanding use of characterization. I would rarely pick up a pink book, but to not judge it by its cover, I picked it up in an airport. Its ending was exactly what I expected, but it has some great twists!


Snow Falling on Cedars
Snow Falling on Cedars
Author: David Guterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1045
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


An excellent read on the Japanese Internment. Guterson does a fantastic job of conveying the emotional duress of American citizens through this tragic story of love and war.


The World According to Garp
The World According to Garp
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A classic, I would put this on everyone's recommended reading list.


1 to 12 of 12