Facebook

Joan D. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 1/9/2011


I thoroughly enjoyed this book!


By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept
By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept
Author: Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/9/2011


I liked his first book (the Alchemist) which is why I chose this one. But this was way to religious oriented for my taste.


Death Comes for the Archbishop
Death Comes for the Archbishop
Author: Willa Cather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 1/17/2012


Loved it! I live in NM and found the history very intriguing. Now reading a book from the Martinez Hacienda (in Taos) on the relationship between Lamy and the Padre. Lamy isn't very highly regarded in these parts!


The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1)
The Expected One (Magdalene Line, Bk 1)
Author: Kathleen McGowan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 12/10/2014


Yes I loved this book! I've ordered the second in the trilogy. I was constantly looking historical items up on my iPad to see what really happened and thrilled to learn more about Mary Magdlene and the separation of practice between Jesus and John the Baptist. I am not a religious person and have for a long time believed that religion has been used to gain something other than any kind of spiritual awareness. This book affirmed my feelings.


Me Talk Pretty One Day
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1916
Review Date: 9/27/2011


I wasn't fond of this book at all. It was recommended by someone in my bookgroup who thinks Sedaris is hilarious. I didn't find myself laughing much or make it all the way through the book.


Olive Kitteridge
Olive Kitteridge
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 895
Review Date: 1/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a somewhat depressing book but I'm glad I read it all the way through. Has some stellar writing.


The Sweet Potato Queens' Big-Ass Cookbook (and Financial Planner)
Review Date: 11/10/2014


This is not my kind of book. The other women in my book group enjoyed it so perhaps its because I'm from TX and the banter/humor is too close to home.


The Virgin's Lover
The Virgin's Lover
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 11/10/2014


I enjoyed The Queen's Fool (precedent to The Virgin's Lover) very much so thought that this would read in a similar manner. It didn't. I found the back and forth between Dudley and wife Amy to get old fast. And Elizabeth came across as mostly a kitty in his hand. The characters between the two books felt like different people with not much follow through in character development. Another friend read it and felt the same way but said to give The Other Boleyn Girl a try.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4745
Review Date: 1/9/2011


I loved this book!


Zen Confidential: Confessions of a Wayward Monk
Zen Confidential: Confessions of a Wayward Monk
Author: Shozan Jack Haubner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/2/2014


THis is not my kind of book. Although Jack's process is of interest, I didn't want to spend much time on reading about it. THis was for a book group.


1 to 10 of 10