Wendy W. (wendyluree) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 7/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Fun book set in a period I love, but the mystery was predictable.


Blue Heaven (Philip & Gilbert, Bk 1)
Blue Heaven (Philip & Gilbert, Bk 1)
Author: Joe Keenan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/25/2011


This series is a whole lot of fun. It's a modern I Love Lucy with a gay twist. Keenan later became a writer on the TV series' Frasier and Desperate Housewives. If you like those shows, you'll love these books.


Bride of the Fat White Vampire
Bride of the Fat White Vampire
Author: Andrew Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A sequel to Fat White Vampire. It had one of the most hysterical scenes I've ever read. I'm sure the neighbors wondered what was wrong with me!


Dead and Loving It: Monster Love / Santa Claws / There's No Such Thing as a Werewolf / A Fiend in Need
Review Date: 7/27/2011


More sex and less story than the other books I've read of MJD.


The Diary of Anne Frank.
The Diary of Anne Frank.
Author: Frances Goodrich, Albert Hackett, Otto Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/8/2011


It's a classic for a reason. It also has a cast size that is manageable and only one set.


Fat White Vampire Blues
Fat White Vampire Blues
Author: Andrew Fox
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book made me laugh out loud. It's kind of a vampire Confederacy of Dunces


Homeland
Homeland
Author: Barbara Hambly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book still haunts me after several weeks. The story is told through letters written by two women. One in the north and one in the south, before, during and after the Civil War.


The Importance of Being Earnest (Dover Thrift Editions)
The Importance of Being Earnest (Dover Thrift Editions)
Author: Oscar Wilde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 7/27/2011


This play is a classic for a reason. If you can find the four act version, it's a lot of fun!


Moon Over Buffalo
Moon Over Buffalo
Author: Ken Ludwig
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/8/2011


Perfect for a community theater production. Funny, fast paced and only one set!


Murder... Suicide... Whatever...
Murder... Suicide... Whatever...
Author: Gwen Freeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/6/2011


I liked this book because of the unique and fresh point of view of the lead character. It's funny without being outrageous. I look forward to reading more from this author.


Murphy's Law (Molly Murphy, Bk 1)
Murphy's Law (Molly Murphy, Bk 1)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 9/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The character of Molly Murphy is quite engaging. Seeing New York through her eyes was a pleasure.


Our Town
Our Town
Author: Thornton Wilder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/12/2011


It's a classic for a reason. Groups looking for a play with minimal set and no props have found the right piece. It's a sure to be a hit.


The Playboy of the Western World (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Playboy of the Western World (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Orson Bean (Editor)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/8/2011


This audio version of the play is exceptional and very easy to understand (even with the accents). I found it a big help when I was directing the play.


The Postmistress
The Postmistress
Author: Sarah Blake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 8/31/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I really loved this book. The writing was so dense, for a while I would only read a chapter at a time, like pieces of good chocolate. Towards the end I couldn't help rushing to the end (thus eating the whole box!) Highly recommended.


Putting on the Ritz (Philip & Gilbert, Bk 2)
Putting on the Ritz (Philip & Gilbert, Bk 2)
Author: Joe Keenan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/25/2011


More "I Love Lucy" type fun with Gilbert and company from the writer of Frasier and Desperate Housewives.


Return to Sullivans Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 6)
Return to Sullivans Island (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 6)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/15/2011


As the title suggests, this book takes us back to where it all began for Dorothea Benton Frank. This time around the focus is on the next generation, especially Susan's daughter Beth and Livvie's granddaughter. Cecily. I did not find this book to be as good as the first. Beth is simply not as much fun to spend time with. The culmination of all the plots near the end stained the credibility to the breaking point. I would have been happier going to Paris with Susan.


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1472
Review Date: 8/8/2011


I really wanted to read this before the movie came out. I started it around noon on Saturday and finished Sunday morning. I simply couldn't put it down.


So You're Having a Hysterectomy
So You're Having a Hysterectomy
Author: Togas Tulandi, Barbara Levy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/8/2011


I recommend this highly for any woman facing a hysterectomy. It's full on practical advice, including things you may not have thought of.


Undead and Unworthy (Queen Betsy, Bk 7)
Undead and Unworthy (Queen Betsy, Bk 7)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 8/31/2011


This installment of the Queen Betsy books is a little more serious the the previous books, but it still keeps the laughs too!


Whiskey on the Rocks (Whiskey Mattimoe, Bk 1)
Whiskey on the Rocks (Whiskey Mattimoe, Bk 1)
Author: Nina Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 9/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I have read all of the Whiskey books and can't recommend them more highly. If you like funny mysteries like those written by Janet Evanovich and Kathy Hogan Trochek (aka Mary Kay Andrews), you'll really enjoy these books.


1 to 20 of 20