Jane W. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Bel Canto
Bel Canto
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 873
Review Date: 10/20/2009


This is a beautifully written book. Ann Patchett is an engrossing author. Her characters draw you in and never disappoint.


The Box Garden
The Box Garden
Author: Carol Shields
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 12/22/2013


Carol Shields is an excellent writer. Her novels are well crafted and very satisfying. I recommend her for any true reader.


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 6/4/2010


I think I had too high of expectations for this book. It was my first Christopher Moore and I expected greatness. It was entertaining and fun, but not great. I did enjoy the San Fransisco setting as I could picture the happenings in my head. Worth a read, but not a classic.


The Everything Labrador Retriever Book: A Complete Guide to Raising, Training, and Caring for Your Lab (Everything Series)
Review Date: 12/1/2009


We are getting a Lab puppy in the spring. We have adopted two adult Labs over the past 16 years. They are wonderful dogs. I needed some advice about puppies and this book fit the bill.


Midwives
Midwives
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 11/9/2013


I am a Labor and Delivery nurse and also a nursing professor in that area of expertise. I always approach books on the subject with a little nervousness. Does the writer have a good grasp of the facts? Does the writer have an agenda? This book was a real page turner for me. I was really shocked by how accurate most of his medical descriptions were. I was also very pleased that the book remained a story about the people involved and didn't turn into an indictment of midwifery. I have since read more of his work and have noticed that his journalism roots seem to draw him to a theme that may be controversial or worthy of some in-depth reporting and then he instead does a book about real people dealing with that theme on a human level. I highly recommend the book and the author.


Mommies Who Drink : Sex, Drugs, and Other Distant Memories of an Ordinary Mom
Review Date: 12/19/2011


My kids are pretty grown up, but I remember the days stuck in toddler hell. I also had a wonderful group of women who fought those battles with me. Although we didn't drink much then, we are making up for it now! This was an enjoyable memoir. Very down to earth and easy to relate to. I enjoyed it very much and I think most moms would as well.


Prizes: The Selected Stories of Janet Frame
Prizes: The Selected Stories of Janet Frame
Author: Janet Frame
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/27/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I ordered this after watching An Angel at my Table--the movie made of Janet Frame's autobiography. I was very intrigued as to what her writing would be like. These short stories were very good. A unique voice that I think was, for me, helped along by knowing her back story. I am now ready to read more of her work.


Use Me
Use Me
Author: Elissa Schappell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/11/2012


Although very well written, I found this book to be pretentious and showy. The characters are from a privileged world filled with sex and dysfunctional relationships. The author could have made that interesting and compelling, instead it was more, "Look at how precious and wonderful we are!" I read it through to the end, but wouldn't really recommend it to others unless you are into reading about spoiled rich girls making bad decisions. Well, I guess with the popularity of Us magazine and the Kardashians, it would appeal to many people.


Review Date: 8/11/2011


I enjoyed this book and it was a fun conversation starter. However, I am not as thrilled with some of the style elements. They tried to make the book so that you can jump in at any point which although a nice thought made the book very clunky and repetitive for those reading straight through. There were also a lot of points made that, in my opinion, required a very large leap of logic. Overall, it was fun and I would recommend it as a fun, non-fiction read.


1 to 9 of 9