Kristen W. (ver0nika23) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
The Book of Shadows (Herculine, Bk 1)
The Book of Shadows (Herculine, Bk 1)
Author: James Reese
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 4


The beginning of this book had me hoping for a fantastic new paranormal series, but I never really got into it. Despite it's initial promise, I found that the characterization and situations dragged a bit for my taste. I didn't think it was *horrible* but I defiantly won't be rereading, nor am I interested in the third book in this series (read the second).


Review Date: 12/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I quite enjoyed this book. Flora is irrepressible, her best friend is funny and fashionable, and the whole story was unique, silly, classic, and heartwarming all at the same time (can you tell I am having a hard time putting it into words?:). I especially enjoyed the gender neutral quality the book had-the boys and the girls have a wide variety of jobs, fashion, and adventure.


Generation T : 108 Ways to Transform a T-Shirt
Generation T : 108 Ways to Transform a T-Shirt
Author: Megan Nicolay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Not my favorite DIY book. There are only 3 or 4 projects that I found innovative or unique, and the measurements given didn't seem to work out for me (I'm average sized-5'4", 130). This is one that I wished I'd waited for on my WL, or gotten from the library instead of ordering new. Your mileage may vary:)


Handmade Modern : Mid-Century Inspired Projects for Your Home
Handmade Modern : Mid-Century Inspired Projects for Your Home
Author: Todd Oldham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/29/2009


I love this book. Defiantly more aspirational than practical for me, but if you have a few tools and a free weekend, this book includes beautiful furniture.


Holidays are Hell: Two Ghosts for Sister Rachel / Run, Run, Rudolph / Six / The Harvest
Review Date: 12/21/2007
Helpful Score: 6


I really enjoyed 3 of the 4 stories in this collection. Harrison is a big fave of mine and it was great taking a peak at Rachel's younger self. I found the Sands story just silly-didn't like the writing style or the plot. I had not read Liu or Pettersson before, but they are going on my wish list now:)


Imajica
Imajica
Author: Clive Barker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This is the book that solidified Clive Barker as one of my favorite authors. I have given away probably 10 copied (after rereading!) and the story never gets old. One of the few books I recommend with no hesitation.


Iron Council
Iron Council
Author: China Mieville
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is my favorite of Mieville's work. The story is enchanting, yet topical, and beautifully written. One of the few books my DH and I agree on. Can be read alone, but reading Perdido Street Station helps to define the races of characters, locations, etc.


Northern Lights
Northern Lights
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 623
Review Date: 6/30/2007


First Nora Roberts I ever read. I was expecting bad, drawn out, pulp fiction romance, but instead found a wonderful story and some great characters. I defiantly recommend this, even if romance isn't typically your thing.


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 6


I found the idea for this book much more intriguing than the book itself. I never connected with any of the characters and many of the relationships and situations seemed forced and unnatural.


Over Hexed (Hex, Bk 1)
Over Hexed (Hex, Bk 1)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 10/23/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is a goofy and fun book that doesn't take itself too seriously. Very enjoyable!


Parable of the Talents (Parable, Bk 2)
Parable of the Talents (Parable, Bk 2)
Author: Octavia E. Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I wasn't sure if I liked this book or not while I was reading it, but it has stuck with me for months afterward. And that to me is one sign of a great book.
Edited to add that reading the first book in the series (Parable of the Sower) made this book more enjoyable.


The Secret History of the Pink Carnation (Pink Carnation, Bk 1)
The Secret History of the Pink Carnation (Pink Carnation, Bk 1)
Author: Lauren Willig
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the few books that I have ever wanted to burn, or at the very least throw hard against a wall. The book description led me to believe that the book was historical fiction centered around a female spy. Instead, I found it to be a very poorly (IMO) written romance, with an insufferable heroine who spent most of her time sniffing, and who couldn't spy her way out of a paper bag.


Sweet Revenge
Sweet Revenge
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 8/31/2007


This was an enjoyable story. Good, strong female lead, and an unexpectedly balanced view of religion and culture.


The System of the World (The Baroque Cycle, Vol. 3)
The System of the World (The Baroque Cycle, Vol. 3)
Author: Neal Stephenson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 7/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I got a little tired of this series after book 2, but boy am I glad I kept on reading! Stephenson somehow manages to wrap up the entire series in the last 15 pages of this book, and delivers the goods!


A Wrinkle in Time (Time, Bk 1)
A Wrinkle in Time (Time, Bk 1)
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 889
Review Date: 7/13/2007
Helpful Score: 11


This was THE book that got me into sci-fi/fantasy. I haven't read it in probably 20 years, but I still remember parts of this book, and the series in general. These have a fairly heavy Christian/moral tone that I did not notice until I was older, but are highly recommended for kids of all/no faiths, especially those who feel "geeky" and unappreciated.


The Zombie Survival Guide : Complete Protection from the Living Dead
The Zombie Survival Guide : Complete Protection from the Living Dead
Author: Max Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 12/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book. I am now the neighbor coordinator in case of a local zombie infestation. This training manual contains all of the essentials: weapons, tactics, supplies and first hand information from those who have survived an onslaught of the undead. Required reading.


1 to 16 of 16