Cassandra T. (dreamweaver2040) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Anne of Green Gables
Anne of Green Gables
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/10/2007


The ultimate girl's classic! Your little girl/early teenager has to read Anne of Green Gables. Then sit down and watch the movies with her. It's good, clean, romantic fun.


The Art of Mingling : Easy, Proven Techniques for Mastering Any Room
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I saw this book at a thrift store and thought it looked hilarious, I just had to buy it. It's a pleasant little how-to book for those among us who are small-talk challenged. And I was right...it is frightfully amusing!


Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Author: Donald Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 359
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 11


There were some "lightbulb moments" in this book, but I would more call it a set of interesting anecdotes regarding one man's journey to faith.


Candide
Candide
Author: John Butt (Translator), Voltaire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 4/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A satirical masterpiece from the master himself: Voltaire. Candide is blown by the winds of fortune every which way, but manages to remain convinced that no matter how inhuman the violence, no matter how senseless the suffering, all things continue to work out for the best.


A Clockwork Orange
A Clockwork Orange
Author: Anthony Burgess
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 351
Review Date: 3/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really thought this book was great. Burgess creates an entire new world and a whole dictionary of slang, which in itself is extraordinary. The story is one of brutality, human choice, and the true meaning of redemption.
*The slang was very confusing for the first three or so pages, but then I felt like I could understand everything as if he were speaking plain English. Give your brain a chance and I think the same will happen for you!


The Count of Monte Cristo (Puffin Classics) : Abridged
Review Date: 3/10/2007


This is a nice abridged classic, suitable for teenagers.


David Copperfield : BBC (Audio Cassette)
David Copperfield : BBC (Audio Cassette)
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/24/2007


I was surprised at how much I loved listening to this on my commute to and from work. Even coming home from a long day, I still felt like I could sit in my car longer and hear more of the excellently acted BBC recording. Just by voices, there are characters you will come to love and those you will come to despise.
You know it's good when you care about the characters and you don't want it to end!


Fall on Your Knees
Fall on Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 3/12/2007


This is a perfectly written Canadian family saga. Everything about it is beautiful and heartbreaking. It's a novel you won't soon forget.


Hamlet
Hamlet
Author: Kenneth Branagh, William Shakespeare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/10/2007


This screenplay, introduction, and film diary for the Kenneth Branagh production was just fascinating. It's the entire text of Hamlet as a film script, complete with film shots and stage directions. Very interesting.


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 689
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was an amazing futuristic story that will scare the bejeezus out of any self-respecting woman. Margaret Atwood is a brilliant storyteller.
"The Handmaid's Tale deserves the highest praise." The San Fransisco Chronicle.


Happy Housewives
Happy Housewives
Author: Darla Shine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/17/2012


This book is a train wreck. Perhaps Darla Shine is not a horrible person in real life, but she certainly portrays herself as a very judgmental lady in her writing. At one point she admitted that she wanted to push her shopping cart right into an overweight woman's "big fat ***" because she was angry that the woman was so unhealthy and teaching her overweight child to be unhealthy too. Wow. There are other gems in this book, too, about how we should basically use our husbands simply for money and sex and get emotional fulfillment from our friends, since apparently men aren't capable of holding a conversation or putting the toilet seat down. Some may enjoy her vapid, witchy banter. But this housewife prefers to stay positive.


Howards End (Barnes  Noble Classics Series) (BN Classics Trade Paper)
Howards End (Barnes Noble Classics Series) (BN Classics Trade Paper)
Author: E.M. Forster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! In protagonist Margaret, I have found a new heroine of fiction. Forster is such a great novelist, using words to weave the reader into an entirely different world.


Les Miserables (Classics Collection)
Les Miserables (Classics Collection)
Author: Victor Hugo
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/29/2007


This is a masterful story and it's really reall well told by Ben Cross (of Chariots of Fire fame). I'm assuming this is unabridged, because it doesn't mention any abridging on the package. Two hours went by like nothing on my commute to work!


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3371
Review Date: 5/15/2007
Helpful Score: 17


This book was simply amazing. Lots of people said I should read it, and while I was halfway through I was still thinking, "There's got to be something I'm missing here."
There was.
Just keep reading...you won't be disappointed!


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 914
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Chick lit for the new mommy set. It was an ok read, I just didn't really identify with the characters, not being a new mommy myself (or anywhere near it!)


Marriable: Taking the Desperate Out of Dating
Marriable: Taking the Desperate Out of Dating
Author: Hayley Dimarco, Michael Dimarco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/6/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I kinda thought that this book looked lame when I first got it, but I soon found out that despite appearances, this book is hilarious, informative and just the kick in the pants needed by some young Christians (this includes yours truly!). It's a little cutesy, but still manages to be hard-hitting and honest. I devoured this book in a matter of hours and have been thinking about it ever since.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I started reading this book before all the controversy...and I'm glad I did because I was so arrested by the book by the time all the "truth" came out, I ended up not caring what was true and what was not. It's a great story no matter how you look at it.


Otherwise Pandemonium
Otherwise Pandemonium
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/10/2007


Fans of Nick Hornby's other works (High Fidelity, Fever Pitch) will be entertained by his short stories, one of which was written particularly for this little volume. (Book is 56 pages long.)


Out of the Garden: Women Writers on the Bible
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is an intelligent collection of essays from women writers. They write on everyone from Job to the Queen of Sheba, and it's never less than engaging.


Poems : Maya Angelou
Poems : Maya Angelou
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Angelou is a living legend and an American treasure. This anthology includes the ever popular "Phenomenal Woman".


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: