Facebook

Grace S. (farmnI) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
The Cat (Sons of Destiny, Bk 5)
The Cat (Sons of Destiny, Bk 5)
Author: Jean Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 1/24/2014


I've thoroughly enjoyed the whole series: Sons of Destiny. Jean Johnson exhibits her creativity and talent with this set of books.

I loved the story of Amara and her sister and their perilous sea journey to Nightfall. This was a fun book in the series, Trevan getting to know Amara was a hit.

I'll be sorry when I've finished the Mage and have to say goodbye to the characters in the series.


The Chief (Highland Guard, Bk 1)
The Chief (Highland Guard, Bk 1)
Author: Monica McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 9/20/2016


This was the first Monica McCarty book I've read. I enjoyed the story, a Scottish warrior trains an elite group of fighters to unconventionally and covertly fight for Robert Bruce behind the scenes.
Christina seems a little weak and immature to me, but she is young and Tor is a widower, so she is quite a bit younger than he.
This book is the foundation for subsequent stories about the other men in this team of warriors and I look forward to reading more in this series.


Circle in the Water (aka At the King's Command) (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
Circle in the Water (aka At the King's Command) (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 11/5/2015


As with other Wiggs' stories, the characters are strong well developed. Many twists to this story: the slaughtering of a Russian royal family, gypsy rescues and raises the child princess, an English nobleman with a secret offspring, an asthmatic child, and savage King Henry VIII.

This was a great read, I'm going to look for more Wiggs' books.


The Flame (Sons of Destiny, Bk 7)
The Flame (Sons of Destiny, Bk 7)
Author: Jean Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 1/24/2014


I've thoroughly enjoyed the whole series: Sons of Destiny. Jean Johnson exhibits her creativity and talent with this set of books.

This particular book was exceptionally well done. I liked how Koranen and Danau got together and how their talents contradicted and balanced each other.

I'll be sorry when I've finished the Mage and have to say goodbye to the characters in the series.


The Forest Lord (Fane, Bk 1)
The Forest Lord (Fane, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Krinard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 2/23/2009


I enjoy reading Krinard. But this book was not as memorable as her werewolf books. As others have said, the premise is good, but I did not become attached to the characters as I did with the wolf books.


Heart Strings (Homespun)
Heart Strings (Homespun)
Author: Lydia Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/16/2008


I love Browne's books! Her stories are enjoyable. The characters wend their way into your heart. This one is no exception.


An Honorable Man
An Honorable Man
Author: Rosemary Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/16/2008


With a brother who is crazed, a slave who is her like a sister, an obsession with a smuggler, Cameron faces some tough situations. This Civil War story is more than just a light romance and fun read. It is thought provoking as well as extremely entertaining.


Hood (King Raven, Bk 1)
Hood (King Raven, Bk 1)
Author: Stephen R. Lawhead
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 4/3/2010


Excellent take on the Robin Hood story. I enjoyed the details, like the name variations and setting. I couldn't wait to see how this legendary tale would play out. It was a pretty fast read and, though I wasn't enthralled so much that I couldn't put it down at night, I was captivated throughout the entire book. Very good read.


I Do, I Do, I Do
I Do, I Do, I Do
Author: Maggie Osborne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 7/23/2010


Interesting plot, 3 women having married the same man, the man who took from them and then headed for the Alaska Gold Rush. In an attempt to find him, the women cross each other's paths and together they also head for Alaska. Unfortunately, there are aspects that do not match the time period. But it was an entertaining read.


The Last Mermaid
The Last Mermaid
Author: Shana Abe
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 11/13/2017


Loved reading this author's prose, beautiful and unexpected language. Although the stories seemed lacking something to link them together, I'll look for more books by this author because it was such a gorgeous read.


The Master (Sons of Destiny, Bk 3)
The Master (Sons of Destiny, Bk 3)
Author: Jean Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 1/24/2014


I've thoroughly enjoyed the whole series: Sons of Destiny. Jean Johnson exhibits her creativity and talent with this set of books.

Though I did enjoy reading this particular book, continuing with the brothers in the series, it was not one of my favorites. I thought Serina's character was well developed, but missed something with Dominor.

I'll be sorry when I've finished the Mage and have to say goodbye to the characters in the series.


Once Upon a Tower (Fairy Tales, Bk 5)
Once Upon a Tower (Fairy Tales, Bk 5)
Author: Eloisa James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 11/13/2014


James was a new author to me and I started with this book in the series, don't know why I started with Book 5. I loved the anticipation of the girl being put in the tower. And I kept waiting for that event to happen. In the in between time, the characters and story kept me entertained and wanting to read more. I definitely want to read more from this author!


Outlaw
Outlaw
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 10/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Johnnie Carre kidnaps Elizabeth to use to ransom the release of his brother from her fathers dungeons. She was his prisoner and daughter of his sworn enemy. But He wants to make her his, even if it does force a battle and may send him to the gallows.

This is an outstanding story!


Small Treasures (Homespun)
Small Treasures (Homespun)
Author: Kathleen Kane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/16/2008


An odd couple, the big bear of a man who was a recluse (Samuel), and Abby who is petite and feisty. These two find themselves sharing the same cabin until the circuit judge can settle the dispute of ownership of the cabin for them. Loved the humor in this story.

Also loved Lydia Browne's Homespun story! They are outstanding stories.


A Soldier's Duty (Theirs Not To Reason Why, Bk 1)
A Soldier's Duty (Theirs Not To Reason Why, Bk 1)
Author: Jean Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/5/2015


This is not a futuristic romance story. But my interest was held by the idea of a woman with the ability to see the future joining the military with the goal of advancing through the ranks high enough and fast enough to be able to save the galaxy.


The Song (Sons of Destiny, Bk 4)
The Song (Sons of Destiny, Bk 4)
Author: Jean Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 1/24/2014


I've thoroughly enjoyed the whole series: Sons of Destiny. Jean Johnson exhibits her creativity and talent with this set of books.

This book was well done. Evanor's fate is revealed after the happenings of the previous tale, The Master.

I'll be sorry when I've finished the Mage and have to say goodbye to the characters in the series.


The Star King (Star, Bk 1)
The Star King (Star, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Grant
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/27/2014


Loved this book. Grant was a new author to me, and I was pleasantly surprised with this story. Strong female main character, she was a fighter pilot. Strong male character, as well. No wimps or simpering characters in this one. All put together in a good space traveling Sci-Fi. I can't wait to read another by Susan Grant.


The Storm  (Sons of Destiny, Bk 6)
The Storm (Sons of Destiny, Bk 6)
Author: Jean Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 1/24/2014


I've thoroughly enjoyed the whole series: Sons of Destiny. Jean Johnson exhibits her creativity and talent with this set of books.

This particular book was one I liked best. I liked getting to know Rydan and why he was so mysterious and nocturnal. I was afraid he'd be vampiric, but no.

I'll be sorry when I've finished the Mage and have to say goodbye to the characters in the series.


A Tale of Two Vikings (Viking I, Bk 7)
A Tale of Two Vikings (Viking I, Bk 7)
Author: Sandra Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 12/9/2008


Twin Viking brothers both wounded in battle, and each thinking the other is dead. A light, fun story, though we don't get quite as deeply into the characters as in Hill's other stories. Can't delve into the personalities as much when she has to cover both brothers. Toste is rescued by a nun, or almost a nun. And Vagn sees his brother as being attacked by huge black crows (the nuns). While Vagn is under the care of Helga who wants a child but not a husband so seeks advice/lessons from a chambermaid. You'll laugh through this book. I love Hill's humor!!


Wild Hawk (Hawk, Bk 1)
Wild Hawk (Hawk, Bk 1)
Author: Justine Dare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/5/2015


A great story, beginning at Jason's father's funeral where he only attended to spit on his father's grave. A heroine who persists in trying to get Jason to understand his father and the plans for the future.

A bit of paranormal/magic with an heirloom book which will not leave Jason no matter how he tries to be rid of it.

A family legacy for Jason to carry out whether he wants to or not.

Strong characters and highly entertaining plot.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: