Facebook

Arletta (areldthomp) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
1984 (Everyman's Library Classics)
1984 (Everyman's Library Classics)
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/3/2009


I struggled reading this book. I couldn't figure out why they kept saying this book was a "classic". It seemed very dry. It wasn't until I finished the book and thought about it for 12 hrs or so that the book started to intrigue me. The notes and timeline in the Everyman's Classics were really helpful. I think this is one of those books that stick with you and make you think long after you put it down. That is the true appeal to this book.


About a Boy
About a Boy
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 1/21/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I think the correct term would be "lad lit". This book is better than the movie. I read thru it "knowing" what the ending would be because I saw the movie. It was a nice surprise to find out I was wrong. You have to read it just to find out how it ends! Nice light reading and I laughed out loud several times. Nick Hornby rarely disappoints.


Bases Loaded: The Inside Story of the Steroid Era in Baseball by the Central Figure in the Mitchell Report
Review Date: 3/29/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book was really good. The author is striaght forward, honest and gives insight as to the culture and mentality of major league baseball. He is very vocal about what he did was illegal and how he looked at it before and after he got arrested. He also tells how he did business. I've read other books about the use of steroids in professional sports and he gives a real inside view of what it's like at the ground level. This is one book that you can't pass up.


The Blind Assassin
The Blind Assassin
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 1/26/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This is a very unusual book. It is 3 plot lines woven into a single story. Plus there is a science fiction story to boot. It kept switching between modern times and the 30's and 40's. You would think it would get tiresome but it really was easy to stay attached. I really enjoyed the mystery of it. You really weren't sure of the outcome until right up to the very end. Hints were dropped throughout the book. But you still weren't sure. She was very good at weaving history into it too. It was a nice relaxing read.


Comfort Food
Comfort Food
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 2/9/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This was one of those light reads that you enjoy while you are reading it but doesn't stay with you for a long time. It is a candy bar book light on substance and good for a short time.


Devil in a Blue Dress (Easy Rawlins, Bk 1)
Devil in a Blue Dress (Easy Rawlins, Bk 1)
Author: Walter Mosley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/3/2009


This is the classic who dunnit. Walter Mosley begins the series with a character you root for the entire book. I really liked Easy Rawlins. Great beginning to a great series. Highly recommended.


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 1/22/2009
Helpful Score: 10


Couldn't put it down. Explores the emotional turmoil and baggage of a North Carolina family. john Hart has created characters that are complex and very human. The plot line kept me engaged the entire time. Really satisfying read.


Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream
Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream
Author: H. G. Bissinger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 5/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I'm from a very small town in Oklahoma and the author gets the portrait of what sports are like in the mid section of the country. The center of the community is centered around church, sports, and the school activities. It is the social center of the town. The sports stars are heros and there is a huge let down when they can't preform. Sad to put so much on the shoulder of such young people. That's the culture of the community and will probably not change anytime in the near future. Great, great book. A must read!


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson, Reg Keeland (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2092
Review Date: 8/23/2009
Helpful Score: 6


Wow, really really good. If you like mystery this one doesn't disappoint. The translation from Swedish to English was very good. You feel like you are in Sweden. Couldn't put it down. A must read.


The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 667
Review Date: 3/14/2009
Helpful Score: 6


This book shocked and opened my eyes to the issue of sending innocent people to prison. I am from Oklahoma and grew up in a small town in the Panhandle. John Grisham nails what it is like to live in Oklahoma. The class culture and every thing is either black and white prevail. I never knew the state prison was in such bad condition. You assume you pay your taxes the government will make sure that at least the minimun standards are met. The mental health care was sorely overlooked, and because the family had no money there was nothing they could do. To see a man deteriate as Ron Williamson did and to be treated as he was in the various jail enviroments was heart breaking and shocking. I expected more from my home state and if it hadn't of been for Judge Seay an innocent man would have been put to death. How many more are there out there?


I.Q. Gets Fit
I.Q. Gets Fit
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/1/2009


This is a great book for teaching the principles of a healthy lifestyle. I use it for Storytime at the Library for May Fitness Month. Great story=Great book!


Killer Weekend (Walt Fleming, Bk 1)
Killer Weekend (Walt Fleming, Bk 1)
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 2/8/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Quick read, short chapters. Lots of twists and turns. It was different from most mystery/thrillers I read. Really beautiful location, lots of rich people, plenty of backstabbing and an underdog Sheriff. Can't go wrong with this one.


Mystic River
Mystic River
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 530
Review Date: 2/17/2009


Really good book! Couldn't put it down. He not only writes a good thriller he delves into the emotional tole and pasts of each of the individuals. A very mature read. Can't go wrong with this one.


What I Talk About When I Talk About Running
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running
Author: Haruki Murakami
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/25/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a excellent book about the love of running. He really gets the urge and desire to run. If you are a runner you will relate to his account. He also talks about his venture into triathalons and cycling. Really funny and enlighting read! Peeks into Japanese culture too.


1 to 14 of 14