Facebook

Matthew O. (FreakZilla) - Reviews

21 to 29 of 29 - Page:
Quick Strike  (Special Ops)
Quick Strike (Special Ops)
Author: Mike Murray
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/7/2008


I read this book because of my addiction to the video game Call of Duty 4, it's a great military action adventure. What I liked was the use of real events and real threats, it made the story a little more realistic. I only have one complaint and it's about the ending. I don't want to spoil anything so I won't go into it. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Good read!


The Rising (The Rising, Bk 1)
The Rising (The Rising, Bk 1)
Author: Brian Keene
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 11/14/2005
Helpful Score: 4


Very interesting twist on the whole zombie idea. This book is similar and different than movies like Dawn of the Dead or Night of the Living Dead. The zombies aren't just mindless killing machines, it makes for a good read. There is a lot of gore in it as well, if that's your thing:)


The Scorpion (Legend of the Five Rings:  Clan War, First Scroll)
The Scorpion (Legend of the Five Rings: Clan War, First Scroll)
Author: Stephen D. Sullivan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/7/2007


Great start to a series. I loved how this story moved along. There is plenty of fighting to be had in this book too, always a good thing!


Slaine: The Exile (The Lay of Slaine Mac Roth)
Slaine: The Exile (The Lay of Slaine Mac Roth)
Author: Steven Savile
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/14/2007


At times it seems like this book is trying to be a Conan book, only not as good. It has it's moments when it is a fun read, but sometimes it drags on. One issue is that you don't get a map or detailed summary of the area in which everything is happening. It doesn't really take away from the story, but it would be nice. There are also parts in the book that don't advance the story or add up to anything at all. Aside from those low points, it's a decent read. 3 stars.


The Stone King (Justice League of America: Batman)
The Stone King (Justice League of America: Batman)
Author: Alan Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/14/2007


This wasn't the best Batman book I ever read but it was good. It should be called Batman and Martian Manhunter because he's in it just as much as batman, not that it's a bad thing. All in all, a good book with lots of action.


Tyrannosaur Canyon (Wyman Ford, Bk 1)
Tyrannosaur Canyon (Wyman Ford, Bk 1)
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 11/7/2006


This is a good book, but not great. I was expecting a little more excitement and suspense but it just didn't deliver. I've never read a book by Preston before so I can't say if it is better or worse than any others. Overall, it was enjoyable though.


When Corporations Rule the World
When Corporations Rule the World
Author: David C. Korten, David Korten
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/18/2006


Very bleak look at the corporate world. Globalization has it's ups and downs, as do most things, but Korten really makes you feel as if the world is dire straits. Interesting book, too bad most of the world doesn't care about changing because some Kortens ideas are reasonable and could really help people all over the world....


White Shark
White Shark
Author: Peter Benchley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 9/22/2005
Helpful Score: 2


White Shark is an EXCELLENT book! I like to read shark attack books, but this is different. There is much more to this book then just a shark eating people. Great, fast paced story and characters that you really care about. This monster is CRAZY, I've never read about anything like it!


Wiseguy
Wiseguy
Author: Nicholas Pileggi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 6/29/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This book would have been better if I hadn't watch GoodFellas on an (almost) daily basis for 3 years. It's exactly like the movie. I suggest this book for those who love Goodfellas and those who just love true crime and mafia books.


21 to 29 of 29 - Page: