Elke M. (maureenelke) - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 873
Review Date: 12/6/2010


Anne Patchett is a wonderful writer! This is the second book I have read by her and they just get better and better. Her scene and character development are excellent and she holds you in the plam of her hand until the last page. I would highly recommend The Magician's Assistant by her also.


Bombay Time
Bombay Time
Author: Thrity Umrigar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/11/2016


I love Thritty Umrigar's writing! Her novels are moving and intriguing. Bombay Time tells the stories of multiple families living in an apartment complex. Their lives are interspersed with live, tragedy, hurts, gossip, and caring. I would strongly recommend any of her books (I have read them all).


City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi
City of Djinns: A Year in Delhi
Author: William Dalrymple
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/26/2019


I enjoyed this book very much. The experiences in New Delhi matched very much my own, though I did gain some new insights.


Clock Dance
Clock Dance
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/17/2019


Started off a bit slow, but then as with most of Anne Tyler's books, really picked up and was an enjoyable read.


A Fatal Grace (Three Pines, Bk 2)
A Fatal Grace (Three Pines, Bk 2)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 7/28/2019


There were a number of twists to this story that kept me through to the end . Inspector Gamache is an extraordinary fellow.


The Godforsaken Daughter
The Godforsaken Daughter
Author: Christina McKenna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/14/2017


It took me a number of chapters to really get into this, but then I could hardly put it down. I loved the intertwining story of the daughter and the psychotherapist. It's a good read


The House at the End of Hope Street
The House at the End of Hope Street
Author: Menna van Praag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/12/2017


I thoroughly enjoyed this book though it did take me a couple of chapters to get into it. All of the main characters come with their specific baggage and are sided throughout the book by famous women hanging on the walls...it also has a lovely twist towards the end.


Nurejews Hund
Nurejews Hund
Author: Elke Heidenreich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/28/2011


This book was delightful! It is a short, fictional novel about Rudolf Nurejew's dog...where he found him (think Truman Capote!), what happened next, et cetera. Please note that the book is in German. I loved it.


Passeggiata: Strolling Through Italy
Passeggiata: Strolling Through Italy
Author: G. G. Husak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/15/2010


The book is well written, but I must say "too wordy" for my taste. The authors explain where they are and what they are doing; however, I found it to be too textbookish, rather than travel essay, which is what I was looking for in this book. It is well thought out and thorough and gives the reader an excellent glimpse of non-touristy places in Italy.


The Space Between Us
The Space Between Us
Author: Thrity Umrigar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 5/26/2011


This book about two very strong women is very moving and gives a lot of insight to those wielding power over others and those trying desperately to keep some control over their own lives. It also is a very good narrative if the relationship between master and servant in India - which is still mostly the case today. The book is very well written.


Welcome to Paradise
Welcome to Paradise
Author: Laurence Shames
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/8/2014


Laurence Shames is always a fun read and this book is no exception. Good for light summer reading.


Without Reservations: The Travels of an Independent Woman
Without Reservations: The Travels of an Independent Woman
Author: Alice Steinbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 10/15/2015


I loved this book. Steinbach details her journeys throughout the streets of each city she visits and you feel like you are there with her. Very enjoyable book. I would recommend highly for anyone that enjoys travel essays.


1 to 12 of 12