Jeanette (jemedwards) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
Author: Angie Fox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 8/28/2008
Helpful Score: 12


"All in all" this book was OK. At the beginning all the characters really irritated me. It was like standing in a room and everybody talking at once. I was frustrated that no one explained anything to the main character, Lizzie, but she just goes with anything she's told. There a section that deals with werewolves - don't really think it was necessary unless the author was setting up the alpha to be used in a future story. I have to admit my favorite character was Pirate....her dog.


The Beast in Him (Pride, Bk 2)
The Beast in Him (Pride, Bk 2)
Author: Shelly Laurenston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 4/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I have to say it's almost embarrassing when I read books by Shelly Laurenston out in public. I bust out laughing all of a sudden and I'm sure folks around me look at me like I'm crazy.

I would follow this author anywhere - that's how much I enjoy her books. All the books I read by her have a good storyline with lots of humor. The characters are great and I love how all the characters interact as friends.

All of Shelly Laurenston's books are fantastic IMO. When you start any of her series you're in for a wild and crazy ride!


Blood in Her Veins: Nineteen Stories From the World of Jane Yellowrock
Review Date: 4/6/2017


I binged read this series and it was wonderful having this book at the same time. This book listed where in the series each of the 19 stories falls into play. It was so insightful about various things that happened throughout the series. Because it's so hard to find out the titles of all 19 stories in this book I'll list them here.
The short stories included are:

We Sa and the Lumber King
The Early Years
Snafu
Cat Tats
Kits
Haints
Signatures of the Dead
First Sight
Blood, Fangs and Going Furry
Dance Master
Cajun with Fangs
Golden Delicious
The Devil's Left Boot
Beneath a Bloody Moon
Black Water
Off the Grid
Not All is As It Seems
Cat Fight
Bound No More


Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 10/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


It has nothing to do with or even references the BDB series. With that said I have to say I love the BDB series more than this first work in the new series.

It took me about a third of the book to get past the "come on....come on already" syndrome I was having cuz the book seemed slow. However I see now that maybe it was just laying out the series and the characters for both this book and future books. My favorite genre is paranormal romance and this book is not written in the standard fare that I'm use to with those books but you know what......I ended up enjoying the book. Around the last quarter of the book I was actually looking forward to reading the rest.

I liked the characters but it was (and kind of still is) hard to get with Jim in his role as the main character. My favorite character - Dog. I can't wait to see what's up with him - there's a secret there I'm sure!

Yes I will read the next one. I have to say that I'm worried that if a battle is lost in one of the seven then maybe I won't enjoy the books because I'm a HEA kinda gal.


Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection
Dark Bites: A Short Story Collection
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/31/2014


I had already read most of the stories in other books but I couldn't miss this book because there were several in here that I hadn't read. After I finished reading those I then re-read a couple of the others that I'd previously read and they were just as engaging as the first time I read them. One thing I didn't realize, the first story "House of the Rising Son", is a prequel to Styxx. If you read Styxx already then you'll enjoy a little more of the back story of Beth and Styxx.


Demon Hunting in Dixie (Demon Hunting, Bk 1)
Demon Hunting in Dixie (Demon Hunting, Bk 1)
Author: Lexi George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/13/2013


If youre familiar with southern living this book is as thick with humor as their sweet tea is with sugar. The story may have contained every southern colloquialism you can imagine but maybe not, because something has to be left for the next books in the series. The romance was funny with the alpha male being way over the top but the heroine dealt with it in a fun way. As you read the book you may get a sense of deja vue if youve read Kate Douglas Demonslayer series but this story still stands on its own in a distinct way. For me it was kind of slow but I still felt the need to finish it and Im glad I did. I look forward to the next story which covers the romance of the two friends of the main characters in this book but mainly I look forward to reading more of the southern drama.


Dragon Spawn (World of the Lupi, Bk 13)
Dragon Spawn (World of the Lupi, Bk 13)
Author: Eileen Wilks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/9/2017


If you're like me and don't like cliffhangers, I suggest you wait to read this until the next book, Dragon Blood, comes out. It's as if this is just half of the story because nothing at all is resolved in this story! I really wish I had known this before I read it.

I enjoyed the pace and action while my favorite portions were reading more about Toby and his growth, both physically and mentally.

However there was too much descriptive text and I got bored with some of that and just skimmed.

Dragon Spawn follows all the main characters which include Benedict, Grandmother, Cullen and Cynna, on a journey to rescue five children, all belonging to leaders of lupi clans.

Again I reiterate, save yourself the frustration and wait until the next book comes out...and then read the Amazon reviews to ensure that one isn't a cliffhanger!


Everlasting Desire (Everlasting, Bk 2)
Everlasting Desire (Everlasting, Bk 2)
Author: Amanda Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 11/11/2010


I have to admit that I only made it through 1/3 of the book before I just gave up and read the epilogue. The pace of the story is so slow but I was giving it a chance because I've read her other books. While they are all slow I've managed to get thru them however this one bit the dust for me after a scene in which the heroine finally goes out to a club with the hero even though she's uneasy around him. She spills a drink rather than drinking it cuz she's concerned it's drugged but then lets the hero take her home and stay in the living room while she goes to bed cuz she's scared to be alone until her roommate returns! I just couldn't handle the conflicting actions of the heroine anymore and gave it up.


Hotter Than Hell (Hell on Earth, Bk 3)
Hotter Than Hell (Hell on Earth, Bk 3)
Author: Jackie Kessler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/20/2009


Angela's review is just the reason why I don't write reviews because a person may see something totally different than what I see in a book and I hate to be so contrarian. Based upon Angela's review I feel like I may be missing something but on this book I just had to contribute my two cents for the opposite side.

I found this book boring and slow to read. Throughout the book I would just say "huh?". It would go back and forth in the main character's life and even though it was easy enough to follow at times I just wanted to flip to the back and find out what happens.

The ending was unexpected and surprising but OK however I felt like the whole book was just lacking something IMO.


Hush (Lodestone, Bk 1) (Stark Brothers, Bk 1)
Hush (Lodestone, Bk 1) (Stark Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Cherry Adair
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 6/9/2012


Overall I enjoyed the book as I love everything the author writes. Heroine was my favorite character. I will not give away spoilers but the ending of this story took me someplace that I don't usually get to in action/paranormal romances and I was not happy about it. It disturb my sleep the night I finished it. If it happens in the next book of this series I don't think I'll be continuing it because I enjoy my HEA for all the main characters.


Ill Wind (Weather Warden, Bk 1)
Ill Wind (Weather Warden, Bk 1)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 519
Review Date: 6/12/2013
Helpful Score: 1


My review covers the entire series and I'm writing this because I want to give you a warning. Before you begin this series make sure you have all nine books ready or available to pick up at the library because it seems to be one great epic story.

In one review on Amazon it was mentioned that it was similiar to the Bruce Willis series, Die Hard. Each book ended as continuing on with the next castastrophe. The heroine, Joanne, was constantly getting into positions of peril where she was the only one who could save the day. The constant betrayals by some she called friends made portions of the story unbelieveable because Joanne just constantly went along with trusting them and she always felt it had to be her saving the world. IMO Joanne, at times, was too hard headed to live and it's amazing how many times she died or nearly died but somehow she was saved. Thru the whole series there is David and I enjoyed reading the scenes that included those episodes of their true, fierce love.

By the time I got to Book 7, I was just tried of the whole fatalistic journey. The drama just never stopped for a breather and it was exhausting but I figured I just had to get to Book 9 and it'd be all over. I am so glad I did not read this story before all nine books were completed so I could have the whole story readily available.

Finally, it comes down to did I enjoy the story - Yes. I would recommend it if you like plenty of action, strategy and intrigue with the theme of one true love interwoven throughout.


It's All Greek to Me
It's All Greek to Me
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 3/23/2012


I dont write a lot of reviews but sometimes I feel I have to take the time to write one for something special. This book was so different from my favorite genre of paranormal romances.

The book reminds me of Lucy and Ricky from the I Love Lucy show. Iakovos is the usual type of alpha male that I love to read about but Harry is totally off the charts. Trying to figure out how much to say without giving anything away but simply put - in this book there was no earth-shattering calamities about to happen, nobody needed to save the world from anyone nor were there problems between Iakovos and Harry about their love for each other that wasnt quickly resolved between the two of them. I enjoyed how Iakovos and Harry knew so much about each others personality that they completely trusted each other and also knew how each other would react to various situations. I loved, loved Harry and enjoyed the interaction between her and Patricia. The spontaneous and awkward things that Harry says are hilarious and the responses from the straight-laced Iakovos and other characters are equally funny.

This is not one of a series and it doesnt appear that it will be, although you kind of want a HEA to be written about one of the characters. I do not read books more than once but if I did, Id start this again right away. Simply put, this was a wonderful, fast-past, romantic comedy.


Me, Myself, and Why? (BOFFO, Bk 1)
Me, Myself, and Why? (BOFFO, Bk 1)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/17/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This book kept me on my toes. The main character is a FBI agent who has MPD, Multiple Personality Disorder, and each personality was so distinct that I came to like each one. I had to pay attention as I read cuz you never knew which personality was active throughout the book. What was great was that I got to "know" the personalities and that I could tell which personality was "on" after reading just a couple of sentences. There's a BFF and a romantic interest, however there was not enough of them in this book and I hope to see them again. The story revolves around the FBI office trying to catch a serial killer. I believe I read that this is a trilogy and I'm looking forward to reading the next two books.


Mind Magic (World of the Lupi, Bk 12)
Mind Magic (World of the Lupi, Bk 12)
Author: Eileen Wilks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/14/2015


Yes, definitely agree that you have to be involved in the backstory of this series when reading this book. There were several story lines but I found it easy to follow since I wasn't rushing through the story.

I was alarmed at first when I opened this paperback and saw the print type. The print is tinier than usual and I was thinking about getting this in ebook form so I could enlarge the type but I decided to give reading the book a try. It didn't take me longer than a couple of chapters to get so engrossed in the story that I no longer noticed the tiny print.

I especially enjoyed reading about a new character with Asperger Syndrome It was so enlightening to read about someone with this character difference.

The story doesn't end with a cliffhanger but just some questions about one of the bad guys and that was good enough for me.


Queen of Song and Souls (Tairen Soul, Bk 4)
Queen of Song and Souls (Tairen Soul, Bk 4)
Author: C. L. Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


What Sobia said..... :-)

This series has been a wonderful read for me. I was disappointed that this book had to be split into two and now I'm desperately awaiting book 5.

I finished reading this book in a restaurant while eating breakfast. I was sniffling and had tears running down my face and another patron came over and said that it must be quite a book!

I was happy to read a post by the author that more books set in the Fading Lands will be coming out:

"Yes, I have more Fading Lands books planned. Once Tairen Soul is complete, I have an alternate world fantasy (THE WINTER KING), then I am contracted to write two more standalone novels set in the Fading Lands - Bel's story, and then Gaelen's story. :)"


Shaking Off the Dust
Shaking Off the Dust
Author: Rhianna Samuels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/9/2014


A riveting story which I couldn't put down. The characters were what made the story fantastic however Takeshi Shimodo is the gel that holds the story together. His gentle love and devotion makes all the "alpha males" pale in comparison. I found that the author has written a sequel, "The Replacement List", and I purchased it so I could continue reading about Takeshi. It was equally wonderful!


The Stag Lord (Bannerman Boru)
The Stag Lord (Bannerman Boru)
Author: Darby Kaye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/17/2018


The strong female character and the love between the father with his son were captivating. The interactions between the female and male lead were funny and touching.

The story had so much action and none of the scenes seem to be put in just for the purpose of making the story longer.

All the characters are considered Celtic warriors in this modern day so it was interesting to read the different phrases of the Gaelic language.

The second book, Unholy Blue, completes this story line and was just as enjoyable.


A Time For Home (Snowberry Creek, Bk 1)
A Time For Home (Snowberry Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Alexis Morgan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/9/2014


I enjoy stories that have the hometown background where everybody knows your name. It was a nice romance buildup between Nick and Callie and you can never go wrong with adding a pet to the mix. Have a box of tissues nearby because this is a wonderful story about friendship, loss, responsibility and second chances.

If you get a chance, try to read the prequel novella. It introduces the three characters that set up this series. You lose nothing in the storyline if you don't read it but you gain a wealth of appreciation for warriors and their camaraderie.


Undead and Undermined (Queen Betsy, Bk 10)
Undead and Undermined (Queen Betsy, Bk 10)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I totally agree with all the reviews written but I have to add that I would have still read the book anyway if I'd read the reviews first simply because I love the series.

As I was reading the book I thought "is it only me but is this book really ridiculous"? So I guess the author wrote this book for people like me, who blindly follow a series no matter what. Well the only good thing about this is I got the book from the library, so "ha!", I didn't give a dime to the publishers or author for this one.

This book made Betsy seem like a lunatic and you wonder how anything got done. She's constantly raving on and on about issues and normally I'd find it funny but this time I just saw it as filler.

The alternate timeline will be OK if there's a reason for it in the third book. It seems like the author is changing history to fit in with what's coming in future books (I hope).


The Undead Pool (Hollows, Bk 12)
The Undead Pool (Hollows, Bk 12)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/11/2014


The book has Rachel once again out to save the city and also the rest of the country. Meanwhile, she's finally found her HEA and it looks like the real thing and I was happy with the choice. For me the book was a great read with just the right amount of romance. I also had the same question about whether this was the last book but after a Google search I found an interview in which it looks like there's one more book, yay! (http://www.usatoday.com/story/happyeverafter/2014/02/25/kim-harrison-interview-the-undead-pool/5795847/)


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: