Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Julie - Reviews

21 to 40 of 83 - Page:
Dragonsong (Harper Hall, Bk 1)
Dragonsong (Harper Hall, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Mccaffrey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 11/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent Fantasy book and series for YA & Adults alike! I have read and reread this trilogy nearly every year for about 25 years! I've read it to my children and I plan to read it to my grandchildren.
Menolly is a true heroine for those that feel like they are out of skew with the world (i.e. Indigos, Idealists, etc.) which spends far to much energy focused on fighting over every last toy! Far better to learn to co-exist and allow the songs to well up inside you, creating a better world!
Read it...it's short and sweet and well-written!


Earthdance: Living Systems in Evolution
Earthdance: Living Systems in Evolution
Author: Elisabet Sahtouris, James E. Lovelock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/30/2019


I have the ebook version which is an update to the origianl (from my mom's library) Gaia: The Human Journey from Chaos to Cosmos.
Truly one of the most profound books of our century!

Elisabet dedicates her life to sharing a lifetime of research and collaborations in the scientific natural world (even this book is free online in an effort towards transparent information and education). Her writing is very clear storytelling about very complex interwoven systems...you'll recognize snippets of information barely touched on in school and find that you finally "get it!"

Yes, I'm a fangirl. If I could only keep 5 books, this would be one. I imagine a world where everyone had this knowledge to make decisions about how to live (notice that I accept those decisions may not be the same as mine).


Extreme Danger (McCloud, Bk 5)
Extreme Danger (McCloud, Bk 5)
Author: Shannon McKenna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 3/22/2010


I hate this book.
And I love this book.
I could do without all the horrific ugliness...the worst kinds of possible crimes. I normally wouldn't be interested in reading on this topic.
But I truly enjoyed the relationship... the hero & heroine. I'm not sure if the end was realistic...but who cares, right?
It is a romantic suspense, but it isn't much of a mystery...you pretty much know what's coming. So, if you can enjoy the relationship development, and ignore (let's hope not enjoy) the ick parts and don't expect too much...it's a good read.


Fanged & Fabulous (Immortality Bites, Bk 2)
Fanged & Fabulous (Immortality Bites, Bk 2)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 4/12/2009


I agree wholeheartedly with Angel. Sure it's a quick, brainless read. It doesn't suck. The writing quality would be about a C. The storyline would be about a C+. The supposed "heroine" leaves a lot to be desired. Okay, we have to remember she's just a baby in her 20's. Please, someone tell me I wasn't THAT stupid?! Hmmm...actually I think I do remember a few incidents. I could do without the reminder. So, all 20-something women: LOVE YOURSELF and stop letting other people manipulate you! And readers: do you really want to read something that reminds you how stupid you were in your twenties? I mean that with the greatest love and respect! Peace


Fireplaces and Wood Stoves
Fireplaces and Wood Stoves
Author: Time-Life Books
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/12/2008


Cover:
More Heating Efficiency from Wood
Building a Brick Fireplace and Chimney
No-Mess Cleaning to Curb Fire Hazards
Repairing Stoves, Flues and Dampers
Contents:
Improving Fireplaces and Stoves
Picking a Factory-Made Heater
A Fireplace of Brick and Mortar
The Care and Feeding of a Fire


Firmin
Firmin
Author: Sam Savage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/11/2009


Utterly boring, over-thought and over-wrote. After 40 pages, I skimmed...looking for anything of interest. I'd read a page...skip around...read another page, right to the end. It never got any better...probably worse. Ugh! If you just want to read bizarre reviews of old books and classics and a bizarre take on life/humanity, well, here you go. Not worth my time!


Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 1)
Full Moon Rising (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 1)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 646
Review Date: 4/18/2010


I too am going to review these first four books together.
Although I admit this series is well-written, and I have in fact read them...I cannot help but wonder why. Pretty much because they are sitting here and I want to swap them out. But I'm tempted to quit reading and just send them away, because they are so dark. I don't get books where the emphasis is on how ugly you can make it. The sex is ugly. The story is ugly. The people are for the most part ugly, with only occasional redemptions. And every book leaves me thinking, why did I put up with all that (insert more appropriate word here)ick?!
This is NOT a fantasy...nor a normal paranormal. This is a paranormal, horror, suspense. As the series progresses, it gets uglier. So if you don't like BDsm and women begging to be beat literally to death during demon sex...you've been warned.
I gave the book 3.5 stars simply because I respect and appreciate authors that can actually write! I'd probably give it an B+ if I was grading it (quite a few cliches and lots of repetition). But I sure didn't like it!


Fury of Fire (Dragonfury, Bk 1)
Fury of Fire (Dragonfury, Bk 1)
Author: Coreene Callahan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/13/2012


Great story idea (though not new or unique; typical 2 attitudes of dragonkind, saving & killing humans), but the writing...since the book is full of cliches and stupid quotes from commercials, I won't add one about what I think of this author's writing. You'll find lots of repetative angst. And jumps in the storyline, expecting you to catch up and make assumptions. So, too much detail on stupid stuff and not enough on the actual storyline. Too bad...and authors who write 400 pgs? You have to be an amazing writer to pull that off, and Coreene, honey? You could use some more lessons...and editing.
The one thing I did like? Very good tie-in to next couple of books based on characters interacting in this one. Of course, that does kinda give it all away...hmmm.


Get Lucky (Bounty Hunters, Bk 2)
Get Lucky (Bounty Hunters, Bk 2)
Author: Lorie O'Clare
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/29/2011


3 stars
Again I only read half the book. It WAS better than the first, significantly. But the fact that I couldn't get myself to finish it had to affect my rating, because I hate not finishing a book. I just simply found the whole "bad guys" gonna kidnap "players" for a war-game scenario extremely uninterestingly written. So, once they got kidnapped...and I was barely enjoying the story...I gave up. There is ZERO justification for dragging this story out an extra hundred pages. And that's what it came down to...I might have finished it if it was shorter (not because I don't like long books), but why drag myself through ANOTHER 200 pgs? Ugh! My emotional investment in the characters wasn't high enough.


Girl Underwater
Girl Underwater
Author: Claire Kells
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/28/2015


This read as a YA to me. The main character is immature, though lovable. The writing style was not enjoyable, my only real complaint, even though I understood the method for telling this story...it left too many gaps. And the "guilt" seemed completely contrived. Still, I couldn't put it down. And I liked these characters very much.


Goddess of Spring (Goddess Summoning, Bk 2)
Goddess of Spring (Goddess Summoning, Bk 2)
Author: P. C. Cast
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 6/30/2009


I'm already in heaven! Fabulous! I might be a little biased though...just a little. From the beginning I've been so intrigued by the wonderful characters. I could have just read the story of the baker, with no supernatural stuff at all...it was so wonderfully written. And I just adore fantasy, so the whole Olympus thing is really a treat. But what prompted me to jump up and start my review is the detail of the palace...and the gemstones! As I happen to be a gemstone artist...irresistable! Giggle! Okay, I have to get all the rest of this series now!
I'll write more when I've finished.


Goddess of the Sea (Goddess Summoning, Bk 1)
Goddess of the Sea (Goddess Summoning, Bk 1)
Author: P. C. Cast
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 7/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is my new FAVORITE series! It reminds me of all the wonderful fantasy I read 15+ years ago (before life had SO many responsibilities) by masterful authors like MZB and McCafferey! But not to worry, it isn't outdated or a replica...the storyline is unique AND it incorporates today's less modest attitude on ""steam""! I've been sucked into the paranormal genre for the modern romantic fantasy, but many times I find it simply too hard and harsh for my tastes. Cast gives you all the ""hot"" you need, but tempered with the tenderness and true love that I would enjoy. I tire of reading a story and enjoying a scene and then the supposed SEXy language pulls me right out of my reverie. You won't find that here. The emphasis is on a well developed storyline, not the sex. I am not easy to impress, and Cast really goes the extra distance! If you want a romantic FANTASY that doesn't disappoint, with magic galore, and very strong women, well, Goddesses...read this series! Note my emphasis...
I've already read the Goddess of Spring, which literally had me exclaiming out loud how good it was! I intend to have the whole series!
Keep putting in the cultural symbology I love so much, lady! Especially with the plants and stones!


The Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook
The Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook
Author: Zoe Coulson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first cookbook, given to me when I left home. I learned to make lots of things reasonably well from it, so I thought it would be a good one for my kid, too! There are many others I've collected, but this has a lot of basics and is one of the first places I look to get ideas. I rarely follow a recipe exact anymore, but I still can use it to get me going in the right direction!


HeartMate (Celta, Bk 1)
HeartMate (Celta, Bk 1)
Author: Robin D. Owens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 4/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Well I have to say I started out loving this book and wanting to keep it because I'm a long time fan of SciFi. The FAMiliars are hilarious and made me laugh out loud. Unfortunately, this book became extremely repetative and I got bored about half way through. I did finish it and did like it, but... Anyway, read on...the second book wasn't as funny but I enjoyed it all the way through and the characters overlap and progress, so you do need to read them in order!
It's a fascinating premise and I am a sucker for romance. I must also point out that Robin's idea of good sex is lots of emotion and quick release. I could have sworn the author was a guy...but apparently not! So, most of the romantic mushy stuff will leave you rather...well, wanting more. Poor ladies! The men of Celta have no staying power!


Homeopathic Medicine for Children and Infants
Homeopathic Medicine for Children and Infants
Author: Dana Ullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/7/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I have several books on (home) homeopathy, and while this one isn't in-depth for the practioner, it is perfect for parents. Information is easy to find, and there is enough detail without being overwhelming. I appreciate that she includes less common remedies, as well as the easy to find ones at health stores. In the last decade, this is the book I've turned to the most for guidance. I am now looking to take a further step into homeopathy, then just acute treatment...but for now, this one will stay on my shelf.


Hot Head (Head, Bk 1)
Hot Head (Head, Bk 1)
Author: Damon Suede
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/1/2014


Decided to throw in a different perspective. I didn't love it. Decent read, but I found the writing style awkward & hard to get into for quite some time. Actually felt frustrated enough to consider putting it down at the beginning.
What I thought was particularly well done was the homage to the uniforms who both survived & lost their lives during 9/11. Mr. Suede seems particularly adept at making things come alive, like the life of a NY fireman.
This is a love story. And it does have good sex scenes. But it is a story about 2 straight men, navigating their way into the gay lifestyle...about learning to accept who you love & deal with the consequences of choosing to be whole. There is a lot of resistance & denial (not uncommon, still awkward).
I hope I'm not totally out of line saying so, but the general attitudes about gay men seemed out-of-date...not obsolete (I'm aware there are still a lot of close minded & awful attitudes out there). I kept thinking I was reading a historical (maybe 70-80s) until I was reminded of the 21st century setting. Forgive me; I grew up in CA & have never been to NY...east coast has very different attitudes.
Finally, I found the drastic personality change of one of the main H to be disturbing!
So, yes...it's worth reading. For me 3.8* My favorite authors in this genre (which also write about straight crossover) are Marie Sexton & Tere Michaels.


The Hottie Next Door: Good Girls Don't / Drop Dead Sexy / Virgin Seeks Bad-Ass Boy
Review Date: 5/29/2010


The first story (Leigh) is decent, but I've read it before in another pub. The other two were too short to make a good story, relying on epilogues to try and make them more than a 1000 word sex scene. Very short reading!


How to Raise a Healthy Child in Spite of Your Doctor
How to Raise a Healthy Child in Spite of Your Doctor
Author: Robert S. Mendelsohn MD
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 4/17/2015


I read this upon becoming a new mother, more than a decade ago. Eventually I loaned out my copy, bought another copy & gave that away, and now have a new copy to keep on my shelf...and my child is nearly grown!
I can never thank Dr. Mendelsohn enough for helping me deal with the many issues that arose, in a calm & competant manner. Through the colic, scary high fevers, unrelenting diarrhea, gushing head wounds, broken fingers, allergies & worry, worry, worry...I had Dr. Mendelsohn & Susan Weed to provide me with the kind of support that mothers & grandmothers used to provide. The kind of support few of us were raised with or have available to us in modern society.
I've just picked up the book again...and surprise, still more useful information... Maybe I'll have to give this copy to my grown child & get another one!


The Icky Bug Counting Book
The Icky Bug Counting Book
Author: Jerry Pallotta, Ralph Masiello (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/5/2008


Both have fabulous life-sized art by Ralph Masiello.
They are highly teachable, emphasizing basic Entomology throughout, such as what is and is not a bug, lifecycles, habitats and food...with a few interesting fact thrown in.


The Journey to Wild Divine: The Companion Guide
The Journey to Wild Divine: The Companion Guide
Author: Corwin Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/5/2009


While it may serve as an interesting story, this book serves a real purpose. Journey to the Wild Divine is a computer enhanced meditation & bio-feedback program. We own it. It is incredibly beautiful and the activities range from the entertaining to the challenging...well worth the effort. The story is enchanting, and overall enjoyed by ages 8-80. I used it primarily to show my son how to change his breathing and pulse...so he would understand what meditation is and does to the body. I like that there are several breathing techniques taught, and while you may have trouble with one, you will probably find one suited to you, easier...that gives you encouragement to keep working on the others. You have to because you want to reach the conclusion! The music is wonderful, too! Unfortunately, it's painfully expensive, for a computer game...and felt far too short for the money spent.
The Companion Guide is just that. A book that you read while you 'play' this game. It is also written as a story, but I don't think it would be especially satisfying without the game. All references, all places traveled are in the game. And thus give some hint to what is expected, or can be gained from each place. It's well written and a wonderful addition to play; it deserves more than the 2.5 stars given by another reviewer... But it will not really make sense without the amazing place brought to life on screen.
Hope that helps!


21 to 40 of 83 - Page:
Want fewer ads?