Facebook

Kathy H. (Nellie) - , - Reviews

1 to 13 of 13
Acts of Faith
Acts of Faith
Author: Philip Caputo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/27/2013


Excellent. One of the best books I've read this year. If you are interested in what is going on in Sudan and other parts of Africa, this is a must read.


American on Purpose: The Improbable Adventures of an Unlikely Patriot
Review Date: 9/21/2010


Great book, well written and honest.


Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Between a Rock and a Hard Place
Author: Aron Ralston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book. I couldn't put it down.


Bringing Home the Birkin: My Life in Hot Pursuit of the World's Most Coveted Handbag
Review Date: 5/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I had never even heard of Birkin before this book. Very funny and extremely well-written, I can hardly wait to read more of Michael's adventures.


Casino
Casino
Author: Nicholas Pileggi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/25/2007


After I read this book, I went and saw the movie. Fascinating! It read like a good true crime novel, only it was really true.


Coping With Sorrow on the Loss of Your Pet
Coping With Sorrow on the Loss of Your Pet
Author: Moira K. Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/25/2009


This is an excellent book that covers all topics dealing with loss of your beloved companion, getting a new pet afterward, etc. I highly recommend it.


Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America
Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America
Author: Firoozeh Dumas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 1/1/2009


Very funny and enjoyable. Looking forward to reading her next one.


Judge & Jury
Judge & Jury
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 450
Review Date: 4/25/2007


In my opinion, not one of his best. The details were not realistic. I work in a courtroom and I guarantee you there is no way a judge would ever talk to a juror off the record in chambers without counsel present. That is a mistrial waiting to happen.


Kaffir Boy: The True Story of a Black Youth's Coming of Age in Apartheid South Africa
Review Date: 8/26/2008


This is one of the best books I have read in the last few years. If anyone thinks they have a bad life, read this and your perception will change. I can't even imagine going through what the author did and surviving. An amazing true story.


Love in the Driest Season
Love in the Driest Season
Author: Neely Tucker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/1/2009


Don't read this book in public unless you don't mind people seeing you cry. It's great.


Prisoner of Tehran : One Woman's Story of Survival Inside an Iranian Prison
Review Date: 5/26/2010


If ever there was an effective argument in favor of separation of church and state, this book is it. This is what happens (and what is happening right now in some countries, but thankfully NOT the USA) when religion runs the state. VERY scary.


Relic (Pendergast, Bk 1)
Relic (Pendergast, Bk 1)
Author: Douglas J. Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 415
Review Date: 5/7/2007


The first Preston-Child I read. Extremely scary. Scarier than "Salem's Lot".


Sky Burial
Sky Burial
Author: Xinran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/23/2008


Excellent book and amazing story. I couldn't put it down.


1 to 13 of 13