Facebook

Jennifer S. (ared2die4) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
All That Glitters (Landry, Bk 3)
All That Glitters (Landry, Bk 3)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 6/29/2016


Loved the whole series. Great imagery of life in the Garden district of Louisana as well as the Old Cajun swamps


The Cat Who Saw Stars (Cat Who...Bk 21)
The Cat Who Saw Stars (Cat Who...Bk 21)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 12/3/2016


This book was a really cute read. Hiwever, it has little to nothing to do with the book description. It was esentially the day to day commings and goings of Mr.Q and his kitties while on vaca. There was little to no discussion of the backpapacker death. And we really heard absolutely nothing about the death of the restaurateur. His wife is occasionally mentioned and then wham the beginning of last chapter it's just TA DA!!!! Here's what happened.
I really dont understand how this was published with a story described as it was. Its well written grammatically but it seems that Ms. Braun went off on a few tangents and the editors kept it all in and basically said "Hey, Lil, stick in a few sentences about the murders, don't forget that's what the book is supposed to be about". And she remembered oh yeah and just stuck them in Willy nilly as a complete after thought.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I got on the bandwagon for this book early. I loved them. It was a fascinating story woven with skill and grit. Its intense and gripping spans the country of Sweden. This story gives the very basics of Lisbeth Salander as she solves a 40yr old murder with a controversial journalist. We learn there is so much more to about her life and how she was forced into the life she lives. This book covers topics than could be trigger,topics and are very graphic and intense. Incest, rape, murder. This is not a story series for young adults.


Horse Soldiers: The Extraordinary Story of a Band of US Soldiers Who Rode to Victory in Afghanistan
Review Date: 6/29/2016


This book was an impulse grab from library, I'm an equestrianne. Im not a fan of non-fiction. This was one of the greatest books I've ever read. The story of the interaction of these men with the native residents og Afganistan sheds a facinating light on life, war, animals, values, and selflessness. It is also a shocking revelation on the inner worki,g of the US govt and it's use of military on the hours and months following 9/11/01. If you have any interests all in Horses, soldiers, military, or the war in Afghanistan. Youll enjoy this book.


Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination
Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I love this book. I love it so much I've read it about 5 times. Olivia is by far my all time favorite Helen Fielding charecter. She is adorable, spunky, vivacious and silly. It is a goofy story that is predictable but it such a fun read. Seeing the world through Olivias eyes is a riot. I first "read" this book as a CD narrated by Josephine Bailey. It was the only version I'd recommend listening to.


Olivia Joules and the Overactive Imagination (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I love this book. I love it so much I've read it about 5 times. Olivia is by far my all time favorite Helen Fielding charecter. She is adorable, spunky, vivacious and silly. It is a goofy story that is predictable but it such a fun read. Seeing the world through Olivias eyes is a riot. I first "read" this book as a CD narrated by Josephine Bailey. It was the only version I'd recommend listening to. She is one of the best narrators I e had and I will actively seek out Audio books just because of her. She makes Olivia leap off the page and really lends a great image of how Helen Feilding would have wanted her to be seen.


Stop Dressing Your Six-Year-Old Like a Skank: And Other Words of Delicate Southern Wisdom
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I was laughing so hard while readi,g this at the beach I had people comming over to see what I was reading. It is a real world perspective on the ridiculousness that is 21st century parents and the nightmare that these "speshul snowflakes" bring to the rest of us. As a childless woman in her 30's I find myself agreeing with this saucy southern mama. And laughing my hiney off


Strangling Your Husband Is Not an Option: A Practical Guide to Dramatically Improving Your Marriage
Review Date: 6/29/2016


This book is amazing for perspective on life in a marriage. I think the most important thing I learned that is covered is the placement of husband and wife at the top of family. Before anytji,g and anyone else. More than,kids more than jobs. This does have an LDS Mormon background. But is not preachy.


The Ultimate Book of the Horse and Rider
The Ultimate Book of the Horse and Rider
Author: Debby Sly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/29/2016


This book is amazing for anyone interested in the world of equine hobbies. Covers breeds, equipment, riding styles,health, history. Its great with charts, diagrams terms and is very fun for experienced as well as a fantastic book for a beginner in the world of horses


Whiteout (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Whiteout (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Ken Follett, Josephine Bailey (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I chose this story because I fell in love with Josephine Bailey as a narrator. I realized later I adored this CD story for 3 reasons 1) the narrator 2) Ken Fillet 3) Outbreak fiction.

As always Ken Follet doesn't disappoint its a great thriller with danger, mayhem, romance, a virus outbreak and mobsters. All in a HUGE old manor home in Rural Scotland. How can you go wrong? Plus a strong female lead? Its a great story.


Ya-Yas in Bloom (Ya Yas, Bk 3)
Ya-Yas in Bloom (Ya Yas, Bk 3)
Author: Rebecca Wells
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 384
Review Date: 6/29/2016


I actually didn't enjoy this book as much as the first Book. This may have hit too close to home but it was very angry and kind of depressing. I don't know if there is an autobiographical slant to her books but this book seemed personal. It's didn't flow smoothly and seemed a bit scattered. It was almost as if she was trying to weave a filament of her own life with the story and characters we met in the "Divine Secrets" book


1 to 11 of 11