Susan S. (carroll) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
After You'd Gone
After You'd Gone
Author: Maggie O'Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/13/2011


Maggie O'Farrell is a beautiful writer. The story was intriguing, and original. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.


All the King's Men
All the King's Men
Author: Robert Penn Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2019


Beautifully written story about the lives of people who use their power to attain their goals at any cost and how others are affected.


Apologizing to Dogs (Thorndike Press Large Print Americana Series)
Apologizing to Dogs (Thorndike Press Large Print Americana Series)
Author: Joe Coomer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/13/2009


I am a Joe Coomer fan because I love his characters and settings. This didn't let me down. It's a great story with people I enjoyed reading about.


Call It Sleep
Call It Sleep
Author: Henry Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was an interesting and rather sad story about a family struggling with many problems and issues, that could apply to many families, not only immigrants. It was often difficult to read because of the dialect (English pronunciations, not Yiddish) which the author captured, but made reading slow. The book was too long.


A Fine Balance
A Fine Balance
Author: Rohinton Mistry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 327
Review Date: 5/26/2012


This was a beautifully written book, but very difficult for me to read because of the gruesome details of the lives of the characters, and life in India at that time.


Hotel World
Hotel World
Author: Ali Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/27/2011


This was a very strange book. As it progressed it became more interesting, but I don't think it wove the stories or characters together very well.


Idyll Banter : Weekly Excursions to a Very Small Town
Idyll Banter : Weekly Excursions to a Very Small Town
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/9/2014


I have enjoyed Chris Bohjalian's novels and so was interested in reading this journal. Some of the stories were more interesting and enjoyable than others, but all in all I liked it.


In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 817
Review Date: 11/25/2014


I don't read a lot of mysteries, but liked this one because of the characters and the story, which kept my interest, and not a lot of graphic descriptions.


Nuns and Soldiers
Nuns and Soldiers
Author: Iris Murdoch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/3/2011


Beautifully written, but too long, and her characters often don't seem real or easy to relate to.


Payment in Blood  (Inspector Lynley, Bk 2)
Payment in Blood (Inspector Lynley, Bk 2)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 6/10/2011


I don't read many mysteries, but Elizabeth George is my favorite mystery writer, and this book didn't disappoint me. It held my interest to the very end. And her characters are very well developed, which is unusual for mystery writers, in my experience.


Pigs Can't Fly!
Pigs Can't Fly!
Author: Ben Cort
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/29/2012


I gave this book to my 3-year old granddaughter, and she loved it.


The Postmistress
The Postmistress
Author: Sarah Blake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 7/19/2012


I thoroughly enjoyed this book right up to the end, which I thought was weak. Still, I learned a lot about the times and people faced with the realities of war, even it they weren't directly involved.


Raising Hope
Raising Hope
Author: Katie Willard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/9/2016


It was a good summer read and I came to enjoy the characters more as the story progressed.


The River King
The River King
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 12/29/2011


I was somewhat disappointed in this book, particularly many of the characters who seemed very stereotypical. But it was aa pretty good read.


Secret Daughter
Secret Daughter
Author: Shilpi Somaya Gowda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A well told story that gives insight into the experiences of people whose lives are very different, even though they live in the same country.


Still Alice
Still Alice
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 9/26/2016


This is a wonderful book. While it tells a sad story, it does so with great honesty and clarity, so that I could sympathize with her and all that she was losing, without getting caught up in too much emotion. It really described her journey in a way that made it so understandable.


The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
Author: David Wroblewski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 7/14/2012


I loved this book. It's beautifully written and a great story. Very few books hold my attention like this one.


A Suitable Vengeance (Inspector Lynley, Bk 4)
A Suitable Vengeance (Inspector Lynley, Bk 4)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 8/5/2012


I'm not a big mystery reader, but I do enjoy Elizabeth George because of her characters. Her stories are about people, not just murders. This was no exception.


We'll Always Have Paris: Stories
We'll Always Have Paris: Stories
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Fun and original stories. The first time I've read Ray Bradbury and I enjoyed his creativity.


You Can't Go Home Again
You Can't Go Home Again
Author: Thomas Wolfe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/24/2010


I read several Thomas Wolfe books many years ago and loved his writing. After many years I was happy to realize that I still love his writing. He is verbose, but his writing is so beautiful that I love to read it. His descriptions of people and places capture their essence. I highly recommend this book.


1 to 20 of 20