Facebook
Skip to main content
PBS logo
 
 
Want fewer ads?

Karen C. - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
The Adventures of Augie March (Penguin Classics)
The Adventures of Augie March (Penguin Classics)
Author: Saul Bellow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/30/2006


We read this for bookclub and I didn't like it. For this particular book, Bellow needed an editor willing to make great use of cuts. In our discussions, the men preferred to writing and story to the women!


Coping with Chaos: Seven Simple Tools
Coping with Chaos: Seven Simple Tools
Author: Glenda H Eoyang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Signed copy


The Fencing Master
The Fencing Master
Author: Arturo Perez-Reverte, Margaret Jull Costa (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/30/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I enjoy most of Perez Reverte's work with Club Dumas and the Flanders Panel as favorites. This one with a 17th century Madrid setting, never grabbed me. Still, the writing is superb.


Gibbon's Decline and Fall
Gibbon's Decline and Fall
Author: Sheri S. Tepper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 6/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy Sheri Tepper's work. This one brings aspects of current religious fundamentalism to a pre 9/11 America.


Good Omens
Good Omens
Author: Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 601
Review Date: 6/30/2006


I had heard very good things about Gaiman and Pratchett. Parts of this book are very funny, but some how I never finished this one!


Kingdom of the Golden Dragon (Jaguar and Eagle, Bk 2)
Review Date: 6/30/2006


This was my first Allende book - and I discovered it's really a young adult book. I enjoyed the writing and story telling, and I recommend this book for an adventurous teenager.


Medusa (Venus Diamond, Bk 6)
Medusa (Venus Diamond, Bk 6)
Author: Skye Kathleen Moody
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/14/2007
Helpful Score: 2


It helps to have read others in the Venus Diamond series before this one.


New Fish Cookery
New Fish Cookery
Author: Ann Cornelisen
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/18/2012


Fabulous recipes by James Beard. Unfortunately PBSwap lists Ann Cornelisen as the author; Amazon does not. Must have for those who regularly cook fish.


The Preservationist
The Preservationist
Author: David Maine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A very different perspective of Noah, his family, and the ark than I had ever imagined. A very amusing read!


The Shape of Snakes
The Shape of Snakes
Author: Minette Walters
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/3/2006


Dark, deep look into wonderfully drawn characters.


Sleeping Beauty
Sleeping Beauty
Author: Phillip Margolin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/2/2006


quick read, good vacation material


Something Rotten (Thursday Next, Bk 4)
Something Rotten (Thursday Next, Bk 4)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Jasper Fforde has a great sense of humor and writes of an odd universe. It helps to know some Shakespeare. I laughed a lot while reading this book.


The Steerswoman (Steerswoman, Bk 1)
The Steerswoman (Steerswoman, Bk 1)
Author: Rosemary Kirstein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/30/2006


perhaps my favorite of the series - the initial book provides both the elements of science fiction/fantasy within a mystery.


1 to 13 of 13
Want fewer ads?