Debra L. (dzlynn) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Bodyguard
Bodyguard
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 7/24/2009


Loved this book. So far all of Suzanne Brockmann's books I've read never fail to draw in the reader, taking him/her along for the ride! I'm an avid reader, and so few authors now-a-days can keep my attention long enough to finish their books. So many just throw a few words together and POOF! their published. Gah! I hate more than anything to spend well-earned dollars on a poorly written book!

I know not everyone will feel the same as I do in regards to this author's books, but the only negative reviews I've read aren't about the writing, but about what's being written about.

I've yet to read a negative review of Suzanne Brockmann's writing style, and that's why I'll read each and every one of her books I get my hands on, from cover-to-cover. More than once.

The heartfelt emotion in this book had tears in my eyes, along with laughing out loud and routing for the underdogs! This book was my reward, to sit and enjoy, and enjoy it I did, AFTER I made myself (EEK!) do (gagging) HOUSEWORK! I'm a bit of a neat freak, but I tell'ya, I DON'T LIKE IT!!!

So do yourself a enjoyable favor-order this book, and then give yourself the time to read it uninterrupted--you will not regret it.


Cat Toy
Cat Toy
Author: Illian Obsidian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


It sounded really good-but didn't follow through, though I did enjoy reading it.


Code Name: Baby (Code Name, Bk 3)
Code Name: Baby (Code Name, Bk 3)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 7/26/2011


I really enjoyed this book, it's fast paced, has a plot, and the 'genetic' puppies are great! And did not have sex every other page....which is a plus as it allowed the plot depth. I will be reading more from this author.


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 11/9/2008


Finally read this book....AFTER the others in the series!!! LOL! I ended up getting the 2nd in the series first, not realizing at the time, it was the 2nd. After that, it was hard to find......glad I finally read it!!!

I loved this book! It explained some necessary information that's not in the others. And I loved the hero and heroine!


Defy Not the Heart (Shefford, Bk 1)
Defy Not the Heart (Shefford, Bk 1)
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 8/23/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is a wonderful story by Johanna Lindsey. Knight's and their Ladies, young lads, and, gasp, Theo. Rereading it, I found I love the hidden conflict in the beginning, of knowing who 'Lord Richard' really is, and all the rest of the characters are vividly portaited.

Well worth the time and money (or credit).

As for the covers, all reprints, (and this one is) always have different covers, which is a shame, because the original drool-worthy cover used model Fabio for the golden knight Ranulf.


Evermore (Darkyn, Bk 5)
Evermore (Darkyn, Bk 5)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 2/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very slow to get into in the beginning. Had to force myself to read this one past the first 100 pages....glad I did though. Not my favorite of the series, as there was a lot of jumping around and it it felt like the first half of the book was stuck in the same place...never moving forward....then suddenly it did. I loved Jayr and all the others, it just felt lacking to begin with. The later half of the book was great. I still hope to see Nottingham later on. Everyone deserves another chance! Great Series!


The Hell You Say (Adrien English, Bk 3)
The Hell You Say (Adrien English, Bk 3)
Author: Josh Lanyon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/18/2008


Fanyon Here!!! I love Josh Lanyon's work-and writing is WORK!!! BUT! I know what I know! And that's a very well written book! And this one is not only well written, excuted and emotionally riveting-it is an in depth look into the lives of Adrien and Jake-more than a bit on the dark side of human emotions, but a necessary one for these two. If you are looking for well written m/m mystery, romance(yep!)and A PLOT AND STORYLINE, this author has it all.

This is the third book in the Adrien English Mystery series, which SHOULD BE READ IN ORDER, so read the first two, Fatal Shadows, and A Dangerous Thing, FIRST! Buy them, e-book or print, borrow them, (someone you know probably has them!), however you can get them-READ THEM! (No Stealing! LOL!) For m/m, mystery fans, they are well worth it!


Jane's Warlord (Warlord, Bk 1)
Jane's Warlord (Warlord, Bk 1)
Author: Angela Knight
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 385
Review Date: 10/13/2008


Another really good book from Angela Knight!


Kitty and the Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville, Bk 1)
Kitty and the Midnight Hour (Kitty Norville, Bk 1)
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 684
Review Date: 10/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Carrie Vaughn does and excellent job in the start to her new series-don't miss it if you love werewolf/vampire novels.


Kitty and the Silver Bullet (Kitty Norville, Bk 4)
Kitty and the Silver Bullet (Kitty Norville, Bk 4)
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 10/24/2008


Finally finished up this one in the series, and really liked it. For those of you reading this series--don't miss this one!!


Kitty Goes to Washington (Kitty Norville, Bk 2)
Kitty Goes to Washington (Kitty Norville, Bk 2)
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 510
Review Date: 10/24/2008


I loved this series by Carrie Vaughn--don't miss it!!! It's well worth the dollars spent.


Kitty Takes a Holiday (Kitty Norville, Bk 3)
Kitty Takes a Holiday (Kitty Norville, Bk 3)
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 444
Review Date: 10/4/2008


Definitely a different ending then I expected, but a really good continuation of the series-which are going on my 'keeper' list!


Master of the Night (Mageverse, Bk 2)
Master of the Night (Mageverse, Bk 2)
Author: Angela Knight
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 10/13/2008


Excellent Book in the series-not to be missed!


Moon Sworn (Riley Jenson Guardian, Bk 9)
Moon Sworn (Riley Jenson Guardian, Bk 9)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 6/7/2010


I swore off this author after she killed off Kade in the previous book. I read for pleasure, not total reality.....yet....I couldn't pass this one up. I wanted closure for this series. Yep. Got it too with this book....now I can go back to passing up on books from this author.

I bought this one not knowing what to expect. I would have rated it a 4 1/2 or 5 instead of a 3 1/2, except to write this one the way she did, she had to kill off Kade in the last one, and he was one of my favorite charactors.

Onwards.

This is a good, well-written book, yet the one inconsistancy....which drove me crazy...is about where clothes, cell phones, etc. go when a shifter shifts. Page 69 says she (Riley) can't explain it, but the magic takes care of all of that, yet everytime she shifts, her clothes come out shredded, worse with each shift. Other than that, this book is well-worth the money.


Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson, Bk 5)
Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson, Bk 5)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/7/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this book. I had it on my wish list, but didn't want to wait forever to get it....now I'll reread the series in order. lol

It's well-worth the money paid, and is an intense, informative, well-written continuation of the 'Mercy kicks butt' series.

I had no problem with Samuel/Sam's character in this book, as I've read others have had. I felt Ms Briggs did a wonderful job bringing Samuel/Sam a chance of 'happy ever after'. It's not all roses (read between the lines) and I can't wait to read his story.

I'm sure Ms Briggs will do a wonderful job telling it. We all know he is an 'old' wolf, and we all know we don't know a lot of his history....so having an 'old' love show up and save him does not suspend disbelief, especially since they have a lot of things to work out.

My only real complaint is Mercy always saves the day. Yeah, I know, this series is about Mercy, but as bad-ass as Adam is, he never really gets to help 'save' Mercy. It's all talk, no action there. Most all the other wolves get to help her out, so why not Adam?

Otherwise, this is a really good book and encourage you to pick it up.


The Windflower
The Windflower
Author: Laura London
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/18/2008


I picked this romance book up in 1990, and I'm so glad I did! I read it every so offen to revisit their world. This is one of the best books I've read and I always have my nose in a book! I love the hero/heroine, and Cat is another of my favorites, and I wish the authors would have told his story, for there is one--it's just waiting to be told! This is a 'keeper' and very hard to find, it's so good!


1 to 16 of 16