Erin W. (erinrae) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 484
Review Date: 7/4/2009


Angels & Demons is a fast read with a really compelling story and some interesting factual information in it. It's written at a pretty low level, but is fun and interesting nevertheless. This book doesn't disappoint!


As I Lay Dying
As I Lay Dying
Author: William Faulkner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 7/4/2009


This was my first attempt at Faulkner. Somehow I managed to go through my entire undergraduate degree in English without so much as glancing at a Faulkner book. I was neither surprised nor disappointed in this book, it was about what I expected. It takes awhile to get in to the vernacular, but the story is interesting enough to get you through. All-in-all a worthy classic but by no means a "fun" read.


Diary
Diary
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 244
Review Date: 7/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I am a huge Chuck Palahniuk fan and picked up Diary after devouring Invisible Monsters and Choke within a few days of each other. I was REALLY disappointed in Diary! The plot just wasn't settling with me and was nonsensical in a way that only made Palahniuk's other books more amazing. I would pass on this if you were new to Palahniuk's work.


The Memory of Running
The Memory of Running
Author: Ron McLarty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 7/4/2009


I hadn't heard of this book until I came across it while browsing on PBS. It was a pleasant surprise, well-written with a very lovable and memorable main character. It is a very sweet and lovely book and I could immediately think of several friends who would find this book as special as I did. I highly recommend it.


The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 7/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


When Poisonwood Bible was published, I worked in a book store and couldn't believe how many people flocked to it. As a result, I was skeptical and avoided reading it until recently. This book was absolutely phenomenal and I was sorry not to have read it sooner! The writing is outstanding, and the character development is undeniably perfect. I was hugely attached to the characters and was hungry to learn more about the world they lived in. Poisonwood Bible is clearly well researched and truly is a masterpiece deserving of more accolades than it has received.


Rise and Shine
Rise and Shine
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 7/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Don't let the book jacket deceive you about this one! It sounded like an interesting enough story-- sisters working their way through life, careers, love in the wake of one sister's epic live TV blunder. Unfortunately, the story is told through the voice of the sister who has absolutely nothing interesting happen to her. Rise and Shine is almost completely about the "other" sister who is not telling the story, and she is far and away more fascinating than the book's narrator. It is very frustrating in that way. I didn't care at all about the narrator! The writing was lovely, though, but not enough to warrant a more favorable review.


Shopgirl
Shopgirl
Author: Steve Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 7/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A funny, fast read that is completely forgettable. I love Steve Martin for his cleverness and way with words, but this book is just average.


Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith
Under the Banner of Heaven : A Story of Violent Faith
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 570
Review Date: 7/4/2009


This book was absolutely amazing and I learned more about the Mormon faith from it than I have learned from any of my Mormon friends. While most Mormons see this book as an unflattering view of their faith's history, I really took it as a compliment to their passionate dedication to their God and their heritage. I think Krakauer researched this book impeccably and brought a very unbiased view in to some of the more extreme sects of Mormonism. He writes with confidence but also acknowledges there are parts of the story that he can not speak to. All in all a fascinating book that taught me a lot and brought a new appreciation for one of the world's fastest growing religions.


Water for Elephants
Water for Elephants
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 4732
Review Date: 7/4/2009


This was an enjoyable read with a really interesting story. Not a literary masterpiece, but it is fun, accessible, unique, well researched, and written with authority. There were times I couldn't put it down because I had to see what happened next!


Written on the Body
Written on the Body
Author: Jeanette Winterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 7/4/2009
Helpful Score: 4


A friend insisted that I read this book for the groundbreaking writing. She said that I would appreciate it as a writer, and she was right. The story, however, was unmemorable and almost uncomfortable and depressing at times. I won't deny that Winterson is a gifted writer but this book wasn't my cup of tea when it comes to reading for pleasure.


1 to 10 of 10