Facebook

Virginia P. (virginiajeanne) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 208 - Page:
24/6: A Prescription for a Healthier, Happier Life
24/6: A Prescription for a Healthier, Happier Life
Author: Matthew Sleeth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/18/2013


In our busy world, many people have 24/7 lives and do not have time to rest. Dr. Matthew Sleeth discusses how our lives have gotten to this point and has ideas for how to have a day of rest. I thought the author made some good points about having a day of rest and how his family did this. It's a great idea and many Scripture passages were quoted to support this.


The 4 Seasons of Marriage: Secrets to a Lasting Marriage
The 4 Seasons of Marriage: Secrets to a Lasting Marriage
Author: Gary Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/7/2013


Dr. Chapman's book describes the four seasons of marriage and how to tell which one your relationship is in. There are strategies for a marriage to be healthier, as well as tips for keeping a healthy marriage (once the reader has one). Very interesting reading and I am glad that I read this book.


40 Days to a Joy-Filled Life: Living the 4:8 Principle
40 Days to a Joy-Filled Life: Living the 4:8 Principle
Author: Tommy Newberry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2013


This book tells how to have a joy-filled life. It has daily readings and exercises for 40 days, with the reader using one section per day. It is based on the Bible verse Philippians 4:8, which the author wrote about in his previous book. I thought this was a good book and had plenty of material and ideas to have a joy-filled life.


AAAARGH!!! (TJ and the Time Stumblers)
AAAARGH!!! (TJ and the Time Stumblers)
Author: Bill Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/20/2013


TJ is still dealing with her new school and the two boys from the 23rd century. They offer to help with her book report, which leads to disaster.

I thought this was a cute story with a pirate theme. TJ has to make a decision about cheating at school, something children might deal with.


Abducted (Pacific Coast Justice, Bk 2)
Abducted (Pacific Coast Justice, Bk 2)
Author: Janice Cantore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/13/2013


Police officer Carly Edwards loves her job and everything is going right. Then a baby is kidnapped and Carly has to find him before it's too late.

I thought this book was very good. The author is a retired police officer so the storyline is well done and fast paced. I look forward to the last book in the series.


Accused (Pacific Coast Justice Bk 1)
Accused (Pacific Coast Justice Bk 1)
Author: Janice Cantore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/13/2012


Police officer Carly is involved in a shooting and sent to work in the juvenile department. She looks for a way to get back to her old job in patrol and the mayor's shooting might be the answer. She finds a cover-up and doesn't know who to trust, especially when her ex-husband offers to help.

I thought this book was very good and an authentic read from a retired police officer. Corrupt people seem to be everywhere and it was interesting to find out at the end who was dirty and who wasn't. I do think the spiritual side of the book was a bit overdone in parts. Several characters preach at Carly, which makes her turn away from God instead of toward him. Overall, a good read and I'm looking forward to the second book.


All for a Song
All for a Song
Author: Allison Pittman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/6/2013


Dorothy lives in a small town, is engaged to the preacher, and is bored with life. When she gets an opportunity to visit her sister in the city, she takes it, and gets a taste of city life. A meeting with female evangelist Aimee Semple McPherson leads to a trip to California while Dorothy plays her guitar for the evangelist's meetings.

I thought this book was very good and liked the Roaring Twenties setting. The story does go back and forth from the 1920's to the present, where a 107 year old Dorothy remembers her life. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.


All for a Story
All for a Story
Author: Allison Pittman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/17/2014


Monica is a writer for a tabloid magazine in Washington, D.C. during the Roaring 20's. When a new editor arrives, she clashes with him initially, but later on they become friends.

I thought the book was okay. The overall story was good but I was not amused at Monica's wild ways (illegal drinking, sleeping with a married man, etc.) and that she spent most of the book feeling there were consequences for her actions. The Christian element usually found in Christian fiction books was lacking in this story for the most part, and the ending seemed to be rushed.


All in Good Time (Gilded Legacy, Bk 2)
All in Good Time (Gilded Legacy, Bk 2)
Author: Maureen Lang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/22/2013


Dessa wants to open a house for needy women, but she needs a loan. She receives one reluctantly from Henry's bank. Both of them have a past that they have kept hidden from public until someone threatens to reveal Henry's secret.

I thought this book was very good. Dessa is impatient at times but has a good heart for the women who need help. Henry is rather stiff at the beginning but softens toward the end. There are other interesting characters as well that add to the story.


All Right Here (The Darlings)
All Right Here (The Darlings)
Author: Carre Armstrong Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/21/2014


Ivy can't have children, and her husband Nick is upset about it. When the three children next door are abandoned by their mother, Ivy offers them a place to stay and ends up being a foster parent.

I thought the book was interesting. Various topics such as racism, foster parenting and infertility were covered. I hope to read more about the Darling family in future books.


All the Pretty Things: The Story of a Southern Girl Who Went Through Fire to Find Her Way Home
Review Date: 10/25/2017


This is a memoir about the author, who rose above her difficult childhood to become a doctor, mother and blogger. I found this book to be interesting and an inspirational of someone who rose above her circumstances with the help of God and others.


Almost Amish: One Woman's Quest for a Slower, Simpler, More Sustainable Life
Review Date: 6/29/2012


I picked this book up at the library, thinking that it sounded interesting. The author makes some good points about saving electricity, having a garden, etc. She also discourages the overuse of TV, video games and the computer. What I didn't like is that the author seemed to idolize the Amish, as if they are almost perfect. She would explain the Amish way of doing something and then tell how her family used this idea. It almost seemed like bragging about how they've simplified their life.


Always On My Mind (Christiansen Family, Bk 4)
Always On My Mind (Christiansen Family, Bk 4)
Author: Susan May Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/3/2015


This is the fourth book in the Christiansen family series, and focuses on the middle brother, Casper, who wants to be an archaeologist. He comes home to find Raina, the woman he secretly loves, living in his hometown and wonders if they have a future together.

I liked this book and the story of Casper and Raina. Other family members are also featured. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.


Anne of Green Gables, My Daughter, and Me: What My Favorite Book Taught Me about Grace, Belonging, and the Orphan in Us All
Review Date: 3/30/2016


As an Anne of Green Gables fan, I was interested in this book. The author does a good job of answering her adopted daughter's question, "What is an orphan?" with personal stories and quotations from the Anne of Green Gables book series. I enjoyed this book and will look for more books by this author.


Annie's Stories (Ellis Island)
Annie's Stories (Ellis Island)
Author: Cindy Thomson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/26/2014


Irish immigrant Annie is a housekeeper in a New York City home. She loves reading and has stories that her father wrote for her. Postman Stephen and Annie find common ground in their love of books.

I thought this book was interesting. The plot, setting and characters made for a good read. I like how the book referenced The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, a popular book in that time period.


The Antelope in the Living Room: The Real Story of Two People Sharing One Life
Review Date: 5/25/2014


Author and blogger Melanie Shankle has written another "memoir", this time about marriage. Like the first book, this one is filled with anecdotes from the author's life and marriage, some of which are rather amusing. I enjoyed this collection of stories as I did the author's previous book.


Asking for Trouble (London Confidential, Bk 1)
Asking for Trouble (London Confidential, Bk 1)
Author: Sandra Byrd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/28/2015


Fifteen year old Savvy and her family move to London, where she has a hard time fitting in at a new school. I thought this book was good, with Savvy having to make wise decisions about her life, with the Bible and her parents as a guide.


The Atonement Child
The Atonement Child
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/15/2012


Dynah is happily engaged and in college when she is raped and finds out she's pregnant. Now she has to decide what to do with the baby. Plenty of people offer advice, some for abortion and some for having the baby.

I thought the book was good. There were quite a few characters to keep straight and the point of view in the story sometimes changed quite a bit during a chapter.


Attracted to Fire
Attracted to Fire
Author: DiAnn Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/22/2012


Special Agent Meghan is assigned to a team protecting the vice president's daughter, and they are staying on a Texas ranch. Meghan is the only female agent, and the agent in charge, Ash, doesn't like women in the Secret Service. Ash is a good agent but demanding of his team. He and Meghan clash over work issues for awhile, but thankfully Ash realizes that Meghan is an asset to the team.

I thought the book was a good read and the mystery of the threats against the VP's daughter was interesting. However, I liked the author's award-winning novel Breach of Trust much better. That book kept me on the edge of my seat, whereas I had a harder time staying interested in this book.


Avenged (Pacific Coast Justice, Bk 3)
Avenged (Pacific Coast Justice, Bk 3)
Author: Janice Cantore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/22/2013


Police officer Carly and her husband, a police sergeant, investigate what appears to be a gang war. As the evidence mounts, the police department realizes something more is going on than just gang related activity.

I thought this book was very good and a nice conclusion to the series. The story was fast paced and kept my attention. Looking forward to the author's next series.


1 to 20 of 208 - Page: