Angela W. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Becoming Jane Austen
Becoming Jane Austen
Author: Jon Spence
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/12/2010


A quick Light read. Gave me a great weekend book. I would recommend to anyone that loves Jane Austen just for fun. Nothing too serious.


The Confession of Fitzwilliam Darcy
The Confession of Fitzwilliam Darcy
Author: Mary Street
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 9/7/2010


A small glimpse into the mind of Mr Darcy. I felt the author could have elaborated a bit more on what Mr. Darcy was doing between times in Elizabeth's presence.
Some of the writing could have been more to the point and with a little less confusing punctuation.
Overall a good jaunt back to the lives of the Darcy's and the Bennet's.
Certainly not even close to the worst sequel or companion book I have read.
I enjoyed it.


Mademoiselle Boleyn
Mademoiselle Boleyn
Author: Robin Maxwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 4/5/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Robin Maxwell delivers a most compelling story. I absolutely couldn't put this book down until I finished it. Although we all know how it ends, the time between is the draw. What must it have been like for Anne? Robin Maxwell paints a picture for us in this book. Her descriptive writing style leaves nothing out. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone (and I have ) who likes this period. I have read all of her books and she is a very perceptive writer. I would also recommend Seniora De Vinci, wonderful!! I emailed her from her web site as well to ask about a book, and she was very quick to respond and asked me to email her after I had read her book.


Mr. Darcy Presents His Bride: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice
Review Date: 9/3/2014


I liked the story, being a true P&P addict, but I felt the characters were not true to original.Lizzy was just plain mean a lot of the time! Mary was as well. Not in keeping with the way I think of the main characters at all.
The feel of the time period was good and the new characters added were useful and interesting.


Netherfield Park Revisited (Pemberley Chronicles, Bk 3)
Netherfield Park Revisited (Pemberley Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Rebecca Ann Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/20/2014


Fantastic book! The entire series is wonderful.
Well written and the characters are just what you want them to be!!
Must read for any Pride & Prejudice lover!!


North By Northanger, or The Shades of Pemberly (Mr and Mrs Darcy, Bk 3)
North By Northanger, or The Shades of Pemberly (Mr and Mrs Darcy, Bk 3)
Author: Carrie Bebris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A fun romp with my favorite characters. Mystery and intrigue as the Darcy's find themselves trying to clear their names. The characters stay true to Austen's vision and way of speaking. Truly just a fun novel.


Only Mr. Darcy Will Do
Only Mr. Darcy Will Do
Author: Kara Louise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/1/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Important to note that this book was previously published under the name :Something Like Regret"
A wonderful story and a new take on what happens between Elizabeth and Mr Darcy. Elizabeth's situation is much different and the story comes a little slower. That being said, I LOVED this book! No raunchy sex and that was quite refreshing! Told in the fashion of Ms. Austen herself. I would recommend this book to all the Janeites who are out there looking for a new good story.


Postscript from Pemberley: The acclaimed Pride and Prejudice sequel series The Pemberley Chronicles Book 7
Review Date: 6/13/2012


Rebecca Ann Collins brings such life to characters that Jane Austen only dreamed about. The ever increasing Darcy family.
Her writing style and way of describing things without being too wordy, is exactly the type that I can appreciate.
A wonderful addition to my ever growing Pride & Prejudice lovers library.


Pride and Prejudice
Pride and Prejudice
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/18/2009


The indomitable Jane Austen. Not much else need be said. Of course, this is the classic Love story. The innocence of Miss Austen seeps through every character. If only we could go back to those more innocent times our selves. This is not the first time I have read this book, nor will it be the last. Pride & Prejudice is the kind of book that you wear out, over and over again, in your lifetime. This is my 5th copy. If you've never read this book, I would absolutely suggest it. There is no greater love than That of Mr Darcy and his Elizabeth.
Jane Austen's characters are just wonderful, I see them in people even today. Her humor is perfectly matched with the more serious parts of her novels.


The Women of Pemberley (The Pemberley Chronicles)
The Women of Pemberley (The Pemberley Chronicles)
Author: Rebecca Ann Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/22/2012


I love all of Rebecca Anne Collins' books. The writing and content are superior. She takes the same style as Miss Austen and adds to the story we all love most.


1 to 10 of 10