Christine G. (chrisrph) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Catering to Nobody (Goldy Schulz, Bk 1)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 11/28/2009


the first of the series.... a quick read and a surprise ending.


The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 309
Review Date: 4/7/2010


another good book in this series. I had suspected the murderer from the start, but there were plenty of other characters along the way that tried to throw me off!


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 7/9/2012


Many people will find this book difficult to read. The characters are very deep and thought provoking. Even if you disagree with some of the situations presented in this book (abortion, incest, premarital sex), it is still an excellent story, very well told. This is very typical John Irving -- and I loved every page of it! If you choose to read it, don't give up -- it's a very good read!


Cinderella Man
Cinderella Man
Author: Marc Cerasini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I received this book from Country Inn and Suites as part of their Read It and Return series. They have a library of books and encourage guests to take a book, read it and return it on their next visit. If you take this book, I encourage you to read it and return it, or pass it along to another who will read it. The whole purpose of the program is for people to rad as much as possible- it is a literacy support program. The book is fairly well written, and is a quick read. The book is based on the screenplay with support from other books about the depression era and professional boxing. If you liked the movie, you will enjoy reading this book. If you have not seen the movie, you will still like it.


The Deep Blue Alibi (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 2)
The Deep Blue Alibi (Solomon vs. Lord, Bk 2)
Author: Paul Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A fun little caper, thick with offbeat humor.


East of the Arch (Joe Keough, Bk 4)
East of the Arch (Joe Keough, Bk 4)
Author: Robert J. Randisi
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/13/2010


Another great St Louis area thriller from Robert Randisi. When I got near the end, I could not put it down. The ending was totally unexpected.


I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 10/22/2014


thoughtfully written, this is a very moving story of this remarkable woman's life. I had the privilege of hearing her speak and tell much of this story. America has lost a great treasure with her passing.


Killer Pancake (Goldy Schulz, Bk 5)
Killer Pancake (Goldy Schulz, Bk 5)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 6/6/2010


another cute book in this series.


The Last Suppers (Goldy Schulz, Bk 4)
The Last Suppers (Goldy Schulz, Bk 4)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 4/22/2010


Another good book from Diane Mott Davidson. This was is heavy on the Episcopal Church as well as the food. I found myself wanting to race to the end.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 902
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a thoroughly enjoyable book. The details are incredible and really draw you into the story. I felt that the story rushed near the end, but overall, it was a very good read.


Morality for Beautiful Girls (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 3)
Review Date: 5/1/2012


another charming book in this delightful series!


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (No 1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Review Date: 1/22/2010


I resisted picking up this book for a long time and quite frankly I don't know why I even bought it. I am now sorry that I waited so long. A charming book- serious, sad, funny and warm. Happy ending too.


Reckless
Reckless
Author: Shannon Drake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 11/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I had a hard time getting started with this book, but after about 1/3 of the way, I had a hard time putting it down. I knew someone in the book was up to no good, but I was completely surprised by the ending!


Red Dragon (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 1)
Red Dragon (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 1)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 688
Review Date: 6/12/2009


I had already seen the movie, so I knew how this would end, but the writing was absolutely gripping. The descriptions are vivid. As my son would say, "cweepy".


Restless Hearts (Flanagans, Bk 6) (Love Inspired, No 388) (Larger Print)
Review Date: 7/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A heartwarming story about a woman looking for a new start and finding her family roots. Fiona, the center of the story, finds a new life, her family and of course, a new love, along the way. A quick read.


A Simple Plan
A Simple Plan
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/27/2010


It is simply horrifying what some people will do for money. It seems OK in the beginning, but the web of lies and deception cause people to spiral out of control. One lie starts another, and then another..... This was a very good read.


Tears of the Giraffe (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 2)
Tears of the Giraffe (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 2)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 617
Review Date: 1/5/2012


another wonderful book in this series! You can't help but fall in love with the characters, especially Mma Ramotswe!


The Touch
The Touch
Author: Colleen McCullough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Although this book was very interesting, some parts of the story were very far-fetched. I think she could have also done a better job explaining a few of the things mentioned in the book- a brief description would have worked very well, especially for a lot of the mining terms. Not sorry I spent the time to read it, just thought it wasn't her best.


1 to 18 of 18