Robbie N. (robbie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
60 Things God Said About Sex
60 Things God Said About Sex
Author: Lester Frank Sumrall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Nothing new here. Very conservative Biblical interpretation. Drove me a little crazy because (1.) I didn't think all of the "60 things" were about sex; (2.) Seemed at times he would quote verses and then editorialize beyond what the Biblical text actually said; (3.) The last couple of chapters focused more on end times than sexuality. If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't have wasted my time on this book nor do I plan to read any of the author's other books.


Biscuit (My First I Can Read Book)
Biscuit (My First I Can Read Book)
Author: Pat Schories (Illustrator), Alyssa Satin Capucilli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/22/2006


Enjoyed reading this book to my young English students in Taiwan. Biscuit (a golden retriever?) is so cute!


Boy Meets Girl : Say Hello to Courtship
Boy Meets Girl : Say Hello to Courtship
Author: Joshua Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 1/22/2007


Worth reading just for the sweet love stories.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2075
Review Date: 10/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I read this as part of a theology class. I never understood what the big deal was about this book until reading it. It is a fast-moving story as the two main characters unexpectedly find themselves on a scavenger hunt of sorts. The author did an outstanding job of holding this reader's attention.


Fun with Chinese Festivals
Fun with Chinese Festivals
Author: Tan Huay Peng
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/22/2006


I found this to be a good light-hearted reference when I was living in Taiwan.


The Garage Sale Book: Turn Your Trash into Cash
Review Date: 5/19/2006


The only really memorable, useful idea I got from this book was to have a "free box." When it came time to actually start trying to organize a yard sale, I found the checklist available at organizedhome.com to be a better tool.


A Good Man Is Hard To  Find Unless You Ask God To Be Head Of Your Search Committee
Review Date: 5/13/2006
Helpful Score: 3


I thought the first chapter or so of this book was good--it's always good to be reminded that we are precious and shouldn't settle for the crumbs that fall from the table. I also enjoyed the last part which was testimonies of women who did not meet their Godly man until after they were 30. The content in the middle, however, wasn't anything profound or memorable.


He's Just Not That Into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys
Review Date: 1/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I think they speak truth in this book!


How to Conquer Clutter
How to Conquer Clutter
Author: Stephanie Culp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/22/2006
Helpful Score: 5


A little disappointing. I really liked the way that the book was organized by category. I thought it would make a great reference book to have when doing organization jobs for friends and facing challenges in their homes that I have not had to address in my home. However, even though I did glean some ideas from this book, it just wasn't good enough to keep as part of my permanent collection.


How to Get Organized When You Don't Have the Time
How to Get Organized When You Don't Have the Time
Author: Stephanie Culp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/21/2006
Helpful Score: 5


This is the third book of hers that I have read. So far one has been worthwhile, two have not been worth the time. This would be one of the not worth the time ones as it duplicated a lot of information in her book on time management. I only got one new tip out of it that I am considering using. I read this book in anticipation of an organizing job that I was doing for a friend, hoping to get some new ideas, but a good part of the book focused on organizing time not things.


I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Toward Relationships And Romance
Review Date: 7/22/2006
Helpful Score: 4


I really loved the part in this book where he shares the dream that he had that illustrates Jesus paying for our sins with his blood.

This book had a negative backlash which I felt was undeserved. I felt that Josh Harris was very clear about the fact that the position that he presents is not for everyone. Readers don't need to fully subscribe to his plan, but I do think this book is worth reading and reflecting on the ideas that he presents.


Jesus for Jews
Jesus for Jews
Author: Ruth Rosen (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/11/2006


As a gentile, this collection of autobiographies by Messianic Jews was eye-opening, especially those for whom their Judaism was primarily cultural/historical rather than spiritual.


Later Life
Later Life
Author: A. R. Gurney
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 4/21/2006


Not memorable. Doesn't compare to "Love Letters."


Love Smart:  Find the One You Want -- Fix the One You Got
Love Smart: Find the One You Want -- Fix the One You Got
Author: Dr. Phil McGraw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/12/2006
Helpful Score: 4


I thought this book was written for both a male and female audience, but it's actually written specifically for women. As a woman, this wasn't a problem for me, but thought men should be forewarned!

The other thing that I didn't expect--but really appreciated--was how Dr. Phil works to demystify men. Even though I've been told by a male friend that I have a high understanding of men, I still benefitted from reading this book. What you learn here is not applicable just in romantic relationships, but in understanding other men in your life as well--platonic friends, coworkers, etc.


Milk and Honey (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 3)
Milk and Honey (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus, Bk 3)
Author: Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 1/11/2006


In this third book of the series, Detective Decker's character is further developed and we learn more about his past. I'm not usually a reader of detective stories, but between the romance between Decker & Rina and the elements of orthodox Judaism, this series has won me over. Much of the action in this story was set on bee farms which I found to be original on the part of the author.


Missions in the Third Millennium: 21 Key Trends for the 21st Century
Review Date: 1/11/2006


Though this book is not terribly academic, I thought Guthrie did a good job at looking critically at current trends in missions.


Missions in the Twenty-First Century
Missions in the Twenty-First Century
Author: Tom Telford, Lois Shaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/22/2006


My favorite part of this book was the "Hall of Fame" which lists what the author considers to be the nation's churches with the most top-notch missions programs. What a wonderful reference to have when moving to a new city and how exciting to see churches that you're familar with listed.


Not for Packrats Only: How to Clean Up, Clear Out, and Live Clutter-Free Forever
Review Date: 11/10/2006
Helpful Score: 5


I was disappointed in this book. I think the title is deceptive; seemed to me like all the advice only applied to packrats. His focus seemed to be on listing what items people should get rid of and persuading people to do so. What I need to know is how to make the items that I do love, use and need fit into 500 square feet when I can't afford things like an armoir, entertainment center, a real desk or custom-built this and that. THEN I would feel like my home was "clean" and "clutter-free." Unfortunately, he didn't seem to have any advice on what to do with your keepers once you've purged all the excess. There were two pages that I thought were good and that's where he made a chart of various items and their shelf lives per their manufacturers. I made copies of those two pages and will put them in my binder of organizing tips.


One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish
One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish
Author: Dr. Seuss
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 4/21/2006


This book brings back good memories of reading it to my young English students in Taiwan. The sounds and cadence of Dr. Seuss held them spellbound!


Pocket Superflirt
Pocket Superflirt
Author: Tracey Cox
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/22/2007


The strength of this book is what it taught me about body language in the human mating process.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: