Gloria C. (GCiecka) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Babe & Me (Baseball Card Adventures, Bk 3)
Babe & Me (Baseball Card Adventures, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Gutman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Another good read from Gutman. The reader learns not only about the real life "character" Babe Ruth, but also of the depression and how some lived and struggled in 1932.


Fame (Firstborn, Bk 1)
Fame (Firstborn, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 9/8/2005


Enjoyable read, but somewhat predictable. If you like the Redemption series, you'll enjoy this.


The Fist of God (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
The Fist of God (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Frederick Forsyth, Simon Jones (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/22/2006


Excellent story!


The Great Taos Bank Robbery
The Great Taos Bank Robbery
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/14/2006


Good short stories that took me back to my time in New Mexico - paints the landscape and people well. If you've lived in Albuquerque at some point in the past, these stories will take you right back.


Healing Stones (Sullivan Crisp, Bk 1)
Healing Stones (Sullivan Crisp, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Rue, Stephen Arterburn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 8/8/2009


I really enjoyed the the journey this books takes you on from Demi's affair coming to light the damage it causes to learning what it really means to be a Christian who can forgive, even if is yourself. This is not the typical Christian fiction that tends to be predictable or over simplified- it is real. Sin has consequences but there can be healing.


The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin, Bk 1)
The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin, Bk 1)
Author: Raymond Khoury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 442
Review Date: 1/9/2007


Good story


Liars and Thieves (Tommy Carmellini, Bk 1)
Liars and Thieves (Tommy Carmellini, Bk 1)
Author: Stephen Coonts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 2/26/2007


Good read


Mad about Mia
Mad about Mia
Author: Millie Criswell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/24/2006


This is a fun and funny read about a female bodyguard in Little Italy in Baltimore and a man who hires her. It is the last book in a series of four. The others are: Trouble with Mary; What to do about Annie; Trials of Angela and then Mad about Mia.


Manhunting (Mira)
Manhunting (Mira)
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 9/8/2005


Fun, light read. Typical Crusie.


A Matter of Honor
A Matter of Honor
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/15/2006


action packed!


On Chesil Beach
On Chesil Beach
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 5/11/2013


While I would not say this book is for everyone, I did enjoy it. Some people complain that the situation the newlyweds find themselves in is unbelievable. I don't think given the time setting it is implausible. Also I took it in a more encompassing direction- in today's society how many time do we walk away from someone/ something because of a miscommunication and our pride being hurt? Who doesn't have at least some regrets and think that if you had handled a situation differently that a relationship would have been saved or at least still had some lines of contact still open? This is what I got from On Chesil Beach.


A Painted House
A Painted House
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 480
Review Date: 6/27/2006


Excellent story but leaves you hanging...when's the sequel?


Rising Water
Rising Water
Author: P. J. Petersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/6/2007


Excellent read for kids (4th grade). It has excitement, danger, and great moral lessons.


The Shepherd
The Shepherd
Author: Frederick Forsyth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/20/2006


Great Christmas story for the young aviation buff


Simply Sexy (Sexy, Bk 3)
Simply Sexy (Sexy, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 6/16/2006


A fun book to finish the "Sexy" trilogy. Good summer read.


Sinfully Sexy (Sexy, Bk 2)
Sinfully Sexy (Sexy, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Francis Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 6/27/2006


I liked this book for its sense of humor. Second book in the "Sexy" trilogy.


The Terminal Man
The Terminal Man
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 1/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting premise and totally believable given the advance of technology


There's a Hair in My Dirt!: A Worm's Story
There's a Hair in My Dirt!: A Worm's Story
Author: Gary Larson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Great fun! It is a unique look at how one life is affected from events around them. It is an environmental lesson from a worm's perspective. Have shared this book with many friends- some who were reluctant to return it.


What You Have Left
What You Have Left
Author: Will Allison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is book filled with flawed characters who due to their own issues cause problems for those near them. It questions whether a person can be forgiven by those they have wronged. Also, when you leave someone it is not just a question of who you left behind but also what do you have left. The structure of the book makes it interesting in that chapters jump back and forth in time and is written from different characters and their perspective. I enjoyed the book and would recommend it.


1 to 19 of 19