Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Sandra (sajoyen) - - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Eruption (Supervolcano, Bk 1)
Eruption (Supervolcano, Bk 1)
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/1/2013


The eruption happened. Then, nothing much of any consequence happened. People were still getting married, having kids, cop business as usual, a band still touring, completeing dissertations. It didn't feel very real. I was very disapointed. At the end of the book, a page advertised the sequel, not putting it on my wishlist.


Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 18)
Explosive Eighteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 18)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 4/15/2012


Doesn't seem quite up to par with her other Stephanie Plum books. Seemed to go on longer just to stretch out the story. Will still anxiously await the next book!


How To Be The Funniest Kid in the Whole Wide World(or just in your class)
Review Date: 3/20/2010


Your walking down a sidewalk and some kids come up and say a fuunny joke and you know you can't be as funny as them. But after reading this you can say a funny joke back. They'll keep saying jokes until it's a joke war. You'll win because you read this book. You can never beat the power of a tiger. RAR.

Written by my daughter


Living Proof
Living Proof
Author: Kira Peikoff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/29/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This book was good in highlighting the differences of stem cell research. For me, this book was heavy on the religous aspects. "Do I believe in God, do I have faith that God is real, how does God feel about using stem cells?" Almost all the characters were having some kind of religious/emotional quandry on both sides of the story. I understand how the religous side of the story is important to understanding the characters and their reactions to things happening in the story, but overall it was too heavy for me to enjoy reading it as a fiction book.


Review Date: 4/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


How intense! I cannot even fathom going through what Tanya did. It's truly a miracle. I hope all is going better for her and her family each and every day. That being said, the book is 188 pages. Eight pages are photos. Only the first 72 pages of the book are about Tanya's story. All of the other pages are the authors' notes on how to cope when a loved one is missing, who to contact if a loved one is missing, etc. What to do if you are the one who is being abducted.


ObamaCare Survival Guide
ObamaCare Survival Guide
Author: Nick Tate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


It "paints a picture of ObamaCare in the middle of 2012"

This book did a good job explaining the reasoning behind many of the healthcare reforms and explaining the good and bad parts about each change and/or addition and how they affect each groups of insured or uninsured people.

I work in a small medical specialist office serving older people and I was hoping for a more in depth discussion relating to medical offices. This is not that book.

I realize that not all of the changes have fully been implemented yet and things are still unclear.


One Second After (John Matherson, Bk 1)
One Second After (John Matherson, Bk 1)
Author: William R. Forstchen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 11/16/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This was a great book to read! I was entertained and horrified at the same time. I wanted to go out and start stockpiling everything I could think of. I stood at my kitchen window one day and looking at my neighborhood, and I wondered which of my neighbors would survive? This book will stay with me for a long time.


The Ruins
The Ruins
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 7/7/2009


This book has stayed in my mind days after I read it. Very well done.


Vessel: A Novel
Vessel: A Novel
Author: Lisa A. Nichols
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/20/2019


I finished the book this afternoon. Nice mix of sci-fi and drama. Not too much technical science info, but I appreciated that. I initially picked it up to support a Michigan author, but quickly found an amazing author who wrote an amazing book and I am SO ready for the next book, whatever it's about! Hopefully a Book 2 (wink wink)


World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
Author: Max Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 390
Review Date: 1/26/2013


The best thing about this book was the same as the worst. The best thing: I wasn't scared out of my mind reading this book. The worst thing: I wasn't scared out of my mind reading this book.


1 to 10 of 10
Want fewer ads?