Joy M. (JoyReadsLots) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 52 - Page:
Already Dead (Joe Pitt, Bk 1)
Already Dead (Joe Pitt, Bk 1)
Author: Charlie Huston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 5/3/2011


I enjoy a good vampire read (plenty of Anne Rice, Twilight, etc..) and I have loved all the other Charlie Huston books I've read (Caught Stealing, A Dangerous Man, Shotgun Rule, etc..) But this one I just could not get into. I tried a couple times and finally gave up.


Barbie: School Days (Step into Reading, Step 1)
Review Date: 6/9/2011


Easy read for an emerging reader who loves barbie. Good mix of sight words and basic phonetics. Not the most "engaging" story but my daughter just out of kinder liked it.


Bark, George
Bark, George
Author: Jules Feiffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/9/2011


Cute story that really had my daughter laughing. She's reading at a basic level and we enjoyed a "shared" reading of this one. She would read the pages on the right while I read the left.


Bathtime for Biscuit (My First I Can Read)
Review Date: 2/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Cute store for the very early reader. Simple text and for my daughter, gave her confidence and a feeling of success to be able to read it on her own!


Best Friends and Drama Queens (Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls, Bk 3)
Best Friends and Drama Queens (Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls, Bk 3)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/11/2014


My daughter (9) absolutely loved these books. She went through them as fast as I could get my hands on them. She even chose to dress up as Allie for school book character day - not too bad since we were able to make the costume up pretty much from clothes already in her closet! :-) Then we passed the books on to her friends who have also enjoyed them.


Big Trouble
Big Trouble
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 7/31/2011


Great book for fans of the Carl Hiaassen type novel. I found myself laughing often. Story has a wacky cast of characters, funny story line, and was perfect reading for my lazy beach vacation. Hope he will have other novels besides compilations of columns, etc...


The Blade Itself
The Blade Itself
Author: Marcus Sakey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/8/2009


Pretty good book, but not great. A bit too much of the "there's no way he would do that" factor. But a good story in general on the bad boy, gone good, pulled back to bad 'against his will', etc.... Not really a mystery since it's all out in the open, but some pretty decent suspense.


Body Rides
Body Rides
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 1/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Laymon comes up with yet another interesting concept for supernatural/horror story. As with everything I've read of his, you have to suspend belief and be willing to get over the gratuitous sex, but overall it was a good book. Still not as good as my favorite by him "The Travelling Vampire Show".


Caught Stealing (Hank Thompson, Bk 1)
Caught Stealing (Hank Thompson, Bk 1)
Author: Charlie Huston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 7/1/2009


This was a great book. Fast paced, non stop violence. Great story line in the middle of it all!


City of Night (Frankenstein, Bk 2)
City of Night (Frankenstein, Bk 2)
Author: Ed Gorman, Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 6/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A good book, but not as good as the first in my opinion. Won't keep me from reading the next one though.


A Dangerous Man (Hank Thompson, Bk 3)
A Dangerous Man (Hank Thompson, Bk 3)
Author: Charlie Huston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/10/2011


wow, what a finish to an excellent series! Definitely no drop off in the madness from the first two! Look out for some twists & turns along the way.


Dark Places
Dark Places
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 376
Review Date: 5/3/2011


I really enjoyed Sharp Objects and so I was very happy to finally read this latest from Gillian Flynn. As with her previous book, this is no light read. It is dark (as name suggests) and complex. If you are looking for a fun summer by the pool kind of book, this is not for you. If you are looking for a suspenseful, psychological page turner, you are in the right place.


Dead and Alive (Frankenstein, Bk 3)
Dead and Alive (Frankenstein, Bk 3)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 12/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Not nearly as good as the first two in the series. Still an interesting read and I am still a fan of the overall series, but this one was not quite up to par in my opinion. That said, if you've read the first two, how can you not read the final one to see how it plays out?


Dragon Egg (Step into Reading)
Dragon Egg (Step into Reading)
Author: Mallory Loehr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/28/2011


Cute story, simple text for the beginning reader. My daughter enjoyed this one as one we 'assigned' for her summer reading between Kinder & 1st.


Fablehaven (Fablehaven, Bk 1)
Fablehaven (Fablehaven, Bk 1)
Author: Brandon Mull
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 3/25/2015


Having devoured Harry Potter series, Kane Chronicles, etc... My daughter (10) and a couple of her friends all have read this book and loved it. In fact she read this first one before her 10th birthday and immediately asked for the rest of the series as birthday gifts. She is now on book 4 and has already asked if she can start the Five Kingdoms series next.


First-Class Friends (Unicorn School, Bk 1)
Review Date: 6/28/2011


Got this to ready to my 6 yr old daughter who loves the Rainbow Fairy series and so unicorns seemed like a good change up. It was ok, but not great. Seemed in a lot of ways like a unicorn version of Harry Potter... Anyway, she was not very interested so we won't get another one.


From Black Rooms (Violet Eyes, Bk. 4)
From Black Rooms (Violet Eyes, Bk. 4)
Author: Stephen Woodworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 12/1/2009


Another excellent book in this series. I was introduced to the first in the series by a friend and very quickly read them all! This one does not disappoint!


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 765
Review Date: 9/10/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I loved Sharp Objects and Dark Places by Flynn, but this was a bit of let down. It wasn't bad - but it wasn't nearly as enthralling. There was the phsycological thriller element, but the darkness and truly twisted wasn't there. It was also more predictable than her other books. I kept waiting for it to really get going but it never got me to that "can't stand to put it down" state.


Hotwire (Maggie O'Dell,  Bk 9)
Hotwire (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 9)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/22/2012


I am a fan of the Maggie O'Dell series, but this one didn't hit the mark for me as well as others have. It felt like the author ran out of time and just decided to wrap the ending up way too neatly and too fast.


The House at Riverton
The House at Riverton
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 9/10/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I liked the book but did not love it. I selected it for my month to choose a book for my book club. The general consensus (which I agreed with) was that this was a bit slow and also a bit predictable at times. I don't watch Downton Abbey, but several members do and said this is a similar plot...


1 to 20 of 52 - Page: