Cassandra T. (dreamweaver2040) - Reviews

21 to 29 of 29 - Page:
Ragtime
Ragtime
Author: E. L. Doctorow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 3/10/2007


One of those "great American novels" that people are always talking about. Do yourself a favor and read this book...then go see the musical they made from it. It's completely brilliant, a very good representation of the events of this historical novel.


So Many Books, So Little Time : A Year of Passionate Reading
So Many Books, So Little Time : A Year of Passionate Reading
Author: Sara Nelson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/30/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I think the author's definition of what qualifies as a good book didn't jibe with mine, but in any case I really didn't like this book! I stopped halfway through, which I almost never do. Ironically, it was one of the tenets of the author that prompted me to do it: she says that a sign of maturity and freedom is to be able to set a book down that you don't like, no matter how much or little time you have invested in it. So I got some good advice after all!


A Tale of Two Cities
A Tale of Two Cities
Author: Charles Dickens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 3/10/2007


This is truly one of the great novels of all time, in my humble opinion. Read the book, then watch the weird black and white movie they made it into!


A Taste of the Unexpected
A Taste of the Unexpected
Author: Roald Dahl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/10/2007


For those who are only familiar with Roald Dahl as a children's book author...you will be pleasantly surprised at the way his devilish humor translates to his short stories for adults. (Please note: this book is 56 pages long).


Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith
Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 6/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Anne Lamott is brilliantly vulnerable and uproariously funny in this collection of personal essays/memoirs on faith and her belief in God.


The Unguide to Dating: A He Said/She Said on Relationships
Review Date: 3/10/2007


Good for Christian singles to hear that they are not alone in the struggles they face trying to date outside of a school environment.


The Witch of Blackbird Pond
The Witch of Blackbird Pond
Author: Elizabeth George Speare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a brilliant Young Adult book, and a deserving winner of the Newberry Award for American Children's LIterature. Love, orphans, Puritans, Quakers and suspected witchcraft all make this a must-read.


World of Knitted Toys
World of Knitted Toys
Author: Kath Dalmeny
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is so fantastic. As someone whose family is growing with babies being born to someone, somewhere, all the time, it is perfect to flip through and find a cute knitted gift. There are enough patterns in here to keep a knitter busy for months and months, especially because some of them are so precious, you'll want to knit them again and again.
The chapters are split into different parts of the world, with a little knitted doll for each, and the animals of that region in pattern after. Brilliant. I especially love the mama and baby koala. Also helpfully split into three different categories of difficulty so you know what you are getting yourself into!


Writing Down the Bones: Freeing the Writer Within (Shambhala Pocket Classics)
Review Date: 4/30/2007


I love that this book is tiny enough to fit in my bag. When I first started writing, it went wherever I went. It's the full text of this wonderful book that combines a certain spirituality with the art of writing, but it's pocket sized! Perfect.


21 to 29 of 29 - Page: