Mona C. (monac) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
The American Heiress
The American Heiress
Author: Daisy Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 9/21/2012


Lightweight, but very entertaining.


Before the Fall
Before the Fall
Author: Noah Hawley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/5/2016


A very engrossing mystery with lots of interesting characters. It was hard to put down!


A Handful of Promises (Zebra Regency Romance)
A Handful of Promises (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Jeanne Savery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/29/2016


This book is so good that I'm keeping it to read again some time. The Hero and Heroine are not glamorous, but are sincere and interesting. I really cared about them, unlike to so many romance characters who are shallow stereotypes. This book reminded me of Carla Kelly and Mary Balogh. Highly recommended.


The Hanover Square Affair (Captain Gabriel Lacey, Bk 1)
The Hanover Square Affair (Captain Gabriel Lacey, Bk 1)
Author: Ashley Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 9/9/2015


I was very surprised that this book was written by Jennifer Ashley, whose novels are usually fairly light reading. This series is a whole different ball game. The writing is serious in tone, the plots address troubling subjects, and the hero is dejected and seemingly sinking lower. All that said, I enjoyed the book and am reading the next books in the series, both for the mysteries and to find out if Captain Lacey ever gets it together. Unfortunately, I have to be in the right mood so I don't get depressed:(


A Heart's Treasure (Zebra Regency Romance)
A Heart's Treasure (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Teresa DesJardien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/29/2016


A fun romance about a treasure hunt and developing relationships along the way.


The Lady Most Likely
The Lady Most Likely
Author: Eloisa James, Connie Brockway, Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 7/17/2015


A very entertaining romantic romp.


Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's
Look Me in the Eye: My Life with Asperger's
Author: John Elder Robison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 12/16/2011


An interesting story, but not very well written.


Marrying the Royal Marine (Harlequin Historical, No 998)
Marrying the Royal Marine (Harlequin Historical, No 998)
Author: Carla Kelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 6/5/2014


I loved this book. Carla Kelly writes about ordinary people, this time in extraordinary circumstances. The romance developed slowly as the characters learned about each other in close quarters. There was a little too much suspense and danger for me. I confess I read the ending early just to reassure myself that everything would turn out OK. I'm just sorry there are no additional books in this series.


Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker
Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/11/2014
Helpful Score: 2


This book gave far too much historical and military detail,, which slowed the plot and character development to a crawl. I know the author wanted to provide context, but The book was titled " Dressmaker" not "the Civil War". I couldn't get past page 50 after three tries.


Ravished
Ravished
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 3/9/2014


This has become one of my favorite books. The characters were fresh and vivid and the mystery underlying the plot was well presented. I especially liked the heroine, who was smart, had a career finding fossils, and maintained her independence.


Saving Grace
Saving Grace
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 399
Review Date: 3/20/2014


I really enjoyed this book. It's very much in the vein of other Julie Garwood books - taciturn warrior hero meets innocent, stubborn heroine - but the characters were likeable and the problems they encounter were interesting and well-drawn. I highly recommend for a light, engaging read.


Silent In The Grave (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 1)
Silent In The Grave (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 1)
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 7/9/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book for it's plot and characters. I was totally engrossed and neglected my chores to satisfy my need to find out what happened next. For me, it's a keeper. I can't wait to read the next books in the series.


Silent In The Sanctuary (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 2)
Silent In The Sanctuary (Lady Julia Grey, Bk 2)
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 7/9/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I loved Silent in the Grave so much that this sequel just couldn't live up to it. Nonetheless, it still grabbed my attention with a new crime to solve and fascinating characters, both familiar and new. I'm hooked on Deanna Raybourn!


Thief of Shadows (Maiden Lane, Bk 4)
Thief of Shadows (Maiden Lane, Bk 4)
Author: Elizabeth Hoyt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 4/4/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of my favorite Elizabeth Hoyt books. Loved the hero and heroine - a real case of opposites attract. Add in a crime mystery and lots of romantic back and forth and you have a winner.


1 to 14 of 14