Facebook

LindseyfromBFCG - Reviews

1 to 20 of 118 - Page:
All for a Story
All for a Story
Author: Allison Pittman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/22/2015


About this book:

"Monica Brisbane loves being a modern girl in the Roaring Twenties. Her job writing a gossip column allows her access to all the local speakeasys in Washington, D.C., where she can dance the night away--and find fodder for her next article. But when the owner of the "Capitol Chatter" newspaper passes away, Monica wonders what will happen to her job, and the lifestyle she loves.Max Moore may hold the title of editor-in-chief for evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson's paper, "The Bridal Call," but Aimee calls all the shots. So when Max learns that his uncle has passed away, leaving him all his earthly possessions, Max resigns and heads to D.C. Determined to take over the "Capitol Chatter," infuse it with his values, and turn it into a respectable paper, Max is soon bumping up against the equally determined Monica Brisbane.Under Max's direction, Monica embarks on her most challenging assignment yet: infiltrating and reporting on the Anti-Flirt Society. Though reluctant at first, as Monica meets and mingles with the young women of the club, she begins to question the innocence of her flirtatious lifestyle. And when romance begins to blossom between Max and Monica, she must choose where her loyalties lie: with the young women of the society or the alluring pull of the speakeasy and its inhabitants."


Series: "All for" book #2. { I have not read book #1 "All for a Song" }


Spiritual Content- Proverbs 15:22, Philippians 4:8 and other Scriptures are quoted; Prayers are said; Max has a Faith and witnesses to Monica *spoiler* and near the end Monica wants to "come clean" and become a Christian. *end of spoiler*


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a screw' and two swanky's; Lots of drinking & smoking.


Sexual Content- Minor (sexual) cussing including: one floozy'; Flirting, lots of flirting *spoiler* after meeting with the Anti-Flirt club and couple of times, Monica tries not to flirt. *end of spoiler*; A couple of sayings: Tony says "Nothing but s*x, s*x, s*x" when talking about flirting, and Zelda says "Not like you modern girls, flaunting yourselves with your smoking and your s*x"; One very detailed kiss; Monica dates a married man and tries to break-up with him mid-way through the book, much to his ire.


-Monica Bisbaine
-Max Moore
P.O.V. switches between them.
355 pages
Set in 1923

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre & New Teens- One star
Older High School Teens- Three Stars
My personal Rating- Three Stars

"All for a Story" would have gotten a much lower rating from me if it had ended differently. ;) While best for older teens (because of the flirting, smoking and going to clubs) I enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the first book "All for a Song" and the third book "All for a Sister" coming out later this year.




*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Publisher for this review.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


An Amish Cradle
An Amish Cradle
Author: Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston, Kathleen Fuller, Vannetta Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/12/2015


About this book:

Tiny fingers,
Tiny toes,
And lives that will never be the same.
Journey with four families as their lives are about to change forever.

Series: Thomas Nelson has published quite a few novella collections with the title An Amish ______ (Love, Kitchen, Wedding, Christmas, Garden, Miracle, Cradle) This was my first time reading one.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
In His Fathers Arms by Beth Wiseman

About this book:

Ruth Anne has been dreaming about motherhood her entire life. Now she is doubly excited that she and her best friend are due with their children the same week. But when Ruth Annes baby is born with Down syndrome, she and her husband struggle to understand Gods plan.

Spiritual Content- Prayers; Talks about & mentions of God choosing special people & being Blessed; Talking to the Bishop; Hs are capital when referring to God; Levi is angry at God.

Negative Content- N/A

Sexual Content- Married couples kiss; Wanting to touch (barely-above-not-detailed); Babies are born (detailed wise is barely-above-not-detailed but the emotions are semi-detailed); Mentions of nursing; Levi walks out of the bathroom naked (not-detailed); Mentions of abortions.

-Ruth Anne
-Levi
switches between them.
96 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- Two Stars
Early High School Teens- Three Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Four Stars

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
A Son for Always by Amy Clipston

About this book:

Carolyn and Joshua are thrilled to be pregnant with their first child together. Carolyn was just a teenager when she had her son, Benjamin, and she still feels solely responsible to secure his future. As Joshua watches Carolyn struggle to accept his support, he knows he has to find some way to convince her that she and Ben will always be taken care of.

Spiritual Content- Prayers; A Scriptures is quoted; Talks about God being in control & being forgiven; Hs are capital when referring to God.

Negative Content- N/A

Sexual Content- Married couples kiss; A baby is born (not-detailed); Mentions of nursing; Carolyn had Ben when she was 16 (all thats said is She had given in to the pressures of her then boyfriend and found herself pregnant and alone.)

-Carolyn Glick
-Joshua Glick

switches between them
96 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- Two Stars
Early High School Teens- Three Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Four Stars

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
A Heart Full of Love by Kathleen Fuller

About this book:

Ellies mother hasnt stopped meddling in her personal life since Ellie lost her sight and she s taken it up a notch now that Ellie s pregnant. When Ellie gives birth to twins, her mother insists on moving in to care for them. But when her mother s behavior becomes unbearable, Ellie is forced to take a stand . . . and finally find out why Mamm cant let go.

Spiritual Content- Prayers; Mentions of God & trusting Him; Hs are capital when referring to God.

Negative Content- Minor cussing including: two stupids.

Sexual Content- Married couples kiss; Mentions of nursing.

-Ellie Miller
-Edna Chupp
switches between them, Sarah Lynn & Chris
96 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Two Stars (and a half)
Older High School Teens- Three Stars (and a half)
My personal Rating- Three Stars

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
An Unexpected Blessing by Vannetta Chapman

About this book:

At 42, Etta thought she was finished having children, but she s pregnant again. After a frightening labor, Etta finally gives birth, but her constant worry over her estranged grown son, David, haunts her still. As a new mother again, Etta must hold tightly to the promise that God will watch over her children and that one day David will return.

Spiritual Content- Psalm 126:3 at the beginning & quoted in the story as well; Prayers; Talks about God & His Will; Hs are capital when referring to God; A mention of Abraham & Sarah; Discussions about the Amish & Mennonite beliefs.

Negative Content- N/A

Sexual Content- Married couples kiss; A mention of a monthly cycle; Mentions of menopause; Mentions of a stillborn; A baby is born (with a looped cord & cutting the cord, barely-above-not-detailed to semi-detailed); Mentions of nursing.

-Etta Bontrager, age 42
-Mose Bontrager, age 45
switches between them
96 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Two Stars (and a half)
Older High School Teens- Three Stars (and a half)
My personal Rating- Three Stars

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Two Stars (and a half)
Older High School Teens- Three Stars (and a half)
My personal Rating- Three Stars (and a half)
A total of 400 pages (with recipes!), An Amish Cradle is a pretty super-clean read. Lets break down my thoughts on each novella.

In His Fathers Arms by Beth Wiseman As someone who has a heart for kids with special needs and a future Occupational Therapist, I did enjoy this novella. Tied for first

A Son for Always by Amy Clipston Yay! I get to see Carolyn & Joshua & Ben again! Connected to A Mothers Secret a full length story, it was nice to see them if I cant relate to the storyline.

A Heart Full of Love by Kathleen Fuller While reading this novella, I got the feeling that I was missing something! Turns out its connected to a novella in the An Amish Love collection.

An Unexpected Blessing by Vannetta Chapman Now this I got the same feeling from it but I cant find that its connected to any other novellas/novels. Hmm!

*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from an Author for this review.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


Andi Under Pressure (Andi Boggs, Bk 2)
Andi Under Pressure (Andi Boggs, Bk 2)
Author: Amanda Flower
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"Twelve-year-old Andora "Andi" Boggs and her new best friend Colin Carter couldn't be more excited to attend the prestigious science camp at the local university in Killdeer, Ohio. Unfortunately, Discovery Camp's curriculum appears to include much more than just chemistry and biology. From day one, the university is plagued by a series of pranks---missing markers, loose crickets, and stolen scales. Campus security blames the mysterious janitor Polk, but even though Andi agrees he's acting suspicious, she can't believe the gentle old man would do anything illegal. Then one prank goes too far and their chemistry professor is injured by an explosion in the lab, upping the stakes of the investigation. Andi and Colin must unravel the secrets behind the chemistry department and Polk's dark past before danger closes the camp for good."


Series: Book #2 in the "Andi Boggs" series. {Books #1, "Andi Unexpected", review Here! Book #3, "Andi Undaunted" will be coming out next fall.}


Spiritual Content- There actually was no Spiritual Content at all.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a dumb', a screw', a sheesh', a shoddy', a shush', a shut up'; Andi is called a suck-up'; a mention of meth labs; Framing & Stealing; The professor gets hurt but it's barely above not-detailed; Andi & Ava don't get along; A man was killed 40 years ago in an explosion (not-detailed). *Note: Aunt Amelie does yoga.


Sexual Content- Bethany says that Andi likes Colin (but Andi comes back with that they're just friends, which they are); Bethany later calls them Boyfriend & Girlfriend (which they aren't)

-Andora "Andi" Boggs, age 12
First person P.O.V. of Andi
174 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- Three Stars
New Teens- Four Stars
Early High School Teens- Four Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Three Stars (and a half)
{Lowered for lack of Spiritual Content}

There were many parts where I was laughing so hard! But, once I finished the book I looked at my Spiritual Content section--empty. That's why "Andi Under Pressure" didn't get five stars, though it was a good book. I hope the next book in the "Andi Boggs" series has Andi's Faith growing.





*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Publisher (Zonderkidz) (through BookLookBloggers) for this review.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


Andi Unexpected (Andi Boggs, Bk 1)
Andi Unexpected (Andi Boggs, Bk 1)
Author: Amanda Flower
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"After the sudden death of their parents in the jungles of Central America, twelve-year-old science geek Andora "Andi" Boggs and her diva teenaged sister, Bethany, move to rural Killdeer, Ohio to live with their eccentric twenty-something aunt. And while the timeworn house has been home to the Boggs family for generations, Andi feels far from at home. Exploring the attic in her grief, she discovers proof of another Andora Boggs in the family tree hidden in a Depression-era trunk. Despite the meddling of the citizens of Killdeer, Andi and her new friend, Colin Carter, are determined to find out who this first Andora was, how she vanished, and why no one in town wants to talk about her. As more and more unanswered questions pile up, Andi and Colin must decide who they can trust with their secrets and who is interested in Andora's story for the wrong reasons."


Series: Book #1 in the "Andi Boggs" series. {Books #2, "Andi Under Pressure", will be reviewed next week!}


Spiritual Content- Mrs. Cragmeyer says "it was the Christian thing to do" when being thanked for taking care of Bethany & Andi a few months; Andi says that they (Andi, Bethany and their parents) but after their parents died they (Andi & Bethany) stopped going; Church going; Andi says she gave up Praying the day her parents died.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a shush', a Duh!', two crummy's, three stupid's, and a swear is said but not written; Andi mentions that her dad said that in Central America, lighting "there could skin a cat.."; Bethany snaps at Andi (she's having a really hard time); A character lies and tricks another man; *Note: Brand names are mentioned: Juicy, Lucky Jeans, and Ab*ercrombie (Bethany wears them all). Girl Scout cookies are also served. Aunt Amelie does yoga.


Sexual Content- Bethany has a crush on Zane (who Andi says is a class-A jerk & only noticed Bethany after their parents died); Bergita tells Andi that Colin had a good time yesterday (cleaning the attic) but then says that maybe it was the company and winks at Andi; Bethany calls Andi & Colin boyfriend & girlfriend once (they aren't and there isn't any hints of that between them)

-Andora "Andi" Boggs, age 12
First person P.O.V. of Andi
215 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- Three Stars
New Teens- Four Stars
Early High School Teens- Four Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Four Stars

{Lowered ratings because of Andi's not-growing Faith & Sister meanness. :( }

This was a fun and really cute story. It had humor & an interesting historical mystery! The grief between Bethany, 13, and Andi, 12, can be a little harsh because Bethany snaps at Andi. On page 65, the town name of Killdeer, Ohio is explained. This past spring, at my family's little country Church, I saw a Killdeer (a type of bird) nest. Colin explains it well: "Killdeers live in fields and protect their young at all cost. Their nests are in the high grass. To keep predators away from their eggs or chicks, they will pretend to have a broken wing to make the predators chase them instead." Pretty neat, huh? In "Andi Unexpected" there's a lot of history (for a modern book) and Colin. Colin? Andi describes him best: "I blinked at Colin. He was like a walking Wiki site." Hahaha! It's true though! ;)



*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


The Apothecary's Daughter (Superior Collection)
The Apothecary's Daughter (Superior Collection)
Author: Julie Klassen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"Lilly Haswell Remembers Everything --- Whether She Wants To, Or Not ...
As Lilly toils in her father's apothecary shop, preparing herbs and remedies by rote, she is haunted by memories of her mother's disappearance. Villagers whisper the tale, but her father refuses to discuss it. All the while, she dreams of the world beyond --- of travel and adventure and romance.
When a relative offers to host her in London, Lilly discovers the pleasures and pitfalls of fashionable society and suitors, as well as clues about her mother. But will Lilly find what she is searching for --- the truth of the past and a love for the future?"


Series: As of now, no.


Spiritual Content- Prayers; Church going; A couple talks about God & praying; Lilly grows in her Faith by the end of the book.
*Note: five "h*llish"s.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a idiot', a stupid' and four dash it's; Curses are said but not written; Mentions of drinking; Leeches (Ewww! Borderline semi-detailed to detailed) and Bleeding a person (barely-above-not-detailed).


Sexual Content- Three semi-detailed kisses; A urge to kiss someone; Noticing eyes & lips; Suitors & that drama; Dancing (the feelings, semi-detailed); It's mentioned the Lilly's mother left them for a man; a jerk tries to kiss Lilly (but nothing happens); Christina wears a dress revealing cleavage (she's trying a new scheme to get her beau to propose); a mention that a married man has a string of mistresses; a baby was born out of wedlock; Love, wanting to fall in love, and the emotions.

-Lillian Grace "Lilly" Haswell

P.O.V. of Lilly, Francis (starting at chapter 23 & on) and Dr. Graves (starting at chapter 31 & on).
Set in 1810-1815 (Prologue set in 1810, then Chapter one starts at 1813.)
411 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Two Stars
Older High School Teens- Three Stars
My personal Rating- Three Stars

Was this a bad book? No, but it did have parts I didn't like. With a few I did like sprinkled in. I cringed at the idea on putting leeches on someone--I'm so glad we don't do that anymore! Some things I didn't like (besides the Negative & Sexual content) was the drawn out choosing of a husband...it took about half the book!



*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


Auralia's Colors (Auralia Thread, Bk 1)
Auralia's Colors (Auralia Thread, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffrey Overstreet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/5/2015


I'm lost. I'm so lost.
Fantasy is a hard genre to write. Not many authors can succeed in writing it. To write it you have to be crazy detailed--because what the author is creating is just that! Some they're creating. I'm not in your head! I can't picture what you think! Sadly, I don't think this author succeed in sharing.

I'd like to start off with that I saw/read no Christian content at all. There was the whole "Keeper" creature which at first could pass as God but by the end you know it as a odd creature with different elements that equal a monster. But then you don't even know if "the Keeper" or the "Northchildren" are real.
Who reading this was confused by that paragraph? Yeah, it didn't make sense in the book either.

Here's the overview on the writing style: Choppy; typos; told in the weirdest form of narration I've ever read (the author was trying to be whimsical, it sure didn't come across that way, following every character you meet. Or haven't. Doesn't matter.); storyline was confusing; thought a person was dead? Oh, jk, nah, he's alive and kicking; names NOBODY can pronounce (where is that guide! Lisa T. Bergren was nice enough to include a pronunciation guide in her fantasy/Dystopia! I swear, this author made up these names! For everything! I still don't know what a "vawn" is. (The author didn't share what was in his mind!)

The fighting, killing, torturing, fires and blood all went up to detailed. Lots of drinking (and it was looked upon as a great thing to do). For the Minor cussing there was: a 'bloody', two 'stupid's, two forms of 'shut up', three 'dumb's and six 'blasted's. Curses were also said but not written. Oh, and "ballyworms" was said four times (which I have absolutely no clue what is means, just that it was said like a curse. And that my spell-check has a red line under it.)

For the sexual content there was quite a lot of sexual hints. Like when a thieve stole another man's wife, touched, kissed and "cuddled" with her to have her wake up beside him wearing less clothes. There also was the Queen who basically tried to seduce two of her husband's (the King's) men into helping her remove the colors from the land. (I don't know, don't ask me, I'm ready to throw this book.)

Oh, don't even get me started on the magic and the colors and healing powers of said colors that only Auralia can weave. (Yes, spell-check, I know "Auralia" isn't a word. Just like all the other names this author has in his book.)

So. Moral of this review? I'm still so confused about what I just read and am currently feeling crazy.



*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


The Beautiful Pretender: A Medieval Fairy Tale
The Beautiful Pretender: A Medieval Fairy Tale
Author: Melanie Dickerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/12/2017


**This is a Books for Christian Girls content review for girls ages 9-19. The Spiritual, Negative, & Sexual Content from this book are honestly listed below. Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.**

About this book:

âAfter inheriting his title from his brother, the margrave has two weeks to find a noble bride. What will happen when he learns he has fallen for a lovely servant girl in disguise?
The Margrave of Thornbeck has to find a bride, fast. He invites ten noble born ladies who meet the king's approval to be his guests at Thornbeck Castle for two weeks, a time to test these ladies and reveal their true character.
Avelina has only two instructions: keep her true identity a secret and make sure the margrave doesn't select her as his bride. Since the latter seems unlikely, she concentrates on not getting caught. No one must know she is merely a maidservant, sent by the Earl of Plimmwald to stand in for his daughter, Dorothea.
Despite Avelina's best attempts at diverting attention from herself, the margrave has taken notice. And try as she might, she can't deny her own growing feelings. But something else is afoot in the castle. Something sinister that could have far worseâfar deadlierâconsequencesâ


Series: Book #2 in the âMedieval Fairy Tale Romanceâ series or also known as the âThornbeckâ series. (Review of Book #1 Here!)


Spiritual Content- Many, many prayers; Talks about God, faiths & chapels; âH's are capital when referring to God; Many mentions of God; Many mentions of prayers; Many mentions of chapels; Mentions of those in the Bible; Mentions of sins & judging; Mentions of Jews; A few mentions of Bible reading; A couple mentions of Heaven;
*Note: A mention of d*mning information.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: four forms of âstupid'; A couple mentions of curses (said, not written); A bit of sarcasm; Wolf attacks (along with killing wolves), blood, pain, injuries & wounds (lots of all, semi-detailed); Almost dying & being killed (semi-detailed); Nightmares (up to semi-detailed); Hitting & wanting to hit someone; Many, many, many mentions of deaths, murders, killing, fires, threats & executions (up to semi-detailed); Many, many, many mentions of rumors & gossip (including that Reinhart killed his brother, which he didn't); Many mentions of pain & injuries; Many mentions of wolves, their kill & shooting them (up to semi-detailed); Many mentions of hunting & killing animals; Many mentions of drunks, strong drinks, drinking & wine; Mentions of battles, fighting & killing; Mentions of the pillory, being beaten & shamed; A few mentions of a poacher (Book #1); A few mentions of horse manure & the smell; A couple mentions of self-harming & suicide; A mention of a woman falling to her death; A mention of breaking someone's limbs; A mention of a threat of cutting someone's tongue out; A mention of rat droppings.


Sexual Content- a hand kiss, two cheek kisses, two hair kisses, two barely-above-not-detailed kisses, four semi-detailed kisses; Remembering kisses (barely-above-not-detailed); Lots of Touches, Embraces, Warmth & Nearness (semi-detailed); Attraction & Butterflies; Noticing & Smelling; Wanting to be kissed & loved; Wanting to kiss, touch & embrace; Wanting someone; Dorothea had trysts with a knight & is now with child (and many, many, many mentions of that and rumors); Many, many, many mentions of lovers & mistresses; Many mentions of Reinhart's brother, his brother's lover & their unborn child; Mentions of bare ankles & a man's bare chest (along with trying not to stare, up to semi-detailed); Mentions of flirting & jealousy; Mentions of wooing & loving a woman; Mentions of kissing & kisses; Mentions of Reinhart's parents' unhappy marriage (they hated each other, both had lovers & those facts make Reinhart wonder how he and his brother came out of that marriage); A few mentions of unfaithful spouses; A few mentions of temptations; A couple mentions of men who impregnated different women; A couple mentions of a maidservant & her lover being alone together at night and having a good time; A mention of a 15year old boy taking advantage of any girl that would let him; A mention of molestation; A mention of a newly married couple going to their bedroom; Love, falling in love & the emotions.

-Avelina Klein, age 20
-Reinhart Stolten
P.O.V. switches between them
Set in 1363 {Medieval}
307 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Three Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Four Stars
A retelling mix of The Princess and the Pea and the Beauty and the Beast, Melanie Dickerson brings us back to Thornbeck and we get to learn the mystery behind the Margrave's past. While âThe Beautiful Pretenderâ can be a stand-alone, it will be enjoyed much more if âThe Huntress of Thornbeck Forestâ is read prior to reading this one. Odette and Jorgen are still in this one, which I was so excited to see! This novel got kind of kissy near the end, but I did like all the prayers. I really liked Avelina (that name is fabulous!) and her personality. Reinhart (again, fun name!) was a good hero for this story and I found it very touching how protective he was near the end.
Overall, this was another great Melanie Dickerson book and I can't wait to learn more about the next book in this series! :)


*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Publisher (Thomas Nelson) for this honest review.


Becoming Bea (Courtships of Lancaster County, Bk 4)
Becoming Bea (Courtships of Lancaster County, Bk 4)
Author: Leslie Gould
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"Can Bea and Ben Turn Rivalry Into Romance?
Beatrice Zook knows God wants her to learn patience toward others. When assisting a family overwhelmed by triplets proves surprisingly successful, her confidence in dealing with others, both young and old, grows.
One person she'll never be able to find peace with though is Ben Rupp. They've known each other forever, and Ben understands precisely how to antagonize her. What neither she nor Ben will admit is that beneath all their bickering, attraction awaits. When friends decide to try and bring the couple together, will the pair be able to find true love? Or will they damage their relationship beyond repair?"


Series: Book #4 in "The Courtships of Lancaster Country". {I have read #3, "Minding Molly" (review here--old rating system though!), but have not read #1 or #2.}


Spiritual Content- Psalm 143:8 at the beginning; Many Prayers & Silent Prayers over food; "Thank you, Jesus" & "Praise God" are both said a couple times; Talks about God (but the H's aren't capital); A couple of Scriptures are quoted; Bea's Faith becomes stronger in this novel.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: an idiot' and six forms of stupid'; a curse is said but not written; a mention that a man was stabbed to death in 1593; mentions of hunting (a deer is killed (barely-above-not-detailed); Blood (barely-above-not-detailed).


Sexual Content- a semi-detailed kiss; Noticing (not-detailed); Poetry & Sonnets about Love; Many mentions of nursing babies; Nan says that she "can't image having more children. Of course if that's what God has for us...although at this point it's not like Bob and I even have time to hug each other, let alone.." she laughs & says she's balling; Don's a flirt; a man tries to force himself on Bea (barely-above-not-detailed); Molly tells Bea that she's "the most chaste person I know."; Love, falling in love, trying not to fall in love, & the emotions.

-Beatrice "Bea" Zook
P.O.V. of Bea
345 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Two Stars (and a half)
Older High School Teens- Three Stars (and a half)
My personal Rating- Three Stars (and a half)

What I really liked in "Minding Molly" and now in "Becoming Bea" was that the main character really grows in their Faith and outlook on people. That was neat! At first the rivalry between Bea & Ben was cute--it reminded me a bit of "With Every Breathe" by Elizabeth Camden, but one Amish, one Historical.





*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Publisher (Bethany House) through Litfuse for this review.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


Blue Moon Promise (Under Texas Stars, Bk 1)
Blue Moon Promise (Under Texas Stars, Bk 1)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"Lucy Marsh's worldly resources are running out, but she's fiercely determined to care for her younger brother and sister. When she discovers that their father's recent death was no accident, Lucy is eager to leave town. She accepts a proxy marriage she believes will provide safe refuge. But trouble follows her to Texas where her new husband is surprised to suddenly have a wife and children to care for.
Nate Stanton always hoped he'd marry someday, but running the family ranch meant he had no time for romance. When his father deposits Lucy Marsh--a city girl--on his doorstep, with two siblings in the bargain, he expects ranch life will send her running on the first train out of town. But Lucy is made of tougher stuff than Nate imagined. When danger moves in, Nate finds he'd give anything to protect Lucy and the children he's grown to love. Even if it means giving up his ranch."


Series: It is book #1 in the "Under Texas Stars" series. {I have not read book #2, "Safe in His Arms", but I might one day after hearing that it's much better than the first book in the series.}


Spiritual Content- Proverbs 16:9 at the beginning; Prayers; Lucy & Nate both say they're Christians; H's are not capital when talking about God; Many Scriptures are quoted and Bible stories are mentioned.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a dumb', an idiot', a shut up', a sissy', two stupid's and three hush's; Curses are said but not written; a morgel (half-dog-half-wolf) and dogfight (semi-detailed); a Mention of a chicken being killed (barely-above-not-detailed); Mentions of drinking and saloons; Indians are talked about a lot.


Sexual Content- a wench'; Four semi-detailed kisses and Not-detailed kisses; Wanting to kiss & Wanting more; Staring & Noticing; Seven mentions about a married couple sharing a bed, Four mentions of having kids and three mentions of a husband's marriage rights; Sharing a bed (barely-above-not-detailed, but the emotions are there--noting sexual happens); Lucy is almost manhandled by a ranch hand (he wanted a kiss but she pulls a gun on him); An Indian offers ten horses for a little girl (he gets turned down); Love, an arranged marriage, falling in love, & the emotions (lots of those).

-Lucy Marsh
-Nate Stanton
P.O.V. switches between them & Jeb
Set in 1877
300 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star
Early High School Teens- One Star (and a half)
Older High School Teens- Two Stars
My personal Rating- Two Stars
Eh. Can't say that I enjoyed this book. Most arranged marriage books normally have a lot of Sexual mentions & hints and sadly, "Blue Moon Promise" was no exception. {The only arranged marriage book I actually liked was "Honor" by Lyn Cote. Click Here to see that review! } The only thing that saved this book from a flat-out one-star rating on all was the many Scriptures that were quoted. But still, it really didn't need all that Sexual Content.




*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege, Bk 1)
Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege, Bk 1)
Author: Jessica Dotta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/22/2015


About this book:

"The year is 1838, and seventeen-year-old Julia Elliston's position has never been more fragile. Orphaned and unmarried in a time when women are legal property of their fathers, husbands, and guardians, she finds herself at the mercy of an anonymous guardian who plans to establish her as a servant in far-off Scotland.
With two months to devise a better plan, Julia's first choice to marry her childhood sweetheart is denied. But when a titled dowager offers to introduce Julia into society, a realm of possibilities opens. However, treachery and deception are as much a part of Victorian society as titles and decorum, and Julia quickly discovers her present is deeply entangled with her mother's mysterious past. Before she knows what's happening, Julia finds herself a pawn in a deadly game between two of the country's most powerful men. With no laws to protect her, she must unravel the secrets on her own. But sometimes truth is elusive and knowledge is deadly."


Series: Book #1 in the "Price of Privilege" Trilogy. {Book #2 "Mark of Distinction"'s reviewing coming on Wednesday.}


Spiritual Content- Julia says her father embraced "the Enlightenment", later says he was a "famed atheist" and that she, very adamantly, does not believe in God; Julia calls Edward a traitor many times for becoming a vicar and joining the church; Lady Foxmore asks Edward "Why is the atheist allowed to eat unharassed?" to which he replies "Leave her be. At least she does not claim to embrace Christ while ignoring His {capital H' mine} teachings as most here do"; Edward tells Julia that not all vicars "are like that one"...who "that one" is and what he did we do not get told;


Negative Content- Minor (Historical & British) cussing including: a "bed*mning glare", a "blimey", a "blooming", a "darned" and many "how the devil"s, "what the devil"s and calling people "the devil"; Julia says her nursemaid "had to drown a sack of unwanted kittens"; Julia is ticked at Edward (for "abandoning" her for the church) and when she & him are alone a boy sees them and Julia hopes "that one mind might be free"; Julia says her father always had "a cruel gleam in his eyes"; Comments about "gods" ("this night was a gift of the gods", "he looked like Morpheus", etc.); Drinking (wine, brandy & scotch to name a few), Julia does not feel well in the morning after drinking and has a hangover.


Sexual Content- Sexual Cussing including: a b*st*rd; Julie has a flash-back and says "(14 was) certainly old enough to enter a betrothal, which had already been promised me when I when I reached this age"; Julia says that memories of her and their kisses would haunt Edward "working in her favor"; Rumors go around that Julia & Mr. Macy are sleeping together (they are not, but do come close); Mr. Macy says he "advises anyone desiring to learn the art of seduction" to read a novel written by a women; Julia notices "two blotches that resembled bruises" the next morning after one of her & Mr. Macy's kissing-fest; Five detailed & very detailed kisses (One almost becoming a s*x scene); *Spoiler, read only if 16+* After she & Mr. Macy are married, Julia breaks into a cold sweat and Mr. Macy notices and says not to tell him that she fears her "wifely duties" and she thinks in response that she only feels "trepidation {a feeling of fear about something that may happen} at the thought of consummating our marriage. It wasn't just his touch I dreaded, but the finality of the act" *end of spoiler* Making it another almost s*x scene.


-Julia Elliston

P.O.V. of Julia
Set in 1838
435 pages (though I'm reading the kindle version)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre, New & Early High School age Teens-
One Star
Older (17+) High School Teens-
One Star
My personal Rating-
One Star

{I have never written so many words for a review!}
Oh my. I had never read a "Christian" book (quotes around that because there really wasn't much Spiritual content besides Julia being atheist and telling everyone so) with so much sexual content! I'm mean, good grief Charlie Brown! It also took about half the book to finally get the writing style...it's first-person with past tense being like this story happen years and years ago..?




*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


The Brickmaker's Bride (Refined by Love, Bk 1)
The Brickmaker's Bride (Refined by Love, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"In the Clay-Rich Hill of the Newly Founded State of West Virginia, Tow Families Tentatively Come Together to Rebuild a War-Torn Brickmaking Business.
Ewan McKay has immigrated to West Virginia with his aunt and uncle, promising to trade his skills in the clay business for financial help. Uncle Hugh purchases a brickmaking operation from a Civil War widow and her daughter, and it's Ewan's job to get the company up and running again.
Ewan seeks help from Laura, the former owner's daughter, and he quickly feels a connection with her, but she's being courted by another man--a lawyer with far more social clout and money than Ewan. Resolving that he'll make the brickworks enough of a success that he can become a partner in the business and be able to afford to bring his sisters over from Ireland, Ewan pours all his energy into the new job.
But when Hugh signs a bad business deal, all Ewan's hard work is put in jeopardy. As his hopes for the future crumble, Laura reveals something surprising. Can she help him save the brickworks, and will Ewan finally get a shot at winning her heart?"


Series: Book #1 in the "Refined by Love" series.


Spiritual Content- Genesis 11:3 at the beginning; Ewan has a strong Faith & witnesses as well; Church going; Scriptures are mentioned; Laura questions God's plan; Many talks about Heaven, God, His plans & Him blessing us; Prayers.
*Note: "folks refer to Pittsburgh as h*ll with the lid taken off" and "some say that living in Pittsburgh is good practice for those who are on their way to that fiery furnace the Bible promises." are both said once.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a "blarney" and a "shoddy"; Winston says he's heard that Irish men are prone to drinking; Mentions of gambling & Mentions of drinking; Pipes are smoked.


Sexual Content- six semi-detailed kisses; Notices of lips & touches; *Spoilers* (view spoiler)*End of Spoilers* Love, falling in love & the emotions.

-Laura Woodfield
-Ewan McKay
P.O.V. switches between them Set in 1868-1870{Chapters 1-12: 1868; Chap. 13-28: 1869; Chap. 29-End: 1870}
346 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Two Stars
Older High School Teens- Three Stars
My personal Rating- Three Stars
While at first learning about the making of bricks was interesting, it was much slower in the beginning than at the end. It was pretty cute though.




*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Publisher (Bethany House) for this review.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


A Bride's Dilemma in Friendship, Tennessee
A Bride's Dilemma in Friendship, Tennessee
Author: Diana Lesire Brandmeyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/22/2015


About this book:

"Heaven's Stolen His Heart.
After witnessing the ravages of the Civil War, Travis Logan vowed to give up doctoring. But when fellow steamboat passenger Caleb Wharton collapses at his feet, Travis knows he must lend his aid. As the old man lies dying, he makes Travis promise to take care of his land and find Heaven. Travis can't help but wonder what Heaven has to do with a real place, so he heads to Caleb's farm to fulfill his promise.
Weeks of facing marauders and caring for her father's home have finally taken their toll on Heaven Wharton. When an unknown young man charges the house, Heaven attempts to fire a warning shot but ends up shooting the man instead. Shocked, she and her sister, Angel, drag a semi-conscious Travis into the house and nurse him back to health.
As Travis and Heaven both struggle to control their destinies, will they learn that only a heart that follows God can ever find peace on earth?"


Series: Part of the "Brides & Wedding" series. {They don't have to be read in order; all should end with a City, State in the title. You can see our review of "A Bride's Portrait in Dodge City, Kansas" Here!}


Spiritual Content- Mentions of Prayers, Praying and actual Praying; Mentions of Jesus' birthday; Mentions of church going & Scriptures; Bibles reading & mentions of different parts of the Bible; A couple Scriptures are quoted; Jake tries to play the doubting game with Angel (trying to get her to doubt about God).


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a sissified', two dumb's, two hush's, two stupid's; A fox attacks a hen-house & many hens are killed (semi-detailed); Mentions of killing/hunting animals for meat; Mentions of the war; a Mention of gambling; a Mention of having to put a horse down; a Mention of smoking; Blood (barely-above-not-detailed); People die (not-detailed).


Sexual Content- a Not-detailed kiss, Two semi-detailed kisses & a detailed kiss; Wanting to kiss & Mentions of kisses; Noticing; a women asks if another women & man slept overnight in the same house (that second women wonders if the other women meant under the same quilt; which they didn't.); Love, falling in love, and the emotions.

-Heaven Wharton
-Travis Logan
P.O.V. switches between them, Angel, Annabelle & Jake
Set in After the Civil War {Maybe 1866? It's not written}
316 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- Two Stars
Early High School Teens- Three Stars
Older High School Teens- Three Stars (and a half)
My personal Rating- Three Stars (and a half)
{ Lower these ratings half a star for very sensitive animal lovers. }

Again, I say, I like Western novels with the lady almost shooting her future lover. {Why? Maybe because it's a women with a gun, protecting herself?} I enjoyed this novel but had to work on not dwelling on the animal killings. And I'd like to add how much I adore Angel! I'd love to see a story with her as the main character when she's Heaven's age!



*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


The Captive Maiden (Fairy Tales, Bk 4)
The Captive Maiden (Fairy Tales, Bk 4)
Author: Melanie Dickerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/22/2015


About this book:

"Happily Ever After...Or Happily Nevermore?
Gisela's childhood was filled with laughter and visits from nobles such as the duke and his young son. But since her father's death, each day has been filled with nothing but servitude to her stepmother. So when Gisela meets the duke's son, Valten--the boy she has daydreamed about for years--and learns he is throwing a ball, she vows to attend, even if it's only for a taste of a life she'll never have. To her surprise, she catches Valten's eye. Though he is rough around the edges, Gisela finds Valten has completely captured her heart. But other forces are bent on keeping the two from falling further in love, putting Gisela in more danger than she ever imagined."


Series: All of Melanie Dickerson's books are connected: "The Captive Maiden" in considered #4 in this series. "The Healer's Apprentice"(#1, review Here!), "The Merchant's Daughter" (#2, review Here!), "The Fairest Beauty"(#3, review Here!), "The Captive Maiden"(#4) and coming in November, "The Princess Spy"; should be read in this order for the least amount of spoilers.


Spiritual Content- Many Prayers; Crossing when talking of the dead; Scriptures; A mention of Babylon's Fiery furnace; A friar witness & talks about God; A mention of Goliath {"Some children at one of his tournaments in Burgundy had taken to calling him "Goliath". Not the most endearing biblical character."}; Strong Faiths & Talks about God.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: two shut up's, a jerk is called a devil', and curses are said but not written; Mentions of killing older horses for their meat & hides; Two pheasants are killed & prepared (detailed); Wine is drank; Blood (highest being semi-detailed); Kidnapping a girl.


Sexual Content- a few not-detailed kisses, a semi-detailed kiss & a detailed kiss; Hand kissing, wanting to kiss & almost kisses; a women is sold; hints about marriage (not-detailed); Love, falling in love, & the emotions.

-Gisela Mueller, age 17
-Valten, Earl of Hamlin, age 24
P.O.V. switches between them
Set in 1412 (Prologue set in 1403) {Medieval}
281 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star (and a half)
Early High School Teens- Two Stars
Older High School Teens- Three Stars
My personal Rating- Two Stars (and a half)
{ Not for girls sensitive to blood. }

First, let me oooh-and-aww over the dress on the cover! Talk about stunning! Too low for my comfort but that's the time period. This was a neat twist on the Cinderella story but because of the blood, I lowered it a bit on My personal Rating.



*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


Captives (Safe Lands, The)
Captives (Safe Lands, The)
Author: Jill Williamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/14/2015


This was an awkward book to read. And I didn't even finish it! The whole plot was waaaaaay too sexual.
Here's some of what bugged me, noted, that I stopped at page 103.
Killing(detailed), Death(detailed), Shooting(detailed), Blood(detailed) and a dog is killed (semi, which was way too detailed for a dog-lover like me.). Also "maggot"(three times), dumb'(once), sissy'(many), "shut up"(once), "buck up"(twice), and "son of a cockroach's vomit" (once) is all said. Mentions of drugs and liberation.
And then all the sexual hints, mentions and awkwardness:
The Safe Lands need people (who don't have the plague) to "donate" (their....uh..baby making parts, "eggs" are mentioned) (normally forcing them to) so that they can get the girls pregnant ("forced pregnancies", a major one being them making a 14-year-old girl have no choice, and her having to be pregnant) and then there's "surrogacy team", "hormones", "embryo transfer" and telling those who (are forced to) donate not to "pair up". There's also notices of women's figures.

So, yeah, I won't be finishing this book.


*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


The Carousel Painter
The Carousel Painter
Author: Judith Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"Carrie loves painting the beautiful carousel horses...but can she stand strong against the many who don't want her to keep the job?
When Carrington Brouwer receives the enviable job of painting carousel horses for a factory in Ohio, she believes her future is secure. But after an expensive necklace disappears from the home where she's been staying, she's caught up in a search for the truth that puts her entire livelihood--and her developing relationship with the factory manger--at risk. Can she lead police to the real culprit before she loses everything?"


Series: As of now, no.

Spiritual Content- Carrie says her father thought "God was for weak people who needed a crutch to get through life."; Church going (some sermons are written or the topic is); Bible reading; Carrie gets told the story of Stephan; Many Prayers and Scriptures are quoted; Many talks about God, why He lets things happen; and Having Faith to stand in our own fiery furnace (She hears the story of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego).


Negative Content- Lying & Stealing. (Everything works out though.)


Sexual Content- Tyson Farnsworth is a player and flirts many times with Carrie, at one point when Carrie almost falls he says "Careful or we'll land on the floor. If you want to lie down beside me, I can think of more comfortable places." (That is the most detailed any flirting gets); Two semi-detailed kisses and a few not detailed kisses.


-Carrington "Carrie" Brouwer
P.O.V. of Carrie (all in first-person, present tense.)
Set in 1890
335 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- Two Stars
Early High School Teens- Three Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Three Stars (and a half)

I never knew how much work went in to making a carousel! Sure, we hit on it in one of the novella's in the "Sincerely Yours" collection, but "The Carousel Painter" has much more details about the making of a carousel horse. This was a historical mystery (the stealing kind of mystery, not a murder mystery) with a bit more than a touch of romance to it.




*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


The Case of the Jewel Covered Cat Statues (a Buckley and Bogey Cat Detective Caper)
Review Date: 1/26/2015


About this book:

"Buckley and Bogey, Cat Detectives, find their next big case with the Buckley and Bogey Cat Detective Agency to be their most complicated ever! It all starts when someone hides a mysterious package in their Mom's antique store - in the middle of the night! Of course, the boys find it, and put it in a nice, safe place, until they can open it . . . and, find the rightful owner. But that's when a whole bunch of suspicious people show up in St. Gertrude, and every single one of them seems to be after that package! Holy Catnip! Plus, everything happens just when a priceless, jeweled statue collection goes on display at the St. Gertrude Museum. Missing from that collection are two jewel covered cat statues that disappeared almost a hundred and fifty years ago. But soon Buckley and Bogey wonder how long those statues will stay missing. Because this is one case that really keeps them on their paws! From a trip to the Museum, and to an old church for the Blessing of the Animals; and from dinosaurs to diamonds, they end up dodging shady suspects the whole time. It sure helps to have their friends with them, especially when the bad guys make a beeline for boys. That's because it becomes very clear, very quick - the priceless cat statues aren't the only cats those crooks are after! Holy Mackerel!"


Series: It is in "A Buckley and Bogey Cat Detective Caper" and is considered book #3. {I have not read Book #1 or #2, but was able to follow along easily}

Spiritual Content- A mention of a "leap of faith" when having to jump; Mentions of the human family going to church; Gracie's piano recital is at church; Three of the cats get taken to church for the Blessings of Animals (St. Francis is talked about & quoted); Mentions of Holy Water and being Blessed.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: 49 "Holly Mackerel"s and 58 "Holy Catnip" (including the back-cover), a nit', two dumb' and four stupid's; A couple mentions of sleeping pills; Delilah is like Cruella de Vil in the fact she talks about making different animals clothing for her to wear (which, of course, doesn't happen).


Sexual Content- It's hinted many times that Buckley has a crush on Princess and Bogey on Amelia...breathlessness, dizziness & stuttering happen to Buckley & Bogey when these female cats come near; Buckley & Bogey call female cats & female humans "dames".

-Buckley the cat
1st person, uh, cat P.O.V. of Buckley
242 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- Two Stars
New Teens- Three Stars
Early High School Teens- Three Stars (and a half)
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Three Stars (and a half)
{Ratings didn't get higher than a 4-star because of Negative Content}
{Add a full star for cat lovers}
I wanted to read "The Case of the Jewel Covered Cat Statues" because it's in our target age range of BFCG. But I was hesitant because I'm not a cat lover (at. all. My daddy's highly allergic) and I wasn't expecting to there to be any Spiritual Content, so I was a little worried. I was pleasantly surprise that there was Spiritual Content (not as much as I would like, but still better than none). My only complaint is all the "Holy Catnips"s or "Holy Mackerel"s. Catnip and Mackerel is not holy, thankyouverymuch! This book striked me as corny at first (okay, all the way to the end) but I grew to like it better when I pictured it in my head in the style of the Aristocats movie. My favorite part was the special needs cats and them finding homes--that really made the book for me.



*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Publisher (Whodunit) for this review.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


A Change of Fortune (Ladies of Distinction, Bk. 1)
A Change of Fortune (Ladies of Distinction, Bk. 1)
Author: Jen Turano
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"Lady Eliza Sumner is on a mission. Her fortune was the last thing she had left after losing her father, her fiancé, and her faith. Now, masquerading as Miss Eliza Sumner, governess-at-large, she's determined to find the man who ran off with her fortune, reclaim the money, and head straight back to London.
Mr. Hamilton Beckett, much to his chagrin, is the catch of the season, and all the eyes of New York society--all the female ones, at least--are on him. He has no plans to marry again, especially since his hands are full keeping his business afloat while raising his two children alone.
Eliza's hapless attempts to regain her fortune unexpectedly put her right in Hamilton's path. The discovery of a common nemesis causes them to join forces and, before she knows it, Eliza has a whole retinue of people helping her. Eliza's determination not to trust anyone weakens when everyone's antics and bumbling efforts to assist her make her wonder if there might be more important things than her fortune and independence.
When all of Hamilton's and Eliza's best-laid plans fall by the wayside, it will take a riot of complications for them to realize that God just might have had a better plan in mind all along."


Series: Number 1 in the "Ladies of Distinction" series {The novella prologue, "Gentleman of Her Dreams", review Here! {I would recommend reading the Prologue before this book.}}


Spiritual Content- Prayers and Agatha has a strong Faith; Talks about God, His love, trusting Him, & His plans for us; Eliza & Hamilton have to relearn to Trust God & follow Him.


Negative Content- Guns get pointed (no details)


Sexual Content- Hamilton stares at Eliza's mouth (barely above not-detailed, nothing about kissing them though); Eliza & Agatha are mistaken as prostitutes (but they are not); A not-detailed kiss; Love & Falling in love.

-Eliza Sumner
-Hamilton Beckett
P.O.V. switches between them.
Set in 1880
313 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- Two Stars
Early High School Teens- Three Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Four Stars

Oh my goodness! The witty-ness had me laughing so hard! The banter, wit, action & a bit of romance had me not wanting to put this book down! I can't wait to read Agatha's story in the fourth book "A Match of Wits".




*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


Chasing Jupiter
Chasing Jupiter
Author: Rachel Coker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/14/2015


About this book:

"Scarlett Blaine's life in 1960s Georgia isn't always easy, especially given her parents' financial struggles and the fights surrounding her sister Juli's hippie lifestyle. Then there's her brother, Cliff. While Scarlett loves him more than anything, there's no denying his unique behavior leaves Cliff misunderstood and left out. So when he wishes for a rocket to Jupiter, Scarlett agrees to make it happen, no matter how crazy the idea might be. Raising the rocket money means baking pies, and the farmer's son, Frank, agrees to provide the peaches if Scarlett will help him talk to Juli. The problem is, Scarlett really enjoys her time with Frank, and finds herself wondering if, someday, they could be more than friends. Just as she thinks everything might be going her way, Cliff suffers an accident that not only affects the rocket plans, but shakes Scarlett's view of God. As the summer comes to an end, Scarlett must find a way to regain what she's lost, but also fulfill a promise to launch her brother's dream."


Series: As of now, no. :(


Spiritual Content- Many Scriptures are quoted; Scarlett prays but says she "never gave much thought to God or heaven." And that she "only 16, a long time before" she "really had to worry about getting right with the good Lord'."; Juli's boyfriend, Ziggy, has brainwashed Juli into believing into the whole "Enlightenment" (have an open mind and good things will happen to you), when Julie shares that idea with Scarlett, Scarlett rolls her eyes; Mrs. Greene witnesses to Scarlett quite a few times; *Spoiler* Scarlett prays and becomes a Christian *End of Spoiler*.


Negative Content- Minor Cussing including: a shush up', two gosh's, two forms of idiot', two forms of darn', six drat's, 18 forms of stupid'; a curse is said but not written; A chicken almost gets killed for supper (semi-detailed); cigarette smoking (not Scarlett); Scarlett slaps Juli & Juli slaps Scarlett back harder.


Sexual Content- a kiss between a married couple (barely above not-detailed); Crushes & Juli has a boyfriend

-Scarlett Blaine, age 16 (then 17)
First person P.O.V. of Scarlett
Set in 1969
216 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- Three Stars
Early High School Teens- Four Stars
Older High School Teens- Five Stars
My personal Rating- Four Stars (and a half)

Do I have to give this book back to the library?!
I cannot say how much I enjoyed this book! The humor (not always sarcastic humor, mostly good ol' knock-knock jokes), the very tiny amount of romance (crushes), and the best part of all--the Witnessing! I was bawling at many times! What's really neat about this book is it's written by a fellow homeschooler! Rachel Coker wrote & published this book in 2012--at age 16!
Some of my favorite quotes are:

"Hey, knock, knock," Cliff said. His voice sounded loud in the quiet hallway.
"Who's there?"
"Luke."
I frowned. Cliff was pretty good at telling knock-knock jokes, but I hadn't heard this one yet. "Luke who?"
"Luke through the hole and you'll find out." He gave me his signature punch-line smile."'


"Frank's brows rose. His eyes trailed over me to Cliff, who was grumpily walking in circles and then back to me. "Why are you talking to yourself?"
Funny story... My mind raced, but I couldn't think of a logical reason. I sighed. Let him think I'm crazy. "I'm more pleasant company than any other person I can think of. No one else is as eager to listen to me as I am."
He stared at me blankly for a moment. Then a smile broke out on his face, slowly at first but then blossoming into a full-out grin.'



*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


The Coronation (The Tales of Tarsurella) (Volume 1)
The Coronation (The Tales of Tarsurella) (Volume 1)
Author: Olivia Lynn Jarmusch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/13/2017


**This is a Books for Christian Girls content review for girls ages 9-19. The Spiritual, Negative, & Sexual Content from this book are honestly listed below. Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.**

About this book:

âPrince Addison is only several weeks away from inheriting the Kingdom of Tarsurella. The entire Palace is ablaze with excitement, as the Royal Family prepares for the event of a lifetime. Despite the exciting event which is near at hand, Addison and his younger siblings (all seven of them!) must carry on with their daily activities.
Addison's sisters, Princesses Bridget, Chasity, and Hope, have their struggles with being iconic European starlets of a modern day monarchy. The teen heiresses grace magazine covers, smile for photoshoots, and gracefully glide through important interviewsâuntil a certain American popstar arrives on the scene. Kennetic Energy, the wildly popular band from the United States, is chosen to play at Addison's Coronation. David Carter, the band's handsome lead singer, fumbles through awkward moments with Princess Hopeâin front of the cameras. When an embarrassing rumor sparks that Princess Hope is dating the young fellow, she is determined to get the band fired from their Royal gig.
Meanwhile, Princess Chasity is dealing with her own fragile affairs of the heart. Her new security guard, Hanson Fletcher, is completely captivating, yet entirely frustrating. She attempts to keep the entrance of her heart firmly protected, while following the wisdom of Proverbs 4:23. But can she be successful in guarding her heart, from her security guard?â


Series: Book #1 in âThe Tales of Tarsurellaâ series.


Spiritual Content- Strong faiths are shown in this novel; Many Scriptures are mentioned, read, quoted, & talked about; Many Prayers, Thanking God, & Blessings over food; Being witnessed to; Many, many talks about God, His plans, trusting Him, God-given potential/talent, & the Bible; âH's are capital when referring to God; Many, many mentions of God & trusting Him; Many mentions of talks about God; Many mentions of prayers, praying, & blessings over food; Mentions of God' presence & peace; Mentions of Bibles, Bible reading, & convictions; Mentions of those, events, & places in the Bible; Mentions of witnessing & being witnessed to; Mentions of churches & church going; Mentions of faiths; Mentions of Heaven; Mentions of a Bible study & a youth group; Mentions of forgiveness & a Bible study on it; Mentions of being blessed & blessings; A few mentions of thanking God; A few mentions of Christians; A few mentions of Corrie ten Boom & Mother Teresa; A few mentions of miracles; A few mentions of sins; A couple mentions of hymns; A couple mentions of Christmases; A couple mentions of an angel;
*Note: A âhellish'; Mentions of Allah and a terrorist wanting everyone to serve Allah; Mentions of evil people; A mention of a living hell.


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a form of âblah, blah, blah', a âdope', a âhonkin'', a âmoron', a âshut up', a âsuck', a âwhat the heck', two âduh's, three âheck's, six âoh my gosh's, and fourteen forms of âstupid'; Sarcasm, eye rolling, & sibling bicker; A Terrorist attack, being held at gunpoint, gunshots, bullets, being held hostage, hostages, being beaten/hit, pain, injuries, blood, & screams (up to semi-detailed); Being hit/beaten, being shot at, injuries, & pain (semi-detailed); Fighting & pain (up to semi-detailed); Many mentions of terrorists, warlords, attacks, their plans, hostages, & criminals; Mentions of possible assassinations & being shot and killed, & threats of both; Mentions of being shot, pain, injuries, fighting, & hitmen (up to semi-detailed); Mentions of murders, gunshots, seeing people shot, & dead bodies (barely-above-not-detailed); Mentions of wars, terrorists, hostages, beatings, torture, injuries, & pain; Mentions of a boy's step-father beating his mother and nearly killing him (barely-above-not-detailed); Mentions of being slapped; Mentions of threats & blackmail; Mentions of nightmares & possible terrorist attacks; Mentions of hatred & betrayal; Mentions of a cougar trying to attack a horse & a guard shooting it (barely-above-not-detailed); Mentions of being thrown from a horse, pain, & injuries (barely-above-not-detailed); Mentions of prison & juvenile detention centers; Mentions of thieves & stealing; Mentions of alcohol, drinking, smoking, & partying; Mentions of lying & lies; Mentions of gossip & rumors; Mentions of jealousy; A few mentions of wine & drinking some with meals; A couple mentions of starving to death; A couple mentions of throwing up; A couple mentions of people swearing like sailors; A mention of a guy willing to have a bullet shot though his brain for a girl; A mention of drugs; A mention of graffiti; A mention of a hunter;
*Note: Mentions of homelessness & poverty; Mentions of acne; Mentions of movies (Lord of the Rings, A Walk to Remember, National Velvet, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, The Sound of Music, Star Wars, The Lion King, Mulan, Up, High School Musical, Princess Diaries, Ramona and Beezus, & Curious George); Mentions of TV shows (The Brandy Bunch, The Dating Game, Say Yes To The Dress, & Phineas and Ferb); Mentions of fictional characters & Disney characters; Mentions of cereal brand names; Mentions of brands (Ferrari, Forever21, Converse, & Aeropostale); A few mentions of iTunes, iPhones, iPads, & iPods; A few mentions of going to & being at Starbucks; A couple mentions of Girl Scouts; A couple mentions of magazines (Elle & Popstar); A mention of Disney Channel Movies; A mention of MTV; A mention of V8 drinks; A mention of a horror movie; A mention of aliens.


Sexual Content- an almost kiss; Remembering and mentions of an almost kiss; Wanting to kiss; Nearness & Touches (barely-above-not-detailed); Noticing (x7, barely-above-not-detailed); a âbae', a âhot', four âbaby's, and four âhunky's, Many, many mentions of boyfriends, girlfriends, couples, dating/courting, dates, breakups, exes, heartbreak, & falling in love; Mentions of an ex-boyfriend who tried to pressure the girl into a kiss and possibly more; Mentions of temptations to kiss, wanting to kiss, kisses, & kissing; Mentions of a terrorist trying to touch a woman he wants to be his wife (doesn't happen); Mentions of flirts & flirting; Mentions of noticing, smelling, fangirls, & swooning; Mentions of cute & handsome guys and heartthrobs; Mentions of crushes & being interested in someone; Mentions of a young girl discovering/finding a guy to be cute; Mentions of jealousy; A few mentions of a girl faithfulness and always with different men; A few mentions of hooking up with someone & being at item; A few mentions of a promise of purity; A few mentions of blushes; A mention of girls being whistled at;
*Note: Mentions of a mother who died during childbirth; Mentions of a young boy running around in just his boxers; A couple mentions of hormones; A mention of a girl's dress that hugs her in all the right places; A mention of butting into someone's life.

-(Prince) Addison, age 20
-Hanson Fletcher, age 18
-(Princess) Bridget, age 19
-(Princess) Chasity, age 18
-Vanessa Bennet
P.O.V. of switches between them & many others
460 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star
New Teens- One Star
Early High School Teens- Three Stars
Older High School Teens- Four Stars
My personal Rating- Four Stars
When I first found out this book was featuring a royal family, my interest was highly peaked. Shortly after, I found out the book was 460 long and became slightly intimidated. That's a big book, y'all.
Starting to read this book, I did feel a bit overwhelmed with the Q&As with facts about the eight children in the royal family. Fortunately, as I continued reading the story, they all stood apart from each otherâa talented feat by the authorâand I was able to keep track of who's who.
The first half I was really getting a Princess Diaries (the movies, that is) feel. Then some crazy stuff happened and it took kind of a 160. Not a complete 180-degree change, but some pretty dramatic stuff happened.
Writing wise, I was pretty impressed with the style and how everything was written. There were a few characters that went a bit over the top at times and then would mellow out; and also some head jumping, but for all the characters we see the P.O.V.s of, it was well done.
Overall, I enjoyed this novel. It was very large in size, but I so enjoyed all the strong faiths and prayers. I am very much looking forward to the second book. :)


*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Author for this honest review.


The Covered Deep
The Covered Deep
Author: Brandy Vallance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/22/2015


About this book:

"Some Dreams Are Worth Searching For
Bianca Marshal is looking for a man who can quote both Jesus and Shakespeare. Not surprisingly, the man is hard to find in the small Appalachian town where she lives. Her mother insists that Bianca lower her standards. On the eve of her twenty-fifth birthday, Bianca wonders if her mother is right.
Still set on experiencing love, or at least a little adventure, Bianca wins an essay contest that propels her into a whirlwind search for the perfect romantic hero. Via the opulence of London and the mysteries of Palestine, Bianca's true love will be revealed--but not without a price that might be too heavy to pay."


Series: As of now, no.


Spiritual Content- Jeremiah 33:3 is at the front; Many, many, many Scriptures are quoted; Many, many, many talks about God; Many Prayers; Many, many, many mentions and talks about things that happen in the Bible, going to those places and Who walked there; Church going & hymns are sung and written; "Drive like Jehu!" is said and Jezebel is mention a few times; Bianca's mother says that Europe's museums "are nothing but a collection of idols. Dens of sin glorifying the heathen nations."; Madeline calls the Bible a book of fairy-tales; Mr. Tabor is a Darw*n man; "Good God" is said many times. Many Musl*ms and all are violent;
*Note: Minor cussing including: four "Great Jehoshaphat"s, three "laud"s, two "h*llish", a "what the devil", three "where the devil"s, a "Poor devil", a "Devil take it", a "she-devil", a "devil-wind", a "devil of a fool", a "devil's handmaid", a "go to the devil", wind is described as "h*ll's fingers", "screamed like the d*mned".


Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a "curse it all", a "posh", a "cur", a "blast it", a "shut your mouth", two "bloody"s, two "blimey"s, two 'shut up's, two "dash it all", three 'idiot's, four "blasted"s, five "Gad!"s, five "stupid"s; two curses are said but not written. Bianca hits a frog with a spear (to eat it; detailed); Bianca says many Shakespeare insults; Blood, Fighting, Hitting, Screaming (highest being board line semi-detailed to detailed); a Mention of a dead man's body burning (India, semi-detailed); Prison camps (pretty detailed and gross); Mentions of suicide and a character tries to do it (pretty detailed); Mentions of drinking; Poison.


Sexual Content- Wanting to kiss; A semi-detailed kiss; Three detailed-on-the-feelings embraces; a hint about a wedding night; two Mentions of a harem; a Mention of King David & Bathsheba and their story; Minor cussing including: a lady is called a "cow" and a "witch", a "wanton", two wh*re's; three "harpy"s; On Bianca's Soul Mate list #6 (of 7) is that he must be "a more than capable kisser"; A mentions of a woman who ran for the United States presidents it's added "that woman has no respect for the marriage bed."; Flirts & Flirting: Staring & Studying (highest being semi-detailed); Madeline mentions about a lover's touch, their lips & compromising situations(highest being semi-detailed); *Big Spoiler but very important to the story* (view spoiler) *End of Big Spoiler*; Madeline thought that a couple had a secret liaison (they didn't); A women's dress gets torn (barely above not-detailed but it's implied that she's almost raped); Love, falling in love, looking for a soul mate, trying not to be in love, & lots of emotions.

-Bianca Marshal
-Paul Emerson
P.O.V. switches between them and Sir Adrian
Set in 1877
397 pages

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
Pre Teens- One Star?
New Teens- One Star (and a half)?
Early High School Teens- Two Stars (and a half)?
Older High School Teens- Three Stars (and a half)?
My personal Rating- Two Stars to Three Stars (and a half)?

{Can I not do ratings on this book? Because, honestly this has to be the hardest book I've ever had to rate.}
{A very trusted adult should read this book before the girl}

Okay, so I have no clue where to start on this review. Part of me wants to give it two stars because of the Negative & Sexual Contents. The other part wants to give it a three & a half because of the crazy-how-did-the-author-think-of-it-crazy plot line and the amounts of details of the Biblical content. I recently watched thoroughly the original "Around the World in 80 Days" (over the course of many days--that movie is long...and not the cleanest either...) and was reminded of it at different parts in the story (Most the India ones). This was a book with an insanely intricate plot and lots of details, but I think a very trusted author should read before the girl.




*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.
*I received this book for free from the Publisher (Worthy Publishing) for this review.

*{{'Books for Christian Girls' reviews all genres of Christian books, writing down all the Spiritual, Negative & Sexual content and does ratings for girls ages 9-19.
Keep in mind, when reading a BFCG review, ignore the things that don't bother you, but take notice of the things that do.}}


1 to 20 of 118 - Page: