Facebook

Matthew O. (FreakZilla) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Beast
Beast
Author: A. E. Van Vogt
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/21/2005


I received this book when I requested "Beast" by Peter Benchley, I haven't read this book.


Conan and the Manhunters (Conan)
Conan and the Manhunters (Conan)
Author: John Maddox Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/1/2005


Not a bad story, but not as good as the original 12 Conan books. A typical fantasy adventure, certainly enjoyable.


Conan the Conqueror (Conan, Volume 9)
Conan the Conqueror (Conan, Volume 9)
Author: Robert E. Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/16/2005


I have yet to read this book. I'm on book 5 of the series, but I have 2 of copies of this one, so I figured I would share it. This series is GREAT so far, I rate the original Conan series head and shoulders above all the latest ones!! Book has water damage on the first 3 pages of the book(cover pages, not actual story pages)


Coral Kingdom (Forgotten Realms: Druidhome Trilogy, Bk 2)
Coral Kingdom (Forgotten Realms: Druidhome Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Douglas Niles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/29/2005


I love this series! This book continues on with one of the greatest series of books I've ever read! If you enjoy books with a lot of adventure and fighting, this book is for you!


Crown of Fire (Forgotten Realms:  Shandril's Saga, Book 2)
Crown of Fire (Forgotten Realms: Shandril's Saga, Book 2)
Author: Ed Greenwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/29/2005


I honeslty didn't read this book. I read the first in the series, Spellfire, and didn't really enjoy it, but don't let this scare you away, you might enjoy this book. It just wasn't for me!


Crypt of the Shadowking (Forgotten Realms: Harpers, Book 6)
Crypt of the Shadowking (Forgotten Realms: Harpers, Book 6)
Author: Mark Anthony
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/11/2005


This is a pretty good story of adventure. If you like The Harpers or Forgotten Realms, you will enjoy this book.


Darkblade: The Daemon's Curse (Warhammer)
Darkblade: The Daemon's Curse (Warhammer)
Author: Dan Abnett, Mike Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/19/2008


The good thing about this book is there is plenty of action. Malus kills a lot of elves and other things in this book. There isn't a slow part in the book.

The bad thing is it doesn't really go anywhere. Malus (main character) goes on a quest and I wasn't really certain why. At times I was wondering where this was going and getting bored, even though there is a lot of action. I can't say more without spoiling it but I will say the book redeems itself to the point that I will read the next one.

Overall, not a bad book but not as good as the reviews I read on Amazon.


Dirty Jokes and Beer : Stories of the Unrefined
Dirty Jokes and Beer : Stories of the Unrefined
Author: Drew Carey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 6/29/2005


This book is great for some laughs. I enjoyed the chapters about Drew's experiences on the set of his TV shows and the jokes he tells. Also in this book, Drew includes a few chapters of fiction he wrote. These chapters a decent stab at fiction writing, although they are not funny and are not meant to be. Overall, this book good!


Dissolution (Forgotten Realms: R.A. Salvatore's War of the Spider Queen, Book 1)
Review Date: 10/25/2005


Excellent book! Dissolution is filled with mystery and intrigue, as you would expect with Drow elves. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book!


The Druid Queen (Forgotten Realms: Druidhome Trilogy, Bk 3)
The Druid Queen (Forgotten Realms: Druidhome Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Douglas Niles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/25/2005


This is a great ending to a great trilogy! If you love a lot of action, you will love this book!


The End of Faith: Religion, Terror, and the Future of Reason
The End of Faith: Religion, Terror, and the Future of Reason
Author: Sam Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 4/27/2006
Helpful Score: 5


This book is excellent. It really points out all the stupidity and danger of religion.


Fair Ball : A Fan's Case for Baseball (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/25/2005


This is a good case for reinventing certain parts of MLB. The wildcard, payrolls, and other aspects of the game are re-tooled by Costas. Being a Yankees fan, I don't much care if the other teams make money or not, but I do love the game and don't want to see the other teams fans suffer living through their team going out of business. If you are a fan of baseball, pick this up!


Fatalis
Fatalis
Author: Jeff Rovin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/10/2006


Great action novel. Graphic at times, but that's a good thing:) If you enjoy books like Meg, White Shark, etc. you will love this book.


Inheritance (Von Carstein Trilogy)
Inheritance (Von Carstein Trilogy)
Author: Steven Savile
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great book with lots of fighting. I felt that this book moved quickly without any boring parts. Very enjoyable.


Kull: The Fabulous Warrior King
Kull: The Fabulous Warrior King
Author: Robert E. Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/19/2006


Kull is a great character. This book is similar to other Rober E. Howard books about Conan and Cormac Mac Art. Any fan of Conan, Cormac Mac Art, and Bran Mak Morn will enjoy this book.


Legend (Drenai Tales, Book 1)
Legend (Drenai Tales, Book 1)
Author: David Gemmell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 9/12/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This book is excellent! It was a great story, with great characters that you really care about. The war scenes in it a top notch and fast moving. There is only one tiny problem, the character, Rek, seems to go from loveable loser to hero very fast. Other than that this book is GREAT!


Omerta
Omerta
Author: Mario Puzo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 7/1/2005


This is a great book if you are a fan of The Godfather or The Last Don. It is along the same line as those books, but not a copy of them. Exciting, quick read. Highly recommemded!!


The Orc King (Transitions, Bk 1)
The Orc King (Transitions, Bk 1)
Author: R. A. Salvatore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/1/2008


Another hit for Salvatore! This book continues on with the Mithral Hall/Obould conflict and it is great every step of the way! There is the usual great action scenes and some new interesting plot developments. The characters make this book what it is and they are amazing. I can't wait for the rest of this series.


Pay without Performance : The Unfulfilled Promise of Executive Compensation,
Review Date: 5/24/2006


I didn't read all of this book, it was for school. What I did read was decent. It really opens your eyes to what these people are getting paid for doing so little really. It'll make you jealous :)


Primeval: Shadow of the Jaguar (Primeval)
Primeval: Shadow of the Jaguar (Primeval)
Author: Steven Savile
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/31/2008


Steven Savile is a great writer and he continues to entertain with this book. He gets the relationships from the show right and nails the mannerisms of the main characters. The gang faces a human enemy as well as a prehistoric menace and the book is packed with action. If you have not seen the show you will miss some things but it is readable and you won't be lost. I really enjoyed this book!


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: