Carolyn A. (carolynalt) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Affairs of Steak (White House Chef , Bk 5)
Affairs of Steak (White House Chef , Bk 5)
Author: Julie Hyzy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/8/2015


I really enjoy this series from Julie Hyzy. Not a lot of blood and violence but some good mysteries just the same. I like the behind-the-scenes-at-the-White-House, too. I recommend!!


Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Allan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 12/6/2016


I really like this book. It's a different style of writing where the author makes "aside" comments like she was talking to you. I just finished her third book and am on the lookout for the rest. definitely a fun read!


The Art of Arranging Flowers
The Art of Arranging Flowers
Author: Lynne Branard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/11/2016


I really enjoyed this book. A great, warm story. Clean. No blood. Just all-around a solid read!!


Death of a Kitchen Diva (Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails, Bk 1)
Death of a Kitchen Diva (Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails, Bk 1)
Author: Lee Hollis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/14/2015


the book is okaaaay but not one of the best of the cozy genre


Delete All Suspects (Turing Hopper, Bk 4)
Delete All Suspects (Turing Hopper, Bk 4)
Author: Donna Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/9/2014


I liked it. Simple and non-violent. But I think this is the last of the Turing Hopper stories. Hate to see "her" go.


Faux Finished  (An Interior Design Mystery, Bk 1)
Faux Finished (An Interior Design Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Peg Marberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/10/2015


it's an okay read but I need a little more "meat" to the story.


Getting Old is a Disaster (Gladdy Gold, Bk 5)
Getting Old is a Disaster (Gladdy Gold, Bk 5)
Author: Rita Lakin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/21/2018


Gladdy Gold is such a fun character. I have such a clear view of these senior crime-fighters. Gladdy to the rescue!


Getting Old is Criminal (Gladdy Gold, Bk 3)
Getting Old is Criminal (Gladdy Gold, Bk 3)
Author: Rita Lakin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 3/21/2018


Gladdy Gold is a hoot. These stories are just plain fun.


Getting Old Is Murder (Gladdy Gold, Bk 1)
Getting Old Is Murder (Gladdy Gold, Bk 1)
Author: Rita Lakin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 2/16/2018


I really liked this book, this series, this character. I've read the first two, have ordered the next 3 or 4. Gladdy Gold is a hoot! I want to be that feisty. I have a great picture of her, uh, mature gang of ladies on a stake-out or chasing the bad guys. This is a good FUN read!


Her Better Half (Next)
Her Better Half (Next)
Author: C. J. Carmichael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/17/2015


I really liked this one. There seemed to be a good solid plot line and, even though I knew where it was headed, I still came away thinking "this is right" about the ending. Recommended!


Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Home to Holly Springs (Father Tim, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 2/18/2017


Jan Karon's Mitford series and the Father Tim series are so warm and so friendly. So familiar. Highly recommended!!


The House of Silk (Sherlock Holmes)
The House of Silk (Sherlock Holmes)
Author: Anthony Horowitz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/7/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I'd be interested to know what someone else thinks about this book. I thought it was great, very Sherlock-ian, for the first 250 pages. then it went into icky. Couldn't have been pirates? No Couldn't have been a plot against the government?. No Couldn't have been a political kidnapping? No Without giving anything away, I can say that I was really disappointed.


Off Her Rocker (Next)
Off Her Rocker (Next)
Author: Jennifer Archer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/15/2015


Loved this book. I wasn't familiar with the author so I didn't know what I'd be getting. Good story and just enough ??? to keep you interested. I've traveled southern CO in bad weather so I could totally relate to the setting. Just wish it was available in audio form for my friend who doesn't read book-books. Recommended!


Plum Lovin' (Between the Numbers, Bk 2) (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12.5)
Plum Lovin' (Between the Numbers, Bk 2) (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12.5)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 838
Review Date: 5/7/2015


the whole Stephanie Plum series is and has been a great, fun read. highly recommended!!


The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend
The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend
Author: Katarina Bivald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/2/2017


This is a wonderful story. Small town Iowa. Lots of very real characters. It's a warm book. It's an "awwww" book. It sounds silly but I think it's a happy book. No blood. No bodies. No forensics. Just a warm and fuzzy story. How highly do I recommend this book? I'm keeping this one on my "forever" shelf and not putting it out for swap. I don't make higher recommendations than that!


The Shadow Dancer (Wind River Reservation, Bk 8)
The Shadow Dancer (Wind River Reservation, Bk 8)
Author: Margaret Coel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/5/2014


I really like this series. I just "found" the author but she's been writing about 20 years. I'm enjoying the story line as well as learning about Indian traditions.


Skirting the Grave (Vintage Magic, Bk 4)
Skirting the Grave (Vintage Magic, Bk 4)
Author: Annette Blair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 1/12/2017


Nope. Sorry. This one just didn't do it for me. Just TOO convoluted and too many story lines. A vintage clothing store. "Psychic" readings by wearing vintage clothing. Ghost in the store. And another mystery in the little town? Any of the story lines would have been good-just not all of them in one book.


Smoke Screen (Dido Hoare, Bk 3)
Smoke Screen (Dido Hoare, Bk 3)
Author: Marianne MacDonald
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/4/2016


I've always liked books about books. The main character is a strong, smart and interesting, too. I'd like to have a coffee with her to talk about old books. Good series!! I liked this one a lot.


Vanishing Act (Jane Whitfield, Bk 1)
Vanishing Act (Jane Whitfield, Bk 1)
Author: Thomas Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/30/2017


Loved this book. Love the character. I'd read it years ago and just gave it a re-read. Absolutely fast-paced. Jane Whitefield is a guide. If you find out your boss is cooking the books and need to disappear, Jane is who you need to call. I'm exhausted when I read this series-in the front door, out the back door, up the stairs, down the stairs, into the airport as a blond, out of the airport as a brunette. Wrong way down the freeway exit. Whew!! Just a good, fast, fun read. Totally recommended!


The Vanishing Man: A Prequel to the Charles Lenox Series (Charles Lenox Mysteries)
Review Date: 8/11/2019


London. 1853. Missing painting. Secrets and murder. And one of the best scenes ever describing a "toff" getting his comeuppance. You don't usually get murder and laugh-out-loud in one book but Charles Finch did it here. Highly recommended.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: